We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ray and Steve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We liked the hotel very much even though the Spa was not working before our arrival on the 7th September and was still not working when we finished our 10 day break on the 17th September even though we were told it would be up and running at different times.
We booked the Select option our all Inclusive stay which guaranteed top shelf drinks etc but I found this made me feel excluded from the rest of the holiday makers as we had to go into room which had large window’s to make use of the Select option which if you sat in the room made me feel as if I was in a fish tank. Also we had take the bottled beer, Cola etc (Decanted) from this room down to the Cabaret bar area because they would not serve us these items there.
Our room was 313 which overlooked the pool area and was very spacious and clean.
The hotel staff where very good and where very helpful in all areas.
Also we met some nice people at the hotel and we hope they enjoyed mine and my friends company as we did there’s.
I did like the Hotel and would go back as I had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the corridor seem to be more spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,411)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,253 - 2,259 of 3,416 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Everything was excellent. The only thing in our opinion which could have been improved were the fruit juice and coffee machines which both produced very poor quality drinks at breakfast. We were on the 16th (top) floor and would definately recommend as the views were brilliant. Overall a great place to stay and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go for a high for a long a you don't suffer from vertigo
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We loved this hotel. Stayed 4th to 11th September 2012.

It is in a very nice position, 3 streets back from the beach road and only a couple of streets down and left to the main drag where you will find all the clubs and pubs and if you turn to the right you are in old Benidorm.

The only downside was we had a small room on the side of the building next to the emergency staircase (Room 1501) but we decided not to ask for a transfer to a larger room as we had excellent views and could see the sea and the lights at night looked wonderful. We were on 15th floor.

The hotel has 3 very efficient lifts. The rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed if you left them on the floor. We had a fridge - great for cold water (which of course you have to buy). Had a very good nights sleep. We had a flat screen TV on the wall and every afternoon we would watch a film on the True Movies channels, 17 and 18. BBC World News is on Ch 32. At this hotel you wear wristbands and there is a Select group who wear silver bands. We found the drinks to be OK and the bar staff friendly.

The pool and juccizi were lovely. Always had a lifeguard on duty. Sunbeds were at the pool and on the main terrace. We had no problem getting a sunbed but this was probaly due to the time of year, being out of the main season.

The 'one girl' animation team did a great job. I noticed that in the evenings she was also the DJ. The evening entertainment could be a lot better as it only lasted for an hour. Reception staff were great, especially Nicholas and the PR lady, Nicky, was very friendly.

On to the food. It was excellent. In fact I didn't know what to choose on some nights as there were several things I liked. They have a grill where they cooked fish, chicken, lamb chops and sometimes steak. Next to that there was a pizza station, then a pasta station. They had a carvery every day. There was so much choice when it came to salads and bread. I liked their rolls and my husband preferred to cut his bread. Soups on the whole were good. For breakfast there was fresh orange juice in good sized glasses. Talking about breakfast, where you get the english breakfast, i.e. bacon, sausages, beans, there are boiled eggs. If you want a fried egg you have to go the grill station. The tea was the best we have ever tasted abroad - we liked their Tetley tea bags. On the desert front there was a lot of choice, fresh fruit, ice-cream, puddings and creamy cakes (they were OK but they don't use real cream, but that is probably my choice)!

We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have sun afternoon and evenings.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week there but the Spa was closed, they did not seem sure when it would open again. Overall a good hotel, very clean with good choice of food and very helpful staff. We would definitely stay there again.
Some of the down sides that people mention seem to have more to do with the resort of Benidorm than the hotel, for example because of all the tower blocks very few pools will get sun until the afternoon, that much is simple physics.
Good- helpful and friendly staff , cleaning(spotless), food- wide choice every day, central location set away from main roads.The room was great (14th floor) with two large , extremely comfortable beds and well appointed bathroom For us, these pluses easily outweighed the downsides:
Down side - not enough pool umbrellas, pool area over crowded, evening entertainment generally poor and whole lounge area for the entertainment poorly set out and crowded with too many empty chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

stayed 4nts at the sandos monaco beach hotel & spa and the hotel was great the rooms were very big and had great views, the pool area was very clean and nice with enough sunbeds. The food was brilliant i never had a bad meal and there was so much to chose from. Th reception staff was very helpful and friendly .... and a FEW of the bar staff were happy and friendly. But all in all a really good hotel cannot fault it .... would deff go back :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahneil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the Sandos Monaco after a nine month wait for our holiday, expectations were very high as the previous reviews promised so much.

We arrived to be told that we were not on the Select package which we had received written confirmation from our holiday company to the contrary. After contacting our holiday company very easily ourselves, (the hotel couldn't get through) we got this resolved and the purple band was replaced by the silver select band.

Select package allows use of the Select lounge (available from 1st September) and the availability of premium drinks (except Budweiser and Strongbow which still had to be paid for). Sounds great on paper, but in reality, this means, you have access to a small room inside the hotel, where you have to make your own drinks. There is no outside access to this area, even though there is a door and patio outside (it seemed to be barricaded) and therefore, anyone wishing to enjoy the sunshine, or have a cigarette with their drink, needed to then move outside by the pool as long as the drink was in a plastic cup during swimming pool opening times. The lounge I'm sure, is a good idea for some, but for us, we felt segregated while sitting in it, and it was a pain to replenish the drinks if we were sitting outside.

If you tried to get the premium drinks at the regular bar, you were unable. We were told when we first got there that we shouldn't be at the normal bar under the select package. So in effect Select package means, you pay more to serve yourself, not the promised "you'll want for nothing" it mentions on the website.

Good points regarding the select package were that you didn't have to pay for water, wifi around the hotel, safety deposit box.

The downside was that you should also get a free entrance to the Spa and 15% discount off treatments, when we queried this, we were informed the SPA WAS CLOSED. There was some mystery surrounding this and information was not forthcoming, but we were advised we could have a free massage instead. Not great for a Spa hotel.

Regarding the hotel in general, it is kept to a very high standard of cleanliness, the location is excellent for both the old and new town of Benidorm. The food was good quality, but did get a bit repetitive towards the end of the holiday, although we always found something to eat.

Now to the staff, obviously job satisfaction and good service is not on the list of qualities for this hotel as I've never experienced such rudeness and indifference. Whether they resent the new select lounge and the loss of tipping opportunities or whether they just don't care about their work but we were frequently amazed at the contempt at which we were treated. This rant extends to the bar staff and the reception staff who were particularly rude.

However, we didn't have this issue with the Racquel, the entertainment organiser, she couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

One worry on this holiday was the security of the hotel, it seems anyone can walk in off the street and we were bothered a couple of times by people wanting money, we also heard a report that a male hotel guest had their gold chains ripped from around their neck outside the hotel when being asked for the time.

Overall we had a very good holiday but i wouldn't return to this hotel and I also wouldn't return to Benidorm, maybe even go as far as mainland Spain again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

just home from a wonderful holiday at this lovely hotel in Benidorm. Rooms were large, 2 double beds in room, lovely bathroom, and were cleaned daily, absolulately spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful and food was great with loads of choice at every meal, Raquel was lovely and did her job very well in entertainment. Will return in future. Hotel very central for both old and new town, Colin and Frances, Paisley, Scotland.

Room Tip: We were in room 512 and had alovely view down to the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costablanca
Sol Costablanca
#62 of 192 in Benidorm
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $123 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa All Inclusive, Adults Only +16, is located near to Playa de Levante (450 m) and to Benidorm centre. It has 199 rooms with two individual beds, flat satellite TV, air conditioning and heater, bathroom with hairdryer, terrace with views and free WiFi, plus minibar and safe (extra charge) It also provide a program called Select wich offers additional services besides the usual current all-inclusive. Among these, there are all kind of falicities at the arrival and in the room, such as a bottle welcome bottle of cava, or minibar and safe for free, as well as discount and access to the Select Club Lounge. The falicities have an outside pool and Jacuzzi, cafe-bar, and show cooking and buffet restaurant. As well as parking, gym, spa, sauna and Wellnes Centre (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing