We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I arrived on the 31st December, really looking forward to a brilliant new year, as after reading previous reviews I thought that this would be an ideal hotel. What a mistake!! From arriving at the hotel at around 11.45 am, where I was informed that my room was not ready, which I was fine with at first, but after 1 hour I was really, really annoyed ( I had requested early check in???). The rude receptionist, who was busy booking in customers who had arrived after us and giving them their keys, finally threw a key at me, told me sign it and told me that she had giving me a new room...I was fizzing by then, very very rude... We finally got to our room only to find that the facilities that we had paid for (mini bar, bathrobes, tea & coffee etc) were missing....after having to go back down to the rude receptionist found out that we had been checked in incorrectly and that our facilities would be in our room within 1 hour, we also got our bands changed. We have stayed in many hotels around the world including many times in Benidorm and this is the worst hotel we have stayed in for bad customer service. Yes the hotel itself is very nice and the rooms were comfortable, but the reception, some of the bar and waiting staff were really rude. The service did spoil our holiday.. I would say that the staff at the Sandos Monaco need to visit the Hotel Royal in Benidorm to experience what excellent customer service is, especially the reception staff!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,602 - 2,608 of 3,548 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We spent christmas and the new year at this central and recently refurbished hotel and what a gem we have found!The hotel has 16 floors we were on the 7th with a view (although narrow ) of the sea because of other buildings but this was fine and we overlooked the pool and seating area.The hotel has a real feeling of quality everywhere.Rooms are spacious with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in other than my own at home.The bathroom was enormous and I felt I was the first person to have ever used it it was so clean and new looking.
The hotel is now adults only and the main nationality staying there were Brits but over the festive period a lot of Spanish people came so entertainment was fairly done to accomodate us all.Some of the shows were great.....we had a diverse range of acts or games every night.
The all inclusive drinks were varied and the wine very good........they were served by some of the most pleasant bar staff I have ever come across and they deserved the regular tips which caused the ringing of a hand bell on the bar!
Our christmas and new year gala meals were fantastic......with a wonderful atmosphere and so many extras to make the day special.We enjoyed the food very much.......Sometimes an odd thing could have been hotter but it would have helped if the plates were hot before you start to wander round the buffet which was spread out in the restaurant.Fruit was delicious and the bread rolls were baked in ovens on site.All the waiters and kitchen staff were friendly.
To sum up the Monaco it is absolutely excellent,immaculate everywhere,warm, friendly with professional staff. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel very welcome and it is one of the hotels we are planning to book for the coming year.We also saw people from other Benidorm Hotels coming for a look round and I heard one person say lets photograph the lobby and pretend its our hotel! I think that says a lot about this Beni Beauty!

Room Tip: Just ask for a sunny balcony all the rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yorkie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

arrived at the sandos on 31st december for 7 nights what a let down. booked through thomas cook select. thought it would be on the same par with flamingo oasis club suites but it wasnt.firstly no tea making facilitys in the room no bathrobes and no floor washed (still had tea stains on floor from previous guests) and no drinks in fridge. after a long wait we finally got what we should have got at the start, sorry to say floors were not swept or washed for the week we were there. also after using the cups once they were taken away and we had to ask for them back. furnishings in the room werent cleaned properly and table on the balcony was never cleaned ,and before anybody thinks we didnt complain to the rep we did she told reception but it didnt make a difference.entertainment was not to great. food was ok but not very warm, microwave provided if you wanted to heat it up.definately not 4 star. rooms very basic.had requested pool veiw room so we could get the sun in the afternoon but got one facing the road which you get the sun in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jake019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My friend and I visited this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of December 2011. We booked a Sandos Room with the platinum all inclusive, thinking that we were on the top package with access to the best quality wine etc. Big disappointment ... we were asked to pay another fee if we wanted to make a further upgrade (which we refused). The wine served at dinner proved just okay, was 3 euros a bottle in the local shops! Spirits were all local brands, some like firewater.
The hotel was clean and well presented. The dining room was self service with plenty of food on offer, although this could have been heated more.
It seemed to be a busy time of year, the place was packed with Spanish guests.
The entertainment representative tended to cater for these guests with lots of Spanish style music in the evenings. The 'Strictly Come Dancing Team' seemed to be in residence and the dance floor was swamped with spanish guests trying to outdo each other as they tripped the light fantastic. Some entertainers only spoke in Spanish...not attempting to cater for a mixed nationality audience.
If you have a hired car my advice is that you do not use the hotel car park...it is excessively expensive. There is plenty of free street parking in the area (remember to turn in your wing mirrors before leaving the car).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the afternoon sunshine. Higher floors have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

stayed here for the new year 2011... had a fantastic time.. dont understand people complaining about the food(u try 2 keep every body happy with food , when ur dealing with 4,5 diffrent countries) if the food is not warm enough 4 ur taste , put it in the micro wave 4 40 secs leave 2 sit 4 one minute, and it will b fine( ur not re cooking it , just warming it) the manager was about every day chatting 2 people , seeing if everything was ok.rooms were spotless , even cleaned on new years day.. proper drinks!!!! my god thats a first! looking forward 2 going back..the girl who done the entertainment was great. i belive she was working here looking after the kids ,but now the kids have gone she does general entertainment, u must keep her 4 next , she is priceless.. thanx 2 all ur staff ... brill!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the monaco from the 13th of Dec 2011 until 3rd of Jan 2012 considering everything, it has got to be the best hotel out of the six that we have stayed in in Benidorm.Before leaving we asked for a sunny balcony and thats what we got.The room was large spacious and spotlessly clean.The maid service was excellent with clean towels every day and the bedding changed three times a week.All the staff are a credit to the company nothing is to much trouble for them.They always seem to have a smile on there faces whatever time of day.Now to the food.I agree with some comments stating the food could be a little warmer but this hotel also caters for the Spanish as well, they don't eat food as hot as we like it .The microwave is always available if needed .If it was kept hotter it would tent to dry out this would lead to more complaints To the complainers it was a pity they weren't present at the new years eve gala dinner,What a bash!!! my choice for starters were the biggest prawns you have ever seen followed by lobster then an enormous steak cooked to perfection sorry couldn't manage the sweets.All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: pick an even number in the winter sun all morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed a the fantastic sandos monaco over the christmas week , all we can say is people who moan about this hotel have not stayed in good hotels. We have stayed in a lot of hotels inthe past even 5***** . and this hotel is simply the best by far. The hotel is only a short walk to the old town , and if you want the beach it is only about five mins walk from the hotel . The rooms are really tastefully decorated with really comfortable beds , the food selection was very good and the staff in the restaurant were brilliant and always there to help . The christmas gala meal was great"" the food choice was fantatic there was something for everyones tastes , The christmas day meal was fantastic*** there was so many choices to choose from and there was plenty of wines to choose from , again there was something for every one and to add that special tough ever lady was given a rose as they went into the restauranton christmas day. The entertainment was good and there was also bingo if people wanted a game and gabriel worked really hard in every thing she did , she went out of her way to help anyone nothing was a problem. The bar staff were the best we have ever met in any hotel we have stayed in, they were always happy and always joking as well as doing an excellent job . To be totally honest we have never seen so many friendly and polite staff has we did at the sandos monaco. So a special thankyou to all the staff and managment for our lovely stay at your hotel, and we shall be back next year. THE SPRAGG FAMILY.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank carolo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescGualdo, Gerente at Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Dear Carolo59,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday at the Sandos Monaco. The positive comments help us to keep working hard to improve our guest satisfaction.
We will be looking forward in seeing you again in the sunny Benidorm at the Sandos Monaco
Best Regards. Francesc Gualdo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.9 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
0.4 mi away
Sandos Benidorm Suites
Sandos Benidorm Suites
#17 of 192 in Benidorm
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
2,850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $108 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa All Inclusive, Adults Only +16, is located near to Playa de Levante (450 m) and to Benidorm centre. It has 199 rooms with two individual beds, flat satellite TV, air conditioning and heater, bathroom with hairdryer, terrace with views and free WiFi, plus minibar and safe (extra charge) It also provide a program called Select wich offers additional services besides the usual current all-inclusive. Among these, there are all kind of falicities at the arrival and in the room, such as a bottle welcome bottle of cava, or minibar and safe for free, as well as discount and access to the Select Club Lounge. The falicities have an outside pool and Jacuzzi, cafe-bar, and show cooking and buffet restaurant. As well as parking, gym, spa, sauna and Wellnes Centre (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing