We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't bad at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helios Benidorm
Ranked #20 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have just came back from staying at this hotel, I went with my friend and our four children. The hotel rooms were very clean and spacious with a bath and a Jacuzzi. The food was ok but not much for the kids so they lived on chips, the staff are very rude and miserable and barely cracked a smile apart from one male and a female who were very friendly. The entertainment on a night time was all Spanish so we went out every night, saved us a fortune as drinks are much cheaper in other bars. The hotel is right next to benidorms night life. The potatoe man stands outside the hotel everyday robbing people and getting chased from the police. All in all I would say the hotel was nice to stay in apart from the miserable staff who musnt know how to smile, its not hard

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xgeordielassesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHeliosBenidorm, British Guest Relations at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with the hotel.

Regarding the pea men outside the hotel, these incidents take place further down the street and away from the Hotel grounds; we have security which prevails for our guest’s safety and in constant contact with the police if we receive information of any activity in the area.

Regards,

Jason McKerrell

British Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the helios, the previous being 7 years ago and the only way we can see if has improved is that the rooms and pool area have been renovated.

We arrived round 12pm and were able to get into our room straightaway which was good, we were impressed with the rooms as they are now quite modern with laminate flooring and jacuzzi bath along with shower. We had a double bed and 2 singles in the room and the rooms were made up and the towels changed daily. The bedding was changed around every 3 days.

The pool area was a big change from our last visit and now has a walk in pool but isnt very deep at the deep end. The lifeguard goes around the pool at 10am to put signs on the reserved sunbeds with nobody on them and then if they havent returned an hour later he takes their towels which was good, we used to laugh when the people came back a few hours later to realise their beds where gone.

The food in the restaurant was fine some nights there was loads of things we could eat and others there wasnt as much but we always found something. Every friday they have a curry night - one week its chinese and the next is indian, we thought the indian was the best food out of the fortnight we were there. The staff in the restaurant were all miserable apart from the head waiter in the red jacket who greeted you upon arrival at the restaurant. The drinks service was ok yes you sometimes had to wait to get drinks. Also note check daes on the youghurts from the fridges as a couple of times they were out of date and we had to let the waiteress know, but child could get a really upset tumy from this so please be alert.

The bar was fine upto the start of the 2nd week, when my husband went to get me a drink (apple schnapps and lemonde) from the bar and brought it to me when i tasted it i spat it out, it tasted like curry powder and even smelt like curry powder my husband took it back to the bar to be verbally abused by a horrible little man called Juan, they did eventually change the drink but my husband thinks the drink was out of date as when my husband asked to see the bottle the barman binned it. We did complain to Jason at reception and he said he would look into it but we had no comeback. This really put a dampner on our holiday as we refused to use the hotel bar again so the kids went to the minidisco and we went straight out after it.

Yes the spanish dont believe in queueing but play them at their own game, its not just this hotel is the same in every hotel.

We went to the town bar around from the helios to see a comedian Rikki stevens he was so funny well worth a visit, we also ate out a feww times at Sherrys bar in the old town, the food is brilliant, cheap and really big portions.

All in all we had a good holiday but dont think we would return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: If you want to hear the entertainment at night them ask for a pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofieandRyansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We took a family trip to Benidorm and stayed half board for 1 week. Rooms were clean and quite spacious, food was the usual buffet style. There was the usual battle for sunbeds but plenty of chairs to sit in. Not much going on entertainment wise, but with Benidorm on your doorstep who would want to stay at the hotel bar!! Not much for the children to do, other than snooker and the pool. On the whole a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHeliosBenidorm, British Guest Relations at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are currently running a kids club during the day and the mini disco in the evening as part of the children’s entertainment programme.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Helios in the near future.

Regards,

Jason McKerrell

British Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just back from a week here and as the title suggests have mixed feelings about the place.
First impressions on arrival were very good.Late flight in so didn't get there till nearly 12 but a friendly spanish chap on reception to check us in and explain about meal times etc and gave us a box containing bits of fruit,rolls etc which was a nice touch.We'd popped in on a previous visit whilst staying elsewhere with a couple of requests one being a high floor room overlooking the pool and this was granted.The other wasn't though sadly but more on that later.The room itself had been recently refurbished and was bigger than we expected with plenty of storage space and a wall mounted lcd tv.The bathroom had a great walk-in shower and the whole room was very clean.The balcony was massive compared to others we had stayed in and got the sun from around 10 in the morning to very late in the evening.The aircon worked great and was really needed at night too and although near to Jokers and other bars was really quiet and afforded great uniterrupted sleep.Bedding and towels changed daily and when we aasked for extra pillows they were waiting for us in no time.The only downside was that a fridge had to be paid for when other places give you one for free but at €2 a day it wasn't exactly expensive.All in all a great start........
However,the main let down which needs serious improvement was the restaurant and the food.Putting it bluntly the place was far too small with people having to wait outside until others left and worse was filthy in places.As if this wasn't bad enough the food presented there was very poor indeed,especially breakfast.When staying anywhere we always like to be there when they first open as from experience this is when the food is at its best and nice and hot.Not so here.For the first 3 days i did try the breakfasts but on every occasion they were freezing cold and full of grease.After that i gave up and stuck to cereals and toast but even that was a problem as some days they only had one toaster available and as you can imagine this caused more problems.Evening meals were slightly better but were often repeated..the same pizza 3 times in a week and horrible,greasy hamburgers twice just to name a couple.An indian themed night did fare slighty better and proved to be the best meal of the week.Even basics like chopped salads were wilted and brown and as a previous poster mentioned the desserts were just rubbish.Also mentioned were the drinks servers...very slow to come over and often came round asking for money when you had already paid.Wouldn't have been so bad if they actually smiled but every face in the restaurant was grumpy and it looked like it was a real hassle to actually do something for you.
Our main bugbear was the state of the place.The tablecloths were the plasticy wipe clean sort and were always sticky to the touch.The floors didn't look as if they had been properly swept and as we often sat at the same table we observed one large piece of fish under our table for 3 days running! The walls were filthy too (please see pics) and had obviously been in that state for a long time.We understand that a 3* hotel in Benidorm isn't the Ritz but basic cleanliness and hygiene should be top of anyones priorites and we found this particular restaurant to be badly lacking and as such if we ever return it will be on a room only basis unless serious improvements are made.
The pool area was nice if you could get a lounger but as the sunbed policy wasn't being enforced this was at times difficult.You could lay your own towels out on the grassed area to the side of the pool but there was an obvious smell of drains/sewage so this wasn't exactly ideal.Evening entertainment was rubbish but didn't affect us at all as we prefer to actually get out and about and enjoy the actual destination which thankfully as always was brilliant.
Another thing which was a little annoying was that despite actually visiting the hotel on a previous visit and offering to pay for a room extension on the last day and emails afterwards this wasn't granted.At times the temperature approached 36/37C and as check out was at 11:30am and our coach didn't pick us up till 6:45pm it was a hot,sweaty sticky last day.They did provide us a courtesy room though so at least we did end up being able to have a quick shower but definately not ideal.
All together we were most definately disappointed after reading good reviews.It's a shame really as the actual room and location are excellent but other factors let the place down badly and need to be considered before you book.The one plus point would be the Spanish chap on reception,very helpful indeed and friendly.Maybe he could give the rest of the entire staff some lessons! There are much better hotels in Benidorm and we are already booked for the Riviera in November.I'd suggest you do the same...........

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get sun most of the day.Rear of hotel faces a road and busy market twice a week so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wideboywalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHeliosBenidorm, British Guest Relations at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you writing a review of the Hotel Helios.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find your stay at the hotel satisfactory, we have taken note of all your comments and they will be looked into.

Regards,

Jason McKerrell

British Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

just returned from benidorm stayed in helios hotel after reading good reviews on tripadvisor
hotel was even better than expected had requested pool view room which was available to me on arrival
room was a good size with large bathroom-flat screen tv with english speaking programmes
restaurant was well organised and food good and plentiful
entertainment was the only failing at this hotel as could be seen by holidaymakers attending
when live music was on pool area was full but half empty when only quiz for entertainment
surely management could see bar takings were down on these nights
but still an enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: i e mailed request for pool side room as gets sun most of day if you want to use balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archieN_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHeliosBenidorm, British Guest Relations at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you writing a review of the Hotel Helios.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it better than expected.

We hope to welcome you back the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Jason McKerrell

British Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

stayed here on ten day hol, having read some reviews i have to strongly disagree with some of them, rooms are spacious,clean and towels are changed everyday. the food is out of this world. if you cannot find something on the menu everyday to suit you then theres something seriously wrong with you, pool is attended everyday and clean. highly recommended, also the entertainment manageress ELENA is fantantic, she looks after the kids to no end, she deserves a pay rise, we will definitly be back. 5*****

Room Tip: ask for pool view if you want to see pool area, though sometimes it can be noisy from entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHeliosBenidorm, British Guest Relations at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to hear you found every aspect of your stay satisfactory.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Helios in the near future.

Regards,

Jason McKerrell

British Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Been comming to Benidorm now for 10yrs with children and In laws, Hotel Helios well what a JOKE !!! Having said that the good points were lovely rooms and bathroom great Balcony too, cleaned daily with fresh towels,This Hotel has got to be the wourse food i have evere come across !!! I I mean were not at all fussy eaters and love to try different foods.....After the 2nd day I didnt even come down to breakfast as the scrambled egg was mixed with Vegitables and extremley oily !!! bacon was just so fattuy and hardley cooked at all.... Mash potatoe with fried egg mixed in with it.... I usually love to have the mixed salad but me and my mother in law couldn't even stomach it as it was so oily and was very vinigary !! Desserts were outrageous !! dishes of custard with rich tea biscuites thrown on top !! Cakes were out of a box and was served with the cardboard on them !! So we ended up going out for meals as there was nothing for the children to eat apart from Sausage and beans for breakfast !!
Another problem we encountered was the pool area !!! Children wern't allowed to play with beach balls/inflatables ect.... so we bought the kids some foam water squaters ans was told by the so cold life guard that these also wern't allowed as some of the elderly folks were getting wet !! wtf !! What the hell were they doing in the pool then if they didn't want to get wet !!!
When i went to complain about this i was told it was the Hotel's Policy not to have any kind of inflatables in the pool !! But it didn't state this in the brochure !! My over all concern was that this Hotel is not for children. I have been down to going places and but a letter of complaint in as I wouldn't want any other family's with younger children than mine (8,9) to go to be told kids can't play in the pool with Inflatable toys, I mean thats what kids want to do on Holiday isn't it ??
I feel this Hotel is well suited for the more mature couples and Spanish, as the entertainment was aimed for them.
We have stayed at the Venus, Pueblo,Presidente and there is NO WAY I would return back to the Helios even if it was free lol !!! Still we love Benidorm and Holiday there several times a year with and without the Children for 4/5 night breaks, so we will be back again soon ;))) to make up from the crap time at the Helios !!!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you are travelling with children as they just don't cater for them at all, B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emmawilson1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHeliosBenidorm, British Guest Relations at Hotel Helios Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of the Hotel Helios.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find your stay at the Hotel Helios satisfactory, we have taken note of your comments and they will all be looked into as part of our improvement programme.

The hotel like many in the resort has a no inflatable’s policy for the pool area; this is due to the volume of guests using the swimming pool at the one time can be a safety hazard if inflatable objects are also in the swimming pool.

Regards,

Jason McKerrell

British Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
0.5 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#51 of 191 in Benidorm
4,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#33 of 191 in Benidorm
2,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 191 in Benidorm
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 191 in Benidorm
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios Benidorm

Address: Avenida Filipinas 12, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#7 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $67 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helios Benidorm 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helios Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing