We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points easy to list”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gala Placidia Hotel
Ranked #118 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from a week in Benidorm, 14th-21st Oct '12. Had booked through Onthebeach for the week in the Gala Placidia and was looking forward to it. We, myself and my wife, landed in Alicante and after over two hours on the shuttle coach eventually arrived at or rather 250metres from the Gala, they dumped us and our cases outside the Dynastic, the 4star sister hotel of the Gala which sits down the hill from the Gala. Having dragged our luggage uphill to the hotel we proceeded to reception to be checked in by a delightful man called Jose who informed us that our room wouldn't be ready for a couple of hours but allowed us the use of the luggage room for our cases and suggested we head to the restaurant for lunch to kill some time which we gladly did. Jose was the 1st member of staff we met in the Gala and I'm delighted to say that all the staff were from the same mould, so helpful and always willing to oblige with a smile that is with the exception of the hotel manager who I will get to later.
Food; from the initial lunch we had on arrival up until our departure I can safely say we did not part-take of one solitary poor meal, the food in this hotel is on a par with any 3star hotel I've ever stayed in while on holiday, yes sometimes the microwave was required to boost the temperature but where else in spain would you expect roast beef and yorkshire pudding, homemade apple crumble and hot custard etc etc etc
Drinks; as many as you can carry on all inclusive and very little in the way of queues, problem was so many guests carried as many as they could from 10am to 12pm.
Pool area; the pool was the biggest let down for this hotel, about 20ft long and only 4ft deep, the pool area was badly situated given all the highrise buildings in the vicinity and only got the sun from about 1.30pm to 5pm and that was only on an area the accomodated about 12 sunloungers or should I call them torture racks. I must say they were the most uncomfortable plastic slabs I've ever encountered.
Entertainment; poor and very much directed at the spanish guests.
Rooms; very basic but very clean, infact the same can be said for the entire building, ancilliary staff work very hard to keep the place clean, trouble is they're having to clean around cracked tiles, flaking paint and rusty metalwork. Walls are literally paper thin in this hotel so much so that you would be afraid of breaking wind for fear of annoying the neighbours. If only all the guests would show as much consideration!!!
That's where the trouble started. I don't know if it was the time of year, the fact that the Gala is fairly cheap to book in comparison to other Benidorm hotels or maybe we were just downright unlucky to be there when all the drunkards from all arts and parts of England were there too. Don't get me wrong there were other decent people there while we were there but I have never seen so many alcoholics under one roof and of course we had the misfortune of having the worst offenders in the room next to ours. This particular couple drank themselves to oblivion every day and fought every night. On the wednesday night he was so drunk and unruly she took him up to the room and locked him in it while she proceeded to continue drinking. Myself and the wife retired soon after only to be met with the sound of furniture being thrown around his room and him kicking the door to get out. This went on for about an hour or so until she had finished drinking (the bar closed) and returned to the room, a very vocal arguement ensued for another hour or so which resulted in her throwing him out of the room and he spent the next hour and a half kicking the door to get back in. At no time did anyone (hotel staff) intervene, myself and several other guests asked them politely to desist but they took no notice. The next day another guest told us that at about 4am a security guard appeared from nowhere and took the guy to a settee in the lobby to sleep.
Next morning we went to reception to complain about the previous nights events and the receptionist told us this was the third complaint he had on this matter. We asked to be moved to the Dynastic, the sister hotel, as by then we knew of several couples and families that had done so. He, the receptionist, said he would make enquiries and to call with him again after breakfast. We did so and he informed us that the hotel manager told him it was impossible to switch from a 3star to a 4star, we explained that several others had already done so and even supplied him with names of a few of them that had switched, he apologised and pointing to another guy at the other end of the reception who was in heated conversation with other guests, said HE, ( the manager) said no. At this point we moved to the other end of reception where the manager was talking to the other guests and without getting too close deduced that these people were also looking to be moved as rooms around theirs had been burgled and they obviously didn't want the same to happen to them, he finished with these people by saying and I quote, "If you get burgled them you call the police." At this point I made my presence known and asked him if had any sense of responsibility for his guests and proceeded to inform him of our own complaint, he was just as sympathetic to our plight and said he wasn't responsible for people who got drunk and rowdy even if their behaviour impinged on other guests. I then drew his attention to a code of conduct taped to the counter directly under his nose where he was standing which clearly stated that guests were expected to conduct themselves in a manner which causes no disturbance to other guests, he then poceeded to tell us if we had any complaint we should phone the police. At this we walked away in disgust and with a complete feeling of dissatisfaction but my wife wasn't prepared to tolerate this attitude and went down the hill to the Dynastic and talked to the receptionist there telling him all that had taken place. Immediately he checked his computer and with an apologetic tone said there were no vacancies on that particular day but would be happy to offer us a room the next day for the remainder of our stay at no extra charge.
When you witness the effort the reception staff, the bar and restaurant staff and the cleaning staff put in to making this hotel a pleasant stay for the guests it seems an awful pity the the top man (the manager) lets the place down so much. The hotel obviously can't vet the visitors they get and it seems the price they charge for all inclusive is their downfall, perhaps if they were to cut out the all inclusive and promote their clean rooms and wonderful food they might weed out the all drinking non eating guests which would surely improve the clientel they attract. Having had surgery on my spine recently we booked this break to unwind and relax, to sleep at night and chill out during the day but unfortunately that expectation was a far cry from what we actually got.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank brilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
There are newer reviews for Gala Placidia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I found the Hotel needing a little upating but it was clean. The rooms were basic and cleaned daily. Any repairs necessary were promply dealt with. The entertinment was fun and there was something each evening until about 1145. The meals were very good, there was something for everyone and when the meals had finished there were toasties and burgers hotdogs and chips available from the bar area. The staff were so lovely. I had a lovely time All Inclusive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

stayed 6th to 16 oct first room bath had 4 great rust spot patio door broke ask to be move gave us next door this wasn't much better but bath not so rusty my sheets was on my bed for the full ten days also pillow cases rooms not very clean bit slap dash with cleaning food nasty and cold not much variety someone room was robbed while we were there ate out quite often no good for people who dont walk well as its up a hill not worth the mohey we paid

Room Tip: high rooms quiter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

1st and last time at this hotel. been benidorm quiet a few times. and this hotel the worst. Food was not up to normal standard for 3 star hotel seemed that food was brought from lower priced wholesalers. Snacks though the day are only warm not hot. chips disscusting. Staff are friendly enough. pool is not very clean and to small theres hardly no sun round pool. our balcony was at rear on 1st floor all we could see was 30years of litter andnub ends on the ground below,

Room Tip: to choose a good room book another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sodenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

stayed at this hotel from the 4th oct to the 11th got to our rooms and ceiling was all moulding had to change rooms..then on the 9th 2 days before we were leaving was asked to move back to the first room because it was painted was annoyed as had to shift all our stuff from floor 303 to 107 food was not the best. and no entertainment for the kids so they got bored and the staff were moaning. if i go benidorm again it wont be this hotel....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The list of problems with this hotel is so very long id never be able to fit them all in.We have come back off holiday feeling more exhausted than when we went for what was supposed to be an enjoyable break.The noise in the hotel at night seemed to echo through each floor, corridor,i could even hear the people in the next room as clear as if they were in my own room.Absolutely no sound proofing what so ever.People were running round banging on doors, swearing,shouting right though till 6am in the morning.So we had little or no sleep most nights.If you stay here choose a high floor as it might be better.
This hotel is Suitable for Stag/hen parties,definately not for families,or couples.
Balcony rail was rusty,air conditioning pipe was broken, not attached(complained but not fixed)so didnt dare use it in case it was dangerous..patio door had been broken into and did not lock(they did fix that).Mould on walls and ceiling in room,bath had been painted over and was peeling,plug hole was totally rusty which had spread onto enamel bath.Like i said the list is endless.In general this hotel has past its best years ago... 1960's comes to mind when looking at it,Minimal maintenance all round,poor quality, definately not a 3 star.
If you stay here(Top of the list) pay for a safe.We like benidorm and have been many times before but have never experienced a hotel as bad as this.Such a shame for any ones 1st experience as it would put them off benidorm for good.As for the bad comments others have made about this hotel i would say we came across most of the same experiences or heard from others saying in the hotel that this was the case while we were there.
Spend an extra £100.00 each on a nicer hotel as it ended up costing us alot more than that to keep away from the place for our sanity.All inclusive we ended up not using due to the problems.I dont usually go to this much effort to complain but this experience i wanted to share as it might help others not to make the same mistake we made.

Room Tip: if you have already booked choose top floor room.it might help.If not booked DONT!!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Arrived on the 26th September for 7 Nights , after reading the reviews was thinking we had made a mistake in coming to this hotel but these worries was not to be ,the staff was friendly from check-in to check-out , the rooms was cleaned everyday , I couldn't fault the food which was one of our main worries , and as for the all inclusive drinks they wasn't watered down as other reviews said , the entertainment I can't comment on we didn't stop in the hotel at night there is so much entertainment to see on the "strip" . All in all had a great stay , I would stop in this hotel again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Norwichsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Dynastic Hotel
Dynastic Hotel
#100 of 192 in Benidorm
2,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#109 of 192 in Benidorm
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Fiesta Park
Port Fiesta Park
#158 of 192 in Benidorm
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#104 of 192 in Benidorm
2,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#40 of 192 in Benidorm
1,956 reviews
1.4 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#64 of 192 in Benidorm
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Placidia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Placidia Hotel

Address: Avenida Roma 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: $59 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gala Placidia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gala Placidia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gala Placidia
Gala Placidia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing