We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #73 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very rude waiter in dining area rooms not 4 star would not be going back, rooms were basic the only good thing was the pig and whistle pub just up road which makes you more welcome. The swimming pool was cold and the area round pool was cramped,the pool bar was not opened so had to go down stairs to get drink.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellefleming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 763 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Avenida 13th June for 4 nights. Entrance and foyer lovely, lifts a bit of a let down.My two friends had a double room which was very nice, balcony and light and airy. I had what can only be described as a crypt. It was horrible, the laminate furniture was starting to peel off and the constant flushing of water from above was very intrusive.
The airconditioner didn't work properly mainly at night. the room was so hot sleep was a problem, very uncomfortable. The TV didn't work not even the English new's channel.
Cleanliness was very good, food was good, service was very good.
I had already booked for September before this trip so it is with great trepidation that I shall return.

Room Tip: Make sure its airconditioned and has a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfachWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Gambled on this hotel but paid off.After being dropped off at the end of the main pedestrian shopping area I took the short stroll to the hotel.The hotel itself is located directly on the main shopping parade,boasting its position for access to the shops,bars and beach.The beach is really less than a two minute stroll.You have everything at hand,including bus stops,taxis and mobility scooters.Nearly all those using the scooters are not disabled.They hire them for the week to get around as there is so much to do and see.You can park these up and re-charge out side of the hotel.
The hotel is a bit like a Tardis.Once inside the small but smart reception,you are greeted by the friendly reception staff. There are two lifts that actually worked all the time.I travelled alone yet had the comfort of a double room over looking the main street.The room was clean and well presentedA hotel with working air-conditioning..The double bed even had a matress protector.The bath was bigger than the usual Spanish tub and had a working shower.A shower mat,shower gel and shampoo dispensers together with a working hair-dryer was at hand.The balcony over-looked the main street and was a sun trap in the afternoons.The balcony was big enough to use the small table and two chairs plus hang out your towels on the clothes airer.(pegs included).You can watch the world go by from the balcony plus see the few human statues waiting for someone to drop a few coins in the tin.Although having the better view on the main street side of the hotel its downside is the noise at night.I did not see any trouble at all.The noise is just the buzzing of people in the streets and then in the early hours the street cleaners.If you are a light sleeper this will keep you awake.
The hotel maid is very friendly and does a good job.
The restaurant is what I would call a typical Spanish 3 star rating. Nothing really great but nothing really bad.Plenty of choice and hot. You will allways hear a moan or two ( you get what you pay for),but I was happy to eat it.For those who really think hotel food is that bad I suggest you go self catering and eat out.There is a recession on in Spain and prices are rock bottom.Personally I would eat at the hotel and use the money on other attractions. I went all inclusive so all drinks in the restaurant and bar are included. All inclusive guests even get the brand names,i.e Smirnoff vodka,not the local bottle.The bar is small but the staff are friendly and never keep you waiting.Even proper pint glasses are used,not the usual plastic cups.You can relax in the bar area with back ground music.Each evening there is animation but it is usually an organist playing more for the older guest who like a bit of ballroom dancing.
Why stay in anyway when there is so much going on elsewhere.
The hotel has only one small pool and a jaccusi on the roof area. Plenty of sunbeds and a small bar provide this sun trap. The views are disappointing,but if you are laying on your back sunbathing does it really matter. If you are a fitness freak you have the small gym and a sauna at hand.
This is not a hotel for young children or even teenagers.There is no outdoor garden area,so everything is confined to indoors.
Overall a super hotel for couples and small groups and yes,i will be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the main street are very noisey all night.Not just the holiday makers but the street...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Had 4 nights here June 12-16 2013 in two rooms. The double room was fine, big enough, light and airy with a pretty large balcony overlooking the pedestrianised street below. The room allocated for single occupancy was quite poor. Internal, overlooking a small courtyard and only a small window so quite dark. The big let down was the air con. Controlled individually in each room but a master control meant it was turned off from about 12 midnight to 12 noon, awful for sleeping at night, especially in the internal room where the window hardly opened. The TV in the single room didn't work either. Reception informed us when asked that the air con just needed to be left on a while for the cool air to come through. We had it on non stop all weekend and without fail the cool air stopped every night.

The bathrooms were fine, clean and tidy and fit for purpous. The food I thought was good (we were half board). A fair selection to chose from and all well cooked.

The location is superb for the beach and the old town and all the shops and reastaurants.

We are returning in September and will definitely ask for a different room if given the same type again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnatdriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What you don't find in the reviews is that this hotel is for the over-70s, with the entertainment adapted accordingly (una paloma blanca and other assorted hits from the 70s etc.). That said, this wasn't too much of a disappointment, as we wanted to stay away from the drunken hoards and we could laways get a drink at night but you need to know that this hotel is not for the under-40s, stag and hen parties etc. The rooms were small but clean and the service in the restaurant and at the bar was pretty good. The food was, however, poor, even by AI standards - expect to eat out frequently.

On the plus side, the hotel is right by Levante Beach and far enough away from the nightlife that you aren't bothered by it but not to far to walk to.

All in all ok but I would not rush back to this hotel or for that matter Benidorm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starymaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The only thing the Hotel Avenida has going for it, is it's position on the edge of the old town and a stones throw from the beach. I have stayed in the Avenida twice and both occasions we were allocated one of those awful internal rooms that I can only describe as a prison cell, we did go down to reception request an external room which was allocated to us the next day.

By four star standards this is a very average hotel, nothing special with average service, average food. The decor of the hotel in the public areas is bright and modern in contrast to the drab and dreary rooms, these could really do with a make over to brighten them up.

So why did I go back to the Avenida for a second visit, location. The Hotel Avenida commands a great location on the edge of the old town. I won't be returning to the Avenida for a third time as I have found a true four star hotel only a short walk away at the Hotel RH Royal.

Room Tip: If you get one of those awful internal rooms go down to reception and ask for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finlay-MacArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Avenida is perfectly located to take advantage of the best of Benidorm. A stone's throw from the beach and the old town, almost anything you could wish for is on your doorstep. The pool and sun terrace on the roof is lovely and although not particularly large, it never got crowded throughout my stay, with sun loungers always available. My room was great, on the 5th floor, with a large balcony which faced the sunset and had sea views to the left, mountain views to the right. Cleaned daily to a high standard, with fresh towels each day. The streets around the hotel are busy and vibrant, which for me was a plus point. A big plus point was the quality of the food. This was my first all-inclusive experience and no meal disappointed, with a great choice, lots of fresh fruit, salads, soup and usually 3 or 4 hot meal choices at each serving. The bar and public areas are very comfortable and whilst the average visitor is about 30 years older than me, and the evening entertainment caters for them perfectly, I was more than happy to sit around the bar area in the evenings before hitting the town later on. The staff are brilliant, very friendly and always there to help you. Ok, the rooms are a little dated, but overall there was nothing that spoiled my stay or anything that I could complain about at the Avenida. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelp8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Avenida
Apartamentos Avenida
#110 of 192 in Benidorm
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#40 of 192 in Benidorm
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#108 of 192 in Benidorm
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#27 of 192 in Benidorm
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Park Hotel
Bristol Park Hotel
#98 of 192 in Benidorm
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#66 of 192 in Benidorm
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Calle Gambo 2 | C Gambo 2, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $79 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avenida The Avenida Hotel is located in the most central area of Benidorm and only 75m from the golden sands of the Levante beach. This modern designed Hotel offers you a great variety of choice in its buffet styled restaurant. On the roof top you will find the outdoor swimming pool, heated in winter, the Jacuzzi, gym, sauna (payable locally) and a snack bar open during the summer. Enjoy our entertainment team in the day and night activities prepared for all ages normally carried out in the big bar located to the restaurant. Rooms fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avenida Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing