We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed late Feb/Mar. Hotel very impressive to look at.Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms fine and hotel was very clean. Very busy but had two restaurants. Wine was bought at a counter which was very convenient and reasonably priced. Food very good with plenty of choice and it was fresh and HOT!!!. Had to pay for wi-fi which was disappointing, also room safe. There were crowds of Spanish OAP's but the weekend brought in families which changed the atmosphere. Location was not too far from the beautiful beaches with the miles long promenade - smart. Very good value for money.Would not return only because I don't like going back to the same place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RabbitSouthendonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest:
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll go on trying to do it the same or improving to get Guest's satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,897 - 1,903 of 5,366 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is amazing ! We've just returned from a short break to this hotel (tues-sat) and after reading some of the reviews wrote after we'd booked we were a little concerned but I'm pleased to confirm most of them are talking complete rubbish! The hotel from first glance looks amazing very clean friendly staff only too happy to help we requested a high room and that's exactly what we got ... Top floor so the views were amazing and we had an end room so benefitted from a double corner balcony! ... Food was plentiful and varied breakfast was pretty much the same every day apart from different patties but still a huge choice hot cold cereal etc dinner was varied with chef specials like paella or a traditional Spanish cuisine. The hotel was quite full even this time of year a lot of Spanish and a popular choice for stag/hen parties come the weekend ! The entertainment was a bit of a let down with a live band pretty much every day which sang and played music albeit very good and the Spanish loved it up there dancing (after they'd reserved their seats) this was from around 9pm till midnight. To get a seat near the stage you'd have to be in the bar area by 8-8:30 latest then sit back and watch the Spanish fight it out for the chairs ... On all fairness that itself was quite entertaining !
The hotel has 2 main buildings housing rooms on both they also include a night club games room huge pool area and a small shopping mall( 3 shops) there's 1 main bar and then like a little cafe bar which always seemed like the fall back option if you couldn't get a seat in the other one again separate entertainment either music or different shows highly recommend the west end meets Benidorm the young girl who sings is brilliant ! Staff are constantly cleaning and when they've finished the rooms they're cleaning the public areas ... We went all inclusive and yes as others have stated you have to get your drinks from just one area of the bar but when staff see you waiting they come straight over there was hardly any waiting for drinks and were served with a smile there was no them and us feeling at all that we experienced . To our amazement in the evening we had drinks from glasses and proper pint glasses for beer too ! Snacks available were actually proper bags of crisps and pre packed sandwiches no hot food though snack wise. Food was available till late. The bedrooms were functional and spacious each room has it's own tv with satellite channels including itv2 and bbc at no extra charge each bathroom has a separate shower cubicle and then a bath/shower as well as the usual facilities there's also a hair dryer and a basket of goodies which includes shower gel shampoo comb shoe shine shower cap and soap! The tall building has an observation platform which you can go up to for spectacular views over looking Benidorm if your staying at the hotel it is only €2.50 to go up there and believe me what a view! There's even outside facing lifts that you can use to make your way up to the top ! (Weather dependant). The only let down is the location of the hotel although it's not a million miles away from the main town of benidorm itself and we walked it in about 30 mins ( not rushed) there wasn't a huge deal going on outside of the hotel in the evening I'd imagine it's around €10 in a taxi to get the central Benidorm and there is a bus stop right the mercado a supermarket which is opposite the hotel and only cost €1.50 single ! Number 2 or 3 bus will take you where you want to go !
The taxi rank is right outside the hotel and is served 24 hours a day. I would return to this hotel we had a fabulous time ! This is an honest review don't bother reading all the negative reviews these are obviously people who expect red carpet treatment for the minimal price they paid ! We spent 4 nights here and could have spent another week ! Loved every second ! ... We paid £116 each just for hotel and I know I drank that !! Excellent value ! ... Transfer time from alienate airport was around 45 mins and your first drop off but obviously last pick up ! ... Advertised as a 5star hotel ... It's got 4 stars displayed outside of hotel which is more honest ! ... Love it ! If I was going back to Benidorm I would defo book again !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest:
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll go on trying to do it the same or improving to get your satisfaction.
As you can see we always advertised the hotel as a 4 star, never a 5, but some TTOO display on their particular records as a 5.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

we come every year in hotel bali we go this year in july for our sixth time . we love everything from hotel bali! the staff is very kind and very very helpful and very friendly we know then very long .we have many contact with then. we love spanish people!!!!. spanish people are friendlier than many dutch people . we can't wait to see this nice people this year!!!!!

the rooms in the hotel are very clean. the hotel is very beautiful and the animation is amazing!!
see you soon staff from gran hotel bali!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


big hugs and many kisses ,
family Hofman

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallyon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest:
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all your stays with us. We'll go on trying to do it the same also improving to get your satisfaction.
We are waiting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at the gran bali in late february with my partner step-daughter and 2 children,i went all inclusive and as this was a last minute booking i didn't have high expectations,but on check in i seemed quite confident i made a good choice,we were given rooms on the 14th floor, and the two rooms were next to each other.On entering the first room i tried to activate the lights,on closer inspection i noticed that the card reader to activate them had been slightly pulled from the wall with wires exposed..i eventually had to knock it back into place to activate the lights....on further viewing of of the room i found it to be very dated,and then the biggest worry of all ,i decided to check the view from my balcony and discovered that the doors to the balcony had no lock...you can imagine my concern with being on the 14th floor with two young children!!! On checking the second room which my step daughter was in...the decor was again dated and no lock on the balcony door.The rooms were cleaned daily and we had clean towels daily,but i still found the rooms to be quite dirty,but that was mostly due to the dirty marks on the walls. The hotel was quite busy given the time of year ,and was full of spainsh pensioners ,which was no problem,but over the time we were there i found myself getting really irritated by some of them who i found to be really rude and ignorant ,especially when it came to meal times and on one occasion seen a spainsh gentleman wandering around the hotel who had urinated in his trousers..not a pleasant sight!!! .The food was average at best but you had to go at the right times otherwise the hot food was cold,but the downside to this was you had to fight your way to find a table,and more often than not we struggled to get a table as there was five of us,because the tables with seating for six were taken up by just 2 people when there was plenty of free seating available for 2 people.This is poor organisation by the hotel in my view and something easily addressed.The entertainment was aimed at the spainsh guests and quite laughable especially the fashion show which had four spainsh girls selling raffle tickets and parading round in different outfits which were more suited to teenagers than spainsh pensioners and had to endure the same female singer three nights on the trot who seemed to sing the same material each night.As we were AI we had to go to the end of the bar to get served, and more often than not we found ourselves ignored ,as paying customers seemed to take priority,after all they had our money already and so was subjected to second class service. No free WiFi despite the fact it was advertised , WiFi would only work in the hotel foyer allegedly ,but my step-daughter and myself failed to get it work despite numerous attempts after she decided to pay for it.The location wasn't too bad for the beach,but quite a walk from the main town,so used the buses on a few occasions...which stop outside the hotel,but found the queues here to be quite large so occasionally you had to wait for next bus to come round ,so we walked 50 yards to the bus stop by the supermarket a bit before the hotel and had no issue getting the first bus that came along or a seat.Overall was disappointed,didn't expect it to be perfect by any means,and it definitely isn't a four star hotel.In its current form we would never stay there again,but feel the hotel could do more to resolve some of the issues we came across our my time there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We would like to point that rooms are cleaned every day and that there is no locks in the balcony doors due to safety reasons to avoid anybody get locked out in the balconies.
The hotel does not advertised free WIFI.
All our clients are the same to us nothing to do with the board they have chosen.Gran Hotel Bali is not an exclusive AI hotel. The hotel works on all the other boards, and this is the reason why we separate clients in different bars or different parts of the same bar, just to make it easier to everybody, never to treat clients as a second class. All of our guests are exactly the same to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel was in a good location for the beach, but the rooms were a little outdated. If you go in February, be warned you will be overpowered by all the Spanish OAPs. As it was low season, the snack bar outside that would usually sell burgers, chips etc was not open, and the pools were really cold. The only good thing about the hotel was that it was especially clean, and rooms were cleaned everyday and clean towels everyday. Would not go back in February again, not sure if it would be any better in the summer. When it comes to the food, you had to be at the Restaurant when it opened so that you got hot food, otherwise it went cold really quick, or you waited for them to change the dishes over. Some of the food was really nice but otherwise it wasn't that good. As a couple you would manage, but as we were a family, there wasn't a lot for the kids to choose from (apart from chips everyday).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear guest:
Many thanks for your comments.
At this time of the year it is really normal to find Spanish OAPs as they are the only ones that are on "holidays" and can travel. Also most of the other clients are OAPs from other countries, and the Spanish are the same than the other ones.
The hotel has not heated swimming pool and in winter temperature is not high so the water has to be cold.
Swimming pool bar only opens in Summer.
Anyway, we would be very pleased to enjoy your company again in a future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the original Bali 30yrs ago what a great hotel but now it's just a show piece. We spent a week there first week in March. The entrance is amazing but once you get passed the reception desk it shows its true colours. The food was ok as long as you liked it cold and it was very repetitive. We were A/I and had to go to the end of the bar to be served as the paying guests took preference they didn't understand that we had already payed before we got there. The entertainment was aimed more at the Spanish than the British. The Spanish quests were very rude and some of the bar staff were no better. The room was ok but nothing special, bare electric wires coming from repairs not finished properly and very dusty in the wardrobe. Perhaps we were expecting to much after all the hype of highest hotel in Benidorm with celebrate quests. It was too far from the centre took approx 30mins in the bus. Would not return and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest:
We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The hotel works on a 14 days basis menu and we always try to keep a good value for money.
Gran hotel Bali is 3 Km away from the center of Benidorm, as always has been and there are 2 buses ( n. 2 & 3) every 10 minutes till 10:30 P.M. at this time of the year (up to much later in Summer)
We do not think is fair saying that Spanish are rude (generalizations are bad and unfair)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from the 4th till 18 of Feb this year and was extremely disappointed. There were so many things wrong that I don't know where to start.

I was on an 'All Inclusive' basis and having been on AI previously elsewhere I had a reasonable expectation of what to expect, like having to pay extra for branded spirits if I wanted them instead of local brands.

I won't bore you with all the problems but here is a sample :
- separate section of the bar to queue in , hidden out of sight behind a pillar and served only when there were no cash paying guests to be served
- no waiter service for AI guests
- different and distinctly inferior coffee to that served to guests paying cash
- tea served with the tea bag in a cup instead of the teapot for guests paying cash
- cheaper and inferior glasses to those given to guests who were not on AI
- no free WIFI despite it being advertised
- WIFI had to be purchased and only worked in the ground floor close to reception , not even in the ground floor bar adjacent to reception
- the advertised 'snacks' were only plain crisps and a cheese and ham sandwich, to have the sandwich toasted I was charged 2 Euros 90 cents
- AI guests were not allowed the 15% discount in the hotel shops that other guests were given
- rooms were dated and badly in need of a major refurbishment
- AI stops at 11pm in the bars despite the bar remaining open beyond this time.
- the Spa and the Gym both had to be paid for

My main complaint is very simple - All Inclusive guests were treated as second class citizens despite paying very good money for our stay. The Hotel seems to have an attitude along the lines of they have already got your money so they can treat however they feel. For All Inclusive , read All Dismissive!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Des F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dep_comercial, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest:
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We can see your major problem is the AI conditions in the hotel but we always advice to all the TTOO our conditions explaining on which it consist and timetable to apply it.
Gran Hotel Bali has never advertised that gym, Spa, WIFI or other estra services were included on the AI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
953 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#30 of 192 in Benidorm
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
1.4 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
2,862 reviews
1.9 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#60 of 192 in Benidorm
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali

Address: Calle Actor Luis Prendes, 4 | La Cala, Playa Poniente, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $65 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 776
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Bali is the most singular hotel on the Costa Blanca, being the highest hotel in Europe. It is situated in La Cala de Benidorm, very close to the sea and is made up of two buildings with impressives views of the Benidorm skyline and Poniente Beach, certified with Bandera Azul. Our highest tower, was built in 2002, measures 186 meters with 52 floors of which 43 are of use for guests, and the total is 776 rooms, where there are 12 suites. In-room amenities include with an additional cost: room service, laundry service, and wireless Internet access in rooms. Our emblematic hotel has a luxurious lobby with 18 lifts, two of which are panoramic, and the reception area is open 24 hours. Among the services offered by the reception, the rental of safes, courtesy rooms, our service of the wallet card where you can use the room key-card to pay for your drinks and food without money, recharging the same and enjoying a 15% discount, and currency exchange. It also has a TV room, our Club Cotton Club and a games room. Gran Hotel Bali has two air-conditioned restaurants where we have high chairs for families with children. Also, there are areas with show cooking and buffet. Regarding to the cafeterias are 4 areas for use and enjoyment of our guests. With respect to the offer of leisure and entertaintment, Gran Hotel Bali has an extensive complete and adapted program to all ages. As well as, the hotel has 3 swimming pools on our magnificent terrace: one for adults and children, a children's pool and the large lake with an outdoor jacuzzi, surrounded by a large solarium area with sunbeds and umbrellas. In the same area, children can enjoy on our mini playground. In addition, we have additional services with cost as the visit to our viewpoint for our clients or those who want to enjoy the heights of our hotel looking Benidorm. There is also a hairdressing salon, our Fitness Center (sauna, massage, beauty salon, gym) and garage for an additional payment, as well as a free Wi-Fi connection in public areas. Gran Hotel Bali also offers a several multifunctional lounges fully equipped to host any type of event or celebration, highlighting our magnificent and spacious Palacio de Cristal lounge with direct access from our garden. As well as, our business guests could use our conference room and Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Benidorm
Gran Hotel Bali Benidorm
Gran Bali Benidorm
Gran Bali Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Bali Benidorm
Hotel Gran Bali Benidorm
Bali Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing