We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed 11th July-23rd July..Emailed hotel asking for my usual room..but due to the fact hotel was full never got it..so asked reception staff straight away if possible could I be moved to another room next day when 1 became available..more or less got told no..went back to reception later that evening(different staff on)asked to speak to new hotel manager..explained the situation to the kind man on reception..he told me to come down in the morning and they would see what they could do as loads were leaving that day..(result)got moved..My last stay was April and there have been big changes since then..There has been a new outdoor stage built for the entertainment at night..the staff shows are great Grease,Dirty Dancing,Mamma Mia..and the Circus Show were some ov my favourites even though they were all pretty good..they have even brought back the childrens disco which my daughter loved..they now have music played round the pool plus kids and adult games at certain times during the day..and they have opened the kids club 3-5 every day..This is a great hotel..good food..good priced drinks..happy hour 5-6 Monday-Wednesday-Thursday and Saturday..clean rooms..great maid service..(comfiest beds in Benidorm)games area..shop..fantastic pool area..4 bars..and fantastic staff..swing park..jewellery stall..daily newspapers..and the best thing is you do not need to stand at toast machines as the toast is ready..the hotel is kept spotless and cant wait till my next visit..Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gail482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Firstly, thanks for being a loyal customer of the Rio Park- we are delighted to hear you had a great time there recently and that you enjoyed the new entertainment.
We look forward to seeing you again in the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    984
    450
    166
    113
See reviews for
801
1,278
97
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

just back from a week stay at rio park.we had a fantastic stay.the hotel is very clean,maid service and towel change every day if needed.our bedding was even changed during the weeks stay.there is a good choice of food,occasionly some of it could be cold.i do feel they could do more of a choice for children,but overall was very impressed.the staff are friendly.theres plenty of room around the pool but would be nice to have sun parasols that can be moved around as well as the ones they have fixed to the floor.i cant praise the entertainment team enough,they are fantastic.they work extremely hard and the shows they put on in the great outside entertainment area are absolutely brilliant.we loved them all.a special mention for Diego! hardworking,professional,very funny and very talented.my mum was on the holiday with us and emailed the hotel to request our rooms was near each other.on the second day,she found a bottle of wine and chocolates had been put in her room for making the request.what a nice touch.mum was very impressed!the prices of drinks at night from the pool bar are very reasonable.we will definateley be returning to rio park and are looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: definateley a pool room view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are so pleased to hear you had a great time at the Rio Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The new manager at the rio park benidorm as made many changes it is more for family's entertainment now out side it is very good I don't think the old people that have been going there for 40 years agree, the food was cold at all meal times but when people complained they did sort it out. I booked an early call but they did not ring left my new hair dryer there in the rush I have emailed and Thomson have made enquires but have heard nothing so not so caring as before

Room Tip: High end rooms are more quiet as walls are paper thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisanddave034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As we have a large number of families in the hotel at the height of summer, there are now more activities provided for families. We do ofcourse value all our guests in the hotel and it is not our intention at all to cause any disappointment to our older repeat guests with the new family entertainment, but we hope that in July, everyone understands that the hotel is very lively and busy with all types of guests.
I am very sorry there seems to have been a mix up with your wake up call- I will also follow up with the hotel to investigate if we have found your hairdryer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

once again we back from our 2 wk trip to the rio park always take the first 2wks of July and it was great to the old staff faces when we checked in. even looking around the hotel we saw up to 8 people from last year who were on there hols the same time as us last year so that alone says a lot for the hotel with repeat custom. there has i must admit been some changes some for the best some not and some that still need to change.first of all there has been a big swing to a more family friendly way of doing things which for us as a family with small children was even better than our other visits to the Rio with a kids club everyday from 3 till 5 and loads going on from killer pool to shuffle ball etc etc for kids and adults with about 15 members of Rio park work experience staff working hard all day everyday to entertain the kids however Rio park please take note a lot of your regular older customers were feeling a bit put out by the sudden change as some do not want to hear the music blasting out all day and being asked several times a day if they want take part in some active remember these people our your bread & butter who come 3 to 4 times a year where a family like myself only come once a year .yes everything changes but i would hate to see the diehards being pushed out as well.there has also been a few stag partys at the hotel which before was a big no no and to me does not sit well with the new family image the Rio is trying to undertake. also since Jose is no longer running the hotel i noted about 4 managers running around all over the place checking on staff and clock watching them why the need for all these managers when a man in his 60s ran this place alone and all the staff seemed to be left to get on with it is beyond me many of the staff informed me of the big changes this year and were not happy 2 that i know of were being watched of which they informed me when they have worked there many yrs before with no problems. the food is still great for a 2 star Jose (the old manager)) would always be there at meal time for a quick chat or a cheeky comment now you never know who will be there to greet you a little thing i know but belive me these little things make up for a happy customer now for those who dont know there is a supermarket in the hotel i myself brought a bottle of water then went to the bar to ask a new member of staff for a plastic cup with just ice to put the said water in i was informed this was a no no i told the barman this water was from the supermarket in the hotel and has never being a problem before but new for 2014 is the new no cup or ice rule unless you buy from the bar!!!!( bit like going the petrol station and not being served because i just wanted a drink and not petrol) the rooms our known for being dated and i now think should be at the top of the to do list i dont come on holiday to sit in my room all day but a bit of paint the right lighting and more modern bed and curtain covers would work wonders the bathroom door which are split and swollen at the bottom could just have stainless steel strip across the bottom to make it look more easy on the eye if new doors is not on the budget. the big question is shall we go again next year the answer is yes as for the price this is a great hotel it just at the moment it seems to need a bit of tweaking on the change over of management skills towards staff and petty rules and also drop the stag partys and look after those oldies as well as the familys

Room Tip: ask for a room lookin over the yellow brick road has they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to come back to the Rio Park for another holiday and thank you for your comprehensive comments. We very much appreciate feedback from our customers, especially our repeat guests, so all points have been taken note of by the Management of the hotel.
The hotel team have worked hard this summer to make sure that we are providing more family friendly entertainment during the summer months, and of course it is not our intention to then perhaps cause our older repeat guests to not be happy. We are trying to make sure everyone in the hotel is having a good time, and as you know July is a very busy and lively month in the hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you are thinking of coming back to the hotel again next year and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Have spent the last two weeks at this hotel which was our third visit. The management has changed recently and although it was a comfortable stay I believe they could do so much better.
Rooms are adequate and clean and showers are very good but where this place lets itself down badly is the food. By their own admission the hotel is mostly occupied by British. With that in mind why cant they offer british produce for breakfast like most of the other hotels and bars in the town. Cheap Spanish bacon, undercooked sausage, poor quality eggs and cheap 'value' bread resulted in us eating out regularly. Too much pork, overcooked chicken, overcooked so called steak at night. No sign of a lamb chop at all.
As I said this was our third visit but it will be our last.
It seems all they want to improve is the nightly entertainment which to be fair was very good. My message to them is get the basics right first so people keep coming back.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is a suntrap in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of the hotel on this visit. The Manager and his team monitor all aspects of service in the hotel very closely and are always very keen to speak with guests while they are in the hotel if there are any concerns. The food being served in the Rio Park is of the same quality as always and we are sorry that perhaps you did not speak with the Management while you were at the hotel to try and rectify your concerns.
We are glad to hear you believe the entertainment had improved and we would sincerely like another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, so you can see that we will continue to give the same good service in all areas of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried when i realised rio park was only a 2*. But when i got there i was put at ease. The hotel and pool was beautiful, the food was really good!! (Im a fussy eater) and the hotel was smack bang in the middle of everywhere so all the places where easy to get too. Im very impressed and i would definatly rate this hotel higher than what it is. The drinks and food from the pool restaurant are cheap too which was great because of us being half board we could get a cheap lunch in the hotel. The only downside i have is there are no fridges in the rooms so you cant keep your drinks cold. But overall a really good hotel and i had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have just returned from a week at the Rio Park and have to say it was an excellent holiday. The hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are a bit dated and could do with updating but I would not let this put me off going back. The entertainment team were fantastic and the evening shows were excellent. I would definitely go back to this hotel. New management have made some great changes to make this a really enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Avril H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are so pleased to hear you had a great time at the Rio Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#42 of 192 in Benidorm
1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#16 of 192 in Benidorm
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riudor Hotel Benidorm
Riudor Hotel Benidorm
#33 of 192 in Benidorm
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing