We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel for the older person” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #41 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good hotel for the older person”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

First time at this hotel. Just wanted a cheap break at beginning of January. Found the Hotel to be very clean and comfortable and all staff very pleasant. Get the impression that the regulars who have been going for years even decades pre-book their next stay while here, so the best rooms, pool view, lower floors etc have well gone, so you would be lucky to get one booking through tour operators. Food was very good, only thing was it was sometimes only warm but microwaves are available. entertainment consisted of a bingo room from 8.30 to 9.45.A bar situated by reception that had tv,s showing mostly football and the main room that had acts on that were the usual warblers you get on holiday and lots of waltzing and line dancing by the older generation. Benidorm itself was quite and staying in the hotel in the evening seemed a good idea as the drinks were cheap and the spirits were the genuine article. The entertainment was the let down and even the staff shows got boring this consisted of various staff getting dressed up and badly miming to tapes. another bar is situated in the area of the pool called the connections bar it is a comfortable room with acts on that were sometimes awful. we spent a fortnight here and that was enough some people spend a month here in winter and good luck to them, we found the entertainment got boring and it is centred around the older generation. Would we stay again, maybe if the price was very cheap and we were desperate for a holiday, but we prefer to try different places and not spend our holidays using the same hotel. For a winter holiday for the older person who likes mundane entertainment this is the hotel for you. We are not youngsters I had my 59th birthday here and my husband is 60 but felt WE were to young to be at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    926
    422
    149
    105
See reviews for
753
1,204
95
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed our stay. The main attraction is the glorious food both in the variety of the meals and quality. Only drawback is the paper thin walls separating the rooms. Don't argue with your partner or you will be sharing it with your neighbours who will hear every word!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 746Captmarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Myself and my partner visited the Rio Park for the 3rd time on new years eve till the 7th January 2014 and was not disappointed . We arrived about 8pm and after leaving our bags in our room on the 6th floor we headed down to the restaurant for a Gala buffet where we received a party pack with a gift of a Rio cup. Not ideal having to share as the table wasn't really big enough what with free champers and wine. After dinner we went to the main bar were we brought a table in from outside and some chairs to enjoy the festivities which also included 4 free drinks,a nice touch. 12 o clock was grape swallowing which I managed but seedless ones next time please. After the Spanish one we went to Wookey Hollow pub for the English one. We once again enjoyed our stay at the Rio Park and special mention to Paco the barman who is a star. Food again was excellent. Well done Rio.

Room Tip: We never seem to get the room we ask for via e mail but to be fair it was busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigcarl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Decided to book a cheap holiday with Thomsons for January. Great price, £308 each for 11 nights, full board. Couldn't fault it. or so I thought! Great flight transfer, however when we got to the hotel it was like a stampede. Grabbingthebags off the coach to run the fifty yards up this winding path so they could be first to check in. Needless to say we were last in the queue. To say all these pensioners are riding around in disabled carts they cansure run fast when they need to! During the endless queue for check in my eyes alighted on a picture on the wall, it was written by the manager, something about the dear pensioners, without whom Benidorm would be closed for 10 months of the year.
However, on the plus side, the staff on the whole were very obliging, the room was spotlessly clean,plenty of clean towels etc, and the food was very good. Always something nice, bit of a problem with
breakfast as the eggs etc were usually lukewarm. If you are happy to holiday in a glorified retirement home with extra benefits of bingo, karaoke etc., you'll be okay here The last time I was in a place like this it was a working mens club, oh and don't try to sit just anywhere, I made that mistake and was told, you cant sit there, that's someones chair! The one saving grace is the pop in pub, a delightful little bar, quiet, not as rowdy as the entertainment room, the drinks prices are cheap, much better than most hotels we've stayed in. On the whole we had a good holiday, if you can get over the feeling that youre intruding into some private party, you'll be okay. Just remember you'll need strong elbows to get into the lifts and fight your way to the front of the queue! oh, and before you think i'vegot a downer on the elderly, im no spring chicken, im 57 and my husbands 61!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, it gets the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LENOREOFBRID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived on 31st dec and were on 1 of 4 coaches from alicante to the Rio Park. We loved the hotel ,the staff were very friendly,bar staff excellent and overall a thoroughly good holiday as the food was excellent and plentiful,overall we will definetely be back for another visit.When you see all the photos of british people and their numerous visits it says it all.Whilst some of the decor could do with updating it does not take away for me the overall feel good factor that we had on our first visit,the bar prices were reasonable so we will be back again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRINKO1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel was great no complaints what so ever, the room was very clean and the food was very good, we r staying there again when we go benidorm in feb, the staff were very freindly and helpfull, I would recommend the hotel to my freind, Benidorm is a great place for all ages, thanks

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent hotel, was worried about 2 stars until you read the reviews. This is an excellent hotel, basic but very clean and food aplenty. Staff welcoming and friendly. This hotel is just the right distance from nightlife where you cannot hear the noise. If going on a girly holiday again to Benidorm would stay again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#17 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Riudor
MedPlaya Hotel Riudor
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#43 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#9 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#21 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing