We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rio Park - 27th August x 1 week” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #41 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rio Park - 27th August x 1 week”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

First impressions were of a very busy foyer, bustling with the change over crowd and the receptionists seemed stressed. Some were obviously happier to see you than others, but i'll let it go as its very busy checking in.

I emailed in advance to advise hotel my wife does not like lifts and we were duly given a room on floor two. Not bad at all. We went straight to the room to drop our bags of and have a look around the place. Unfortunately as we entered the room it looked like it was still occupied but then a spanish cleaner hastily came in and shouted in Spanlish "5 minutes". We all know that the room was used before us but actually seeing someone elses mess is a little off putting. I went down to advise them that it wasnt done and were advised we could leave our bags in reception. Not sure why we were given an unmade bedroom in the first place really.

The rooms were small, the bathroom needs modernising and there was a distinct smell of urine, which really didnt please me.So we left to go explore in the hope the smell had faded by the time we got back and it had.

The beds are small and are made up with waterproof mattress protectors which squeeked every time you moved, so these were duly removed!!

One of my bug bears is having to pay to rent a safe. Theyve probably been there since the hotel opened and would have probably paid for themselves about 500000 times over by now.

Anyway...back to the hotel.

It has a lovely bar area and terrace which serves well priced drinks and has a happy hour 4 times a week. There is also a pool side bar which is open till 7pm which also serves toasties, pizzas, chips etc all reasonably priced. The pool itself is split into 3 areas, The childs pool is very disappointing as there is a big drop into the pool so the toddlers cant gradually walk in or play by the side.

As we were half board i was worried about the lack of choices. i shouldnt have worried as the food was actually very good. Something for everyone, if you cant find something then you seriously have issues!

If it wasnt for the small rooms i would say it was more along the lines of a 3 star hotel. It has many many repeat customers, i spoke to an old girl who had been coming for the past 40 years.

The crowd is either familys or elderly couples. Nothing much really in between.

Would i go back? Probably not. Would i recommend to my parents? Yes

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    926
    424
    149
    105
See reviews for
753
1,205
95
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and would definitely stay here again . Food was good , pool was nice and staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel was spotless and apart from some old lady stealing our towels .... faultless !! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

20/08- 27/08/2013.First impressions on arrival were not great , whilst queuing to check in I had ample time to read the notices warning of con artists and instructions to the guests to supervise their children and respect the lobby furniture.( These notices summed up the contempt the hotel staff appeared to feel towards the guests.)

I was given my room key and told my room may have been cleaned and prepared for me, it may not.(I was obviously a valued customer then.... I found this attitude to their guests as quite shocking. ) Fortunately it had been cleaned , but then again it wouldn't take long as the room was extremely small ( a single). On a positive note the air conditioning worked well and the shower ( once you had climbed over the toilet to access it ) was hot and powerful.Clean towels were provided daily and the bed sheets changed midweek. There was a safety deposit box in the wardrobe , which you have to pay extra for, which I did, although it meant another encounter with the scary receptionists.

I had booked half board and found the food various and plentiful . Although not very Spanish, generally quite good.The atmosphere in the restaurant felt rushed, better to go early for breakfast and later for dinner if you want a more relaxed meal.( The sight of unlimited food can send a lot of guests into a frenzy of greed .) The drinks from the bar were cheap.

It's a very informal hotel , I witnessed guests attending breakfast in their nightwear and dinner in their swimwear, more reminiscent of a British holiday camp, than a Spanish hotel. A high percentage of guests smoked , so a pleasant moment on the verandah or pool side was often spoilt by someone unexpectantly lighting up . (You can't smoke indoors obviously but, I don't go on holiday to be confined indoors.)

The surrounding area of the hotel was rundown, with many businesses closed, building projects abandoned and lots of graffiti. We were also warned by the Thomson Rep. that the pedestrianised access to the hotel was unsafe after dark.

Overall the hotel was alright as a place to sleep and eat , and was quite a haven compared to the rest of Benidorm.

If I had been part of a couple or group I would say the hotel is reasonable value for money , but having paid a substantial premium as a single traveller I would say not.

Room Tip: Don't travel alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked this hotel with Thomson as a last minute holiday who rated it as a 3 Star. Wasn't sure what to expect when reading the reviews on here but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Benidorm itself wasnt high on my list of places to go but the holiday was cheap (£470 for a week half board on August bank holiday week) so thought id give it a chance. When reading trip advisor reviews I saw that a few people had emailed the hotel to request pool facing rooms, which I did and was given a room (221) on the 2nd floor with a pool view. Was perfect as my son is only 11 months therefore spent evenings on the balcony. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily, room was clean. Shower was very powerful, nice massage. The room was small but as we spent most of our day by the pool or walking it really wasn't an issue. I have stayed in 4* hotels and can honestly say that the food was better at the Rio. I really don't see what some of the reviewers had to moan about, considering the size of the hotel if there were that many bad things about this hotel there would be more bad reviews, some people need to find something to moan about sometimes. I came away relaxed and happy. Benidorm itself is not somewhere I would return to but a cheap, no frills get away I would definately recommend to others. Kids seem to love it there, which I guess is what its all about..... if you have them :o) Well done The Rio

Room Tip: Email the hotel to request a pool view prior to your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from the Hotel Rio Park. I will try to leave a balanced view of our time in the hotel. We arrived on a Saturday evening. Unfortunately the request we made to Thomson for a high level room had not been passed on so we were put in a room on the 3rd floor. The hotel staff were disinterested in honouring our request, they were dismissive and sullen. This was not great. The room was very small, we had to ask for the television remote control and extra pillows (you get just one each else). The room was shabby, wall covering in the bathroom was peeling off and there were mould patches on the flooring areas. I was bitterly disappointed.

Be warned there are no facilities for making tea / coffee, not a big problem for us because we had taken a travel kettle but there are also no facilities for keeping milk or other drinks cold. This may or may not be a problem, depends on your needs.

Our first night in the hotel was exceptionally poor. The noise level was unbearable ... Not loud music but banging and moving furniture, and be warned the walls provide little protection against any noise at all!. I spoke to Thomson and they negotiated with the hotel and finally we were offered a room on the 12th floor. Much, much better. My advice is ask for this 12th floor. Speaking to guests who regularly stay at the Rio Park they all said 'oh yeah we always request the 12th floor!!!'. It was so much quieter. Hardly any disturbance at all. The room condition was also much better as well.

Maid service was daily and adequate in the rooms. Some of the communal areas are a bit shabby, particularly the 'Bingo Room' where Thomson held their Welcome Meeting. Some of the seating is heavily stained.

The pool area is very nice although the usual silliness with reserving beds with towels takes place. The snack bar by the pool is very good value. The hotel shop is well stocked and clearly geared towards the predominantly British visitors.

The half board plan is reasonable. Food was ok and quality reasonable. The dining room does get very busy but that is to be expected.

Out and about - take our advice and walk all the way to the beach (about 10 minutes) then turn right and keep walking to the Old Town. The restaurants, Tapas Bars and shops are all great. Take the boat trip - good value and Mundamar, Aqualandia and the Algar waterfalls are all a must. I can't comment on the night club areas because hell would freeze over before we went there but that's just our choice!!

All in all Benidorm is ok - I probably wouldn't return but we had a nice relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed in Benidorm loads of times, and booked this hotel for a cheap 3 day break with pals.
Great 2* hotel with 4* ideas. Yes rooms a little small but that's the only negative. Brilliant staff, fantastic pool area, good location and even free wifi, what more could you ask.
Definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbosly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent facilities, food was amazing, rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels. Amazed it isn't at least a 3 star. My only gripe would be having to wait so long for the lift. Floor 11 is too much to walk. I will recommend rio park to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#18 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Riudor
MedPlaya Hotel Riudor
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#43 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#21 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#9 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing