We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the 2* rating, it's a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Rio Park; we w
anted a good value holiday in the sun and we certainly got it. The absence of a gym, wide-screen tv's and laundry service earns this hotel a 2* rating but it's far cleaner and better run than a lit of 4* hotels.
The reception area is welcoming, with free wifi. The bar service is good and prices are very competitive, the food is served hot and will please most European palates- if you fancy something different Benidorm offers restaurants from all round the world and the recession has kept prices down.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are basic but functional and clean, there were over 20 hangers in our wardrobe, the air conditioning works well and the views from the upper floors are great. We requested (via email direct to the hotel) a poolside view on a high floor and we got it, together with a bottle of wine thanking us for "our kind comments and patronage". That's a nice touch.
The real jewel in the crown is the pool area: The pool is big compared to other hotels (The President, Riviera) and you can swim in it as it's 5ft at one end and 8ft at the other. There's also a shallower pool and a child pool. Although not heated, the balmy temperatures warned the water sufficiently and we never struggled to get a chair or sunbed, although in common with other hotels people rushed out at the crack of dawn to "reserve" a bed.
I must be honest, when we first arrived at 1am and we went for a walk my heart sank: Rowdy pubs full of stag do's, strip bars, live sex shows and people staggering round vomiting. I knew Benidorm was popular with stag do's and I'm no prude but it was all a bit much. However, the following day a nice long walk clearly indicated that we'd found the worst street the previous night. It makes sense to keep all these places together and it looks like that's what has happened. The hotel is about 5 blocks from the beachfront (roughly 5 minutes walk down the "yellow brick road" pedestrianised path or down the road past bars and shops). The beachfront is great; you turn right when you get to the sea and you can walk to the old town and then carry on to the newest part. Turn left and you can walk up the hill and through the country park, past 2 great pebble beaches (the first one is a nudist beach and the second is great for snorkeling) to a 16th century watchtower with views back along the seafront.
Great service from Thompson reps and good flights. Flying back at 2310 wasn't ideal but the hotel let us book a late checkout and stay for dinner so it wasn't as drawn out as it could have been.
Holiday tips? We really enjoyed the downhill bike trip, the Segway trip, the coach trip to Valencia, a bus ride to Altea (lovely views of Benidorm skyline on the horizon) and our journey to the 43rd floor of the Grand Bali hotel. The views are absolutely amazing and you really see the sheer scale of Benidorm: It's well worth doing.
Overall, a great hotel and a great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tweet285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,987)
There are newer reviews for MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,042 - 2,048 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here 5 times and all has been fine. But have just come back from our 6th trip and never again.

There were far too many children not being looked after by their parents. We were sick of seeing pushchairs. hearing grizzling kids, crying kids and yes of course kids who love to yell. It was a struggle to get into the pool as they congregate at the entrance. Playing ball in the water so it is hard to swim and yes those bloomin lilos.

There are signs up in the hotel saying children must be with parents at all times. So it begs the question why did the management not say anything when children were in reception on their own causing a nuisance?

Also when we were in a lift and then parents would ram pushchairs in never mind they don't fit.
Just lack of consideration for anyone else.

Yes there were stags and hens but had no problem with them and there were some on our floor.

So for the fact that over 50% of the guests had children I can no longer visit because for some unknown reason we don't seem to have our turn and have some peace.

The bedroom walls are paper thin that person is quite right

The person who said the food was shocking I find this hard to understand as cereals, full English, crepes, omelettes etc for breakfast and over the 2 weeks we had thick pieces of turkey, lamb cutlets about and inch thick the meat fell from the small bone with mint sauce, trout, paellas, very large chicken thighs etc so as I say I am a bit stumped.
But because of the children we will not be going back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Truthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at the rio. Previously stayed at the regente hotel.it was clean, the food was ok, I woukdnt say it was better choice than the regente. The thing we hated was the racket at night, the walls are beyond thin and the 8th floor seemed to be full of louts. Very inconsiderate, woke my 6yr old daughter on a few occasions. The entertainment was not up to much and not for kids at all. Thr regente had great entertainment at night and was great for kids during the day.

The shop at the hotel was good to have and there was a nightly game of bingo if you like that sort of thing.

The staff were generally pleasant with exception to the bar staff whom were quite rude on occasion and just seemed to want tips on their saucers when returning change.

Went with thomson who were great, the reps were fab, we had a free child space which had swayed us to stay there this time. we had a bus put on each trip we went to terra natura and mundomar.

When about in benidorm we had been reading alot of comments about muggings and crime, but we can honestly say we seen nothings, the police patrols have increased around the town especially at the beach front and we felt very safe

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janiebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

first things first paco the barman what a great chap you are,the hotel was very clean most of the staff are happy some of the waiting staff look at you like you have just pissed on there kids. but i was on holiday so let it slide. the food was very nice a good selection the house sprits in the bar were very cheap ,i had a singel room beware if you are a solo traveler pay the extra for a twin or doubel or this is what you will get, when you get into bed no matter which end if the bed you are you with ether hit your head on the dresser or you will hit on the oppostit wall where the wardrobe is when you want to got to the toilet you have to sit on it sideways and then move your knees round whist you sit there you can rest you arm on the sink one side and your other arm on the shower/bath and if your not carefull when you step out of the shower you will end up with your foot in the toilet the only good thing is because its a small room the air con works a dream. all in all though a good holiday if you want a cheap but nice pint head to the cheap and cheerfull bar walk out off the rio park turn left then immidate right walk about 300 meters its on the right happy holidays 1 euro a pint esstrella dame very nice

Room Tip: 6th floor and above as its quiter
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekmate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When we seen it was a 2* hotel was abit concerned as we were here for two weeks but how wrong we were should be at least a 3*. The food is the best i have had in a spanish hotel so much choice and really good standard. The staff are really freindly and they put on staff shows during the week which are really funny and not to be missed. Also the other entertainment they put on is really good the drinks are cheap and so is the food for snacks. The rooms are really clean and are cleaned daily the only thing wrong is the maids singing very loudly in the mornings early as to wake you up.The pool area is very large and well maintained the hotel is very very clean and very safe if i was to say it is best for adults not families but nothing wrong with taking families there thought better for adults. Very good location about 5 mins from all the shops and night life but very quite and area very nice, The staff work really hard can see why people go back we will.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A bit shabby but v clean. Ok for a 2 star though. Bizarrely lots of people go back for years and years! Entertainment very very cheesy, almost comical. Food and drink by the pool very cheap indeed and whilst limited is nice. The food in the buffet restaurant is absolutely SHOCKING!!! Plenty of sun loungers. Staff on reception helpful. Hotel shop sells lots of essentials. Can be v noisy at night so take your ear plugs.
But you get what you pay for so ok for a 2 star. Free wifi in reception.
Lots of lazy people on disabled scooters who could clearly walk but couldn't be bothered too!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank princesselainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited this hotel for 2 nights whilst staying with friends. None of us had been to Benidorm before and thought 2 nights would be sufficient. For a 2* hotel this one was excellent. The rooms were adequate and we had pool views on the 6th floor. Towels could have been a bit fresher. They were clean but very old and threadbare. The swimming pool was very good. It was sectioned off for children, serious swimmers and in-betweens. The prices in the hotel bars were no dearer than outside. Probably because of all the competition. The biggest plus was the food. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. Everything you could think of at breakfast. Lots of different cereals, fruit, cold meat, cheese, salad. Hot food was pancakes, omelette and everything for a full breakfast including black pudding. The only downside was that the tables weren't cleared quickly enough. We ended up piling our dirty plates on another table. Think this was due to a lack of staff rather than laziness. Could certainly spend time at this hotel again. 3* quality as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConcordeManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#40 of 192 in Benidorm
1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#15 of 192 in Benidorm
913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $74 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing