We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don Pancho refurbishment is superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Pancho
Ranked #3 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don Pancho refurbishment is superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to stay at the Don Pancho (3rd time) 14-21 December 2013.The hotel is gradually refurbishing the rooms and it is going to take some time to get through them all! I knew that the top floor had been finished so I emailed the hotel before we went and asked for a room on the top (17th) floor, as and I understood they were allocated to returning guests- and we were lucky.

We found that the lifts were very efficient and although we were too high to walk up and down, we never had to wait long for a lift- there were 5 lifts in all.

We were so pleased to have been allocated a room on 17th floor- the room had been gutted and superbly done up.It has coffee coloured carpet, cool beige doors on the wardrobe, cream leather headboard, pristine white bedding with continental quilts, dark wood drawers and cupboards with leather handles,etc.

Also the bathroom was completely new with white suite and lightcoloured tiles throughout, with a shower over the bath.The tap on the bath took a bit of fathoming out but eventually we realised that angling the tap determined the heat of the water and only the slightest adjustment was required to move between cold and red hot!

The day after we arrived a tray was delivered to our room with a basket of lovely fresh fruit,plates,knives and serviettes- a nice touch.

The drinks menu in the lounge is a bit scarey- minimum drink price 6.60euro- but this price ONLY applies to non-residents! Residents should put their money away and charge the drinks to your room for much lower prices, eg a pint was 2.60 euro, so not expensive at all.

We thought that the food was lovely- always hot and plentiful.We always had a bottle of wine in our room before we went for our evening meal as the restaurant opened at 7pm. A bottle of cheap local wine at the local supermarket 200yds away was less than two euro!

The entertainment in the hotel was not to our taste- we don't dance! But we knew this would be the case from previous visits so we went out every night to visit the local clubs to see tribute acts at Morgans, and comedians at Talk of the Coast.

Our reasons fro staying at the Don Pancho are:-

1.It's location 150yds from the sea

2.The fantastic view from the balcony-all rooms face the sea

3.The sun on the balcony all day

4.The lovely food.

5.The superb rooms and comfortable beds

We couldn't fault anything on our holiday and can't wait to go back.

Flopsy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flopsy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    374
    109
    30
    15
See reviews for
257
983
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I'm fairly well travelled and can be quite hard to please....so...here it is.

Benidorm - a bit of everything for everyone....the beach, the prom, the old town is all we look for in Beni...the Brit bars etc is a thing of the past for us....I'm sure I do not need to review Benidorm, it's somewhere where we holiday as its a short flight and is an additional holiday for us..a bonus if you will!

The Hotel...we stayed there in Oct 2013 for 11 nights(and are returning at the end of this month)..on arrival the porter met us at the coach...we have a 13 month bundle of joy (8/9 mnths at the time) and the amount of luggage caused the porter some amusement (jeez forgotten his name but he was very friendly and helpful for the whole stay - an appearance of a gym goer and he needed to be!)

A very nice reception area...worthy of its stars....welcoming staff.
Nice lifts...bit slow ..not a complaint...just an observation.

Rooms - yes they are floors that have newly modernised rooms....we managed to catch a peek...very nice and modern...if indeed that's your thing...bit minimalistic looking - one of the staff did mention that they prefer the old rooms as they had character...they also informed me that they were waiting for feedback before they refurbished all the floors.

We had one of the old rooms...all have a sea view and its a pretty good one..ok a few high rises in the way but it's a great vista to have...especially first thing in the morning...draw back the curtains and you question why you shouldn't always book a hotel with a sea view...quite a wide balcony and window too. Ok...they are a little dated (traditional even)...but they are of good quality and spotless...ours didn't appear to be tired...just slightly old fashioned..but that made it quite welcoming and cosy...good black out curtains...powerful shower...in fact it was like been sandblasted when on full!

The location is perfect.. just a hop away to the prom/beach.

The food was very good..no complaints...a little British maybe ...steak pie and apple crumble one night...and it was good!..Friendly chef show cooking......no sea views of course.. so it aint quite a romantic dining experience ..very few are ...but it's nice and the staff are attentive and the foods good and a reasonable choice.

The entertainment didn't look great.....not bad...just not great....but it did exist ..but we never stayed in..just poked our noses in...the age group is mainly 50+...but that seemed a good thing...a little bit more relaxed....and everyone seem to love our little one (only one in the hotel I may add!)

The swimming pool area would score the lowest points from me...for such a lovely hotel it really is a little boring looking and pretty uninviting....again something which we didn't use....the beach is across the road!...plenty of people did use it however.

Even with some of the not so great elements ...I still would have to give it 5 stars ...because it was excellent ...it was better than very good...there are cheaper hotels in Beni and we have popped into have look at some of them and DP is worth paying a little extra for.....it's not the best I've stayed in ANYWHERE..but then I've paid twice as much for other hotels around the world but it will be the first hotel I price up every time I go to Beni as I did this time........better entertainment and a lovely pool area would make this great hotel into a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: All have sea views....would imagine low floors don't have as good a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moonlight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

arrived 14 December with friends for a two week Christmas break.Rooms very dated and need total refurbishment.Food not bad, Christmas day meal was good. Entertainment was abysmal the in house people were poor and even though the majority of residents were english the main attraction was sequence dancing which only brought in the spanish locals who seemed to take priority over paying guests.The only act worth his salt was "DEGSY". What about a Star Cabaret Show on Christmas night there are plenty of great acts working in Benidorm.

Room Tip: floor 7 and 17 have been refurbished but are kept for returning guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SHEILA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Have just returned from the Don Pancho hotel and this was our first visit. We cannot fault anything at all.We have stayed in many hotels in Benidorm but this was by far the best.Staff and service brilliant.The food choice was fantastic and always hot,the chef in the restaurant was really friendly and helpful.The bedroom was a bit dated but spotlessly clean ,what more can you ask for.The position of the hotel is great just a short walk to the beach.shops.market and night life.We have only been back a week and have already booked to go again on jauary 21st for 2 weeks,cannot wait.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea,but you get a better view from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Don Pancho hotel.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed with the fantastic hotel location.

Please don’t hesitate to contact guest experience for any further information about your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

just returned from our second visit after 5 years and found the hotel had made a few changes for the better. The staff hasn't changed much since our last visit nor has the service which is second to none. we were on 16th floor & our room was very comfortable with a fantastic view over the sea. The staff throughout are both very helpful & friendly always greeted with a smile. Special mention to dining room waiters for there efficiency keeping tables clear & clean .The food was excellent & varied but more importantly hot, thanks to the chefs for that.All in all we had a great stay and will certainly visit again thanks go to everyone who helped make it this way as there were too many to mention

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Don Pancho hotel another time and for taking the time to write this review.

We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your accommodation. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you.

We hope to welcome you very soon and do not hesitate to contact us for your next reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just come back from 4 days holiday here and have to say how impressed we were with this hotel. It was our first visit and would certainly be back again. Comfortable room on the 3rd floor overlooking the front and comfortable beds. Food was a good standard with pleasant and helpful staff, good choice of breakfast and evening meals. The reception staff were also very helpful and would go that extra mile for you. Reception area was very impressive and the whole hotel was very clean. Weather was good for this time of year with sun and people sitting on the beach. A lovely walk along the prom into town and the buses were handy for getting out and about.

Room Tip: Front view about 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor users.

It is a pleasure to see that you have valued positively our rooms, location, food and service. We make an effort every day in order to provide a good quality service to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Benidorm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was my second visit to the Hotel Don Pancho and it was even better than my visit 7 months ago. The staff were friendly and courteous and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The food is wonderful and after a few days my resolve to stay on my healthy eating plan melted. The baked alaska was fabulous and I loved the crumbles and custard.
On my last visit the wifi did not work in the room (12th floor) but this time there were no problems on the 5th floor.
The indoor swimming pool tempted me in every day and was very quiet. If anything it is a bit too warm but it seemed to suit the clientele. I would prefer it if there were toilets nearer the pool.
The evening entertainment suited the older set and is geared to couples. There is dancing in the upstairs lounge but the singers are good to listen to if you don't dance. On Tue and Thu there is sequence dancing with a bit of ballroom and line dancing thrown in in the downstairs dance room.
This hotel would not be suitable for children or stag parties as it is geared to the older set. It is handy for the beach and the buses are frequent just outside the hotel.
I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Refurb going on but hotel avoids using the rooms close to the work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

We would like to thank you very much for your comments regarding our staff, our food and our public areas.

Please don’t hesitate to contact guest experience for any further information about your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#9 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#16 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Property: Hotel Don Pancho
Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing