We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed this time”
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Pancho
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
county durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little disappointed this time”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned from 11 nights at the Don Pancho and I have to say that this time we were a little bit disappointed in certain respects.We have been to the Don Pancho three times before and have always been satisfied however I dont know whether it is down to the recession and not enough staff in certain areas but it was only little things such as running out of food at mealtimes and it not being replaced quickly enough.The evening entertanment comprises of a resident trio who are good but they do cater more for the Spanish crowd .The cabaret is very hit and miss and the Spanish singer dressed in Mexican outfit is so Spanish orientated that he does not even attempt to engage with the British contingent . If as I believe this hotel is going to be exclusive to Thomson for British section of the visitors then as it has a 5T rating then I hope the caberet can be improved,Also having stayed in various 5T hototels I find this hotel should not be 5T Rated as it is probably only 4Tat most.The evening meals were ok but only ok and again on a number of occasions certain items ran out and were not replaced quickly enough.Those are my gripes and there are certainly positives such as the reception staff ,bar staff ,and room cleanliness which were excellent and the downstairs lounge has been well refurbished.The room tv choice is also good now with BBC,ITV,CHANNEL5,and a number of Sky channels including one Sky sports channel.I would agree with other reviewers who stated that tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms would be nice and not too expensive to do and little improvements such as this would help to justify a 5T rating.Please do not let this review put you off as if you look at my previous review of this hotel you wil see that I am fan of the Don Pancho but I believe it can be made even better than it is at present with a little effort from the management.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank magpieCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    409
    119
    29
    17
See reviews for
279
1,116
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were about the only people who had never been to Benidorm before.
Good food but avoid the bun fight, don't bother waiting at the door for 7pm dinner.
Provision of tea & coffee facility in the room would give them a another star, shame as everyone was saying the same. Some regulars said they take their own kettle with them from UK. Wow.
Decor was fine as was furniture in lounges etc. must have recently been modified considering some reviews! If you plan to go to the Benidorm Palace dinner/show do not book until the day you are going or book with the hotel reception. WHY? Because if you book with the Thomson rep. and then find due to illness you can not go - you will not get your money back! Even when cancelling the day before and costs about £100 for 2 people. The kind hotel manager said if we had booked with them we would have been refunded, even offered to give us free tickets next time we are there. I have complained to Thomson since returning but seems they do not respond to request for refunds no reply. Will never use Thomson again. We became ill 2 days after arriving and found many seem to have got the same bug which was a nasty one and puts you out of sorts for 3 days and leaves you weak for another 3 days or more. Shame when we only had a weeks holiday.
There were many sun loungers, few people used them but the towel people were still down early bagging their favourite lounger - when there was not need. Take care when crossing or walking by the one way service road by the beach walkway as cars, vans, invalide buggies and motorbikes often speed by, one motor cyclist must have been doing near 50mph. Everyone has to cross this road many times.
WiFi in hotel has to be paid for, 10 euros a week but is very slow and many days did not work.

Room Tip: Choose a room on high floor for better view and less noise from the main road, all have sea facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uk2sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a great hotel in the heart of Benidorm. fyou don't like Benidorm then go elsewhere because this is right in the middle of the resort close to the beach and all the other delight of the resort.
Some of the decor is now looking dated but the rooms are fine and the prices reflect the slightly dated appearance.
Food at the Don Pancho is very good with a wide selection and variety of offerings.
I went with my family whereas many of the guests are slightly more mature. So if you have small children you may want to go elsewhere but if you want peace and quiet then this is ideal.
Staff are great, couldn't find better.
Loved it!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaton7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ive stay at the Don Pancho before and it never fails for me, standards are always high, staff always friendly, everyone knows their job and gets on with it. I love the decor its retro but has never gone out of style. Rooms and beds comfy, location great near to beach and night life but not too close to keep you up at night.I love Benidorm but I am giving it a rest for a couple of years until it draws me back again and my hotel of choice will be the Don Pancho. Thanks all the staff for another great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction email hotel for low or high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here October 12th - 15th, For an 80th Birthday celebration, all female party ages from 23 - 80!
Had 3 rooms 2 on the 1st floor and 1 on the 2nd floor, all a nice size and very clean.
Room 109 & 207 had views of the pool, Room 104, although really nice ,had views
of the satellite dish. you need higher rooms to get a sea view,
Our party could not fault anything about this stay, had a wonderful time and would definitely
return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Chose this hotel because of its good reviews.
We wanted a central hotel near to the promenade and entertainment, with good food and, on balance, were not too disappointed. Location was perfect, only a few minutes stroll to the front and all the bars and tributes shows nearby. Found the hotel very busy and full of retired British couples escaping the English weather.

Buffet restaurants seem the only choice and this was perhaps slightly better than average.
Usual array of salads, trays of pre-cooked dishes - sometimes only fairly warm, and for deserts - the same small squares of gateau and 4 tubs of icecream, with one hot desert each night.
The main redeeming feature for me was the nightly roast, where the chef carved off slices of meat - great.
The restaurant was pretty busy at peak times, with the tables quite tightly packed together and sometimes difficult to find a table for four. People were queuing up to 20mins before the restaurant opened in the evening to get their regular table. The food seemed to get topped up quite quickly, but I find it's always hassle walking, around with your plate to get your food.
Tip - try not to sit near one of the service stations, the noise is quite overwhelming.

The rooms were adequate, but not up to 4star standard in my opinion, with the furniture pretty dated and basic. I found the mattress quite hard to sleep on. No complaints with the cleaning though and towels changed every day. Small fridge in the room, which was useful for storing bottles of water. We bought a massive container of water from round the corner for less than 1eu, and decanted it into smalled bottles to take out with us. There is a safe in the wardrobe which costs 1.6eu per day and 10eu returnable deposit for the key. Hairdrier in the bathroom and usual slection of sachets.
The only complaint was that the cleaner always left the patio doors open and let in the midges. I got quite a few bites, so take some insect repellant, just in case.

The heated pool was a bonus and had a retractable roof for the cooler seasons. Not a large tropical type but a small basic pool which was alright to swim up and down a few times. Plenty of sunbeds with foam mattresses; towels for hire from reception, for a returnable deposit. However, even in October there was the daily ritual of people rushing to get their favourite lounger to reserve for the day, by putting a book or bag on it and then going in for breakfast or off somewhere. There was a notice saying the staff would remove personal objects from the beds after 10.30am if not occupied, but I never saw it happen. Pretty annoying.
Unfortunately, the pool area was at the front of the hotel, adjacent to quite a busy road, so if you were sitting along the pavement edge there was quite a lot of road noise - I didn't find it very relaxing. Also there were bushes planted along the edge, so you got plenty of flies on you.
As you came from the hotel into the pool area, there was a seating area under the verandah which provided some shade from the sun or rain, where you could get basic choice of snacks and drinks from an outside bar, though partly spoiled by being the smoking area as well. This area played piped music all day - you either liked it or it got on your nerves!

We booked through Thomsons and asked for a low floor as my husband doesn't like heights.
Although sending the request through to their office 3 times in various ways, the hotel had still not even been notified of our request. Fortunately, I had emailed the hotel direct, which resulted in getting the low floor we had asked for. The receptionist said that tour operators rarely pass on these requests, so it is always best to email the hotel direct. I always found the staff helpful, in helping when our air conditioning didn't work and with supplying us with a bus timetable and ordering a taxi - they even came out to explain our destination to the driver.

If you have a late flight home you can store your bags at reception.
If you arrive too late for the evening meal you can have either a voucher for lunch or a snack from the bar - choice of pizza or sandwich and a drink.
You can also swap your evening meal for lunch on a different day if you desire. Seemed reasonably flexible about it all.

We didn't go to any of the hotel entertainment, as we had come to Benidorm for the outside shows and cabaret acts. When we did go into the dance area, there was a Spanish trio playing to an elderly Spanish audience. They would be up dancing and then all troop out of the hotel when it finished, the same people coming in most nights.

Despite all the little annoyances, this hotel suited us reasonably well.

Room Tip: If you don't want to wait for the lifts at busy times ie - coming out of the restaurant, perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice hotel this, with good customer service.

Great food and good location, still one of the best in town and well worth that bit extra.

Not too many screaming kids, mostly British, German and Spanish clientele.

We had a room on the 17th floor, looking a bit 70's ish now but with spectacular views.

Not many sunbeds by the pool, poor quality too - better to go to the beach and pay 4.50 Euros for all day, or part thereof, unless you fancy the early morning towel laying pantomime by the hotel pool.

The aircon in the rooms isn't great - seems to be set centrally by the hotel, some kinda eco measure - we found it stuffy, and once again our small travel fan came in handy.

Can be had on a good deal on 'Ice Lolly' on occasion.

Room Tip: 18 floors, the higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
3,931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Property: Hotel Don Pancho
Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing