We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Don Pancho
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a great hotel in the heart of Benidorm. fyou don't like Benidorm then go elsewhere because this is right in the middle of the resort close to the beach and all the other delight of the resort.
Some of the decor is now looking dated but the rooms are fine and the prices reflect the slightly dated appearance.
Food at the Don Pancho is very good with a wide selection and variety of offerings.
I went with my family whereas many of the guests are slightly more mature. So if you have small children you may want to go elsewhere but if you want peace and quiet then this is ideal.
Staff are great, couldn't find better.
Loved it!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaton7392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,800)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Don Pancho
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ive stay at the Don Pancho before and it never fails for me, standards are always high, staff always friendly, everyone knows their job and gets on with it. I love the decor its retro but has never gone out of style. Rooms and beds comfy, location great near to beach and night life but not too close to keep you up at night.I love Benidorm but I am giving it a rest for a couple of years until it draws me back again and my hotel of choice will be the Don Pancho. Thanks all the staff for another great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction email hotel for low or high room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here October 12th - 15th, For an 80th Birthday celebration, all female party ages from 23 - 80!
Had 3 rooms 2 on the 1st floor and 1 on the 2nd floor, all a nice size and very clean.
Room 109 & 207 had views of the pool, Room 104, although really nice ,had views
of the satellite dish. you need higher rooms to get a sea view,
Our party could not fault anything about this stay, had a wonderful time and would definitely
return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Chose this hotel because of its good reviews.
We wanted a central hotel near to the promenade and entertainment, with good food and, on balance, were not too disappointed. Location was perfect, only a few minutes stroll to the front and all the bars and tributes shows nearby. Found the hotel very busy and full of retired British couples escaping the English weather.

Buffet restaurants seem the only choice and this was perhaps slightly better than average.
Usual array of salads, trays of pre-cooked dishes - sometimes only fairly warm, and for deserts - the same small squares of gateau and 4 tubs of icecream, with one hot desert each night.
The main redeeming feature for me was the nightly roast, where the chef carved off slices of meat - great.
The restaurant was pretty busy at peak times, with the tables quite tightly packed together and sometimes difficult to find a table for four. People were queuing up to 20mins before the restaurant opened in the evening to get their regular table. The food seemed to get topped up quite quickly, but I find it's always hassle walking, around with your plate to get your food.
Tip - try not to sit near one of the service stations, the noise is quite overwhelming.

The rooms were adequate, but not up to 4star standard in my opinion, with the furniture pretty dated and basic. I found the mattress quite hard to sleep on. No complaints with the cleaning though and towels changed every day. Small fridge in the room, which was useful for storing bottles of water. We bought a massive container of water from round the corner for less than 1eu, and decanted it into smalled bottles to take out with us. There is a safe in the wardrobe which costs 1.6eu per day and 10eu returnable deposit for the key. Hairdrier in the bathroom and usual slection of sachets.
The only complaint was that the cleaner always left the patio doors open and let in the midges. I got quite a few bites, so take some insect repellant, just in case.

The heated pool was a bonus and had a retractable roof for the cooler seasons. Not a large tropical type but a small basic pool which was alright to swim up and down a few times. Plenty of sunbeds with foam mattresses; towels for hire from reception, for a returnable deposit. However, even in October there was the daily ritual of people rushing to get their favourite lounger to reserve for the day, by putting a book or bag on it and then going in for breakfast or off somewhere. There was a notice saying the staff would remove personal objects from the beds after 10.30am if not occupied, but I never saw it happen. Pretty annoying.
Unfortunately, the pool area was at the front of the hotel, adjacent to quite a busy road, so if you were sitting along the pavement edge there was quite a lot of road noise - I didn't find it very relaxing. Also there were bushes planted along the edge, so you got plenty of flies on you.
As you came from the hotel into the pool area, there was a seating area under the verandah which provided some shade from the sun or rain, where you could get basic choice of snacks and drinks from an outside bar, though partly spoiled by being the smoking area as well. This area played piped music all day - you either liked it or it got on your nerves!

We booked through Thomsons and asked for a low floor as my husband doesn't like heights.
Although sending the request through to their office 3 times in various ways, the hotel had still not even been notified of our request. Fortunately, I had emailed the hotel direct, which resulted in getting the low floor we had asked for. The receptionist said that tour operators rarely pass on these requests, so it is always best to email the hotel direct. I always found the staff helpful, in helping when our air conditioning didn't work and with supplying us with a bus timetable and ordering a taxi - they even came out to explain our destination to the driver.

If you have a late flight home you can store your bags at reception.
If you arrive too late for the evening meal you can have either a voucher for lunch or a snack from the bar - choice of pizza or sandwich and a drink.
You can also swap your evening meal for lunch on a different day if you desire. Seemed reasonably flexible about it all.

We didn't go to any of the hotel entertainment, as we had come to Benidorm for the outside shows and cabaret acts. When we did go into the dance area, there was a Spanish trio playing to an elderly Spanish audience. They would be up dancing and then all troop out of the hotel when it finished, the same people coming in most nights.

Despite all the little annoyances, this hotel suited us reasonably well.

Room Tip: If you don't want to wait for the lifts at busy times ie - coming out of the restaurant, perhaps...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice hotel this, with good customer service.

Great food and good location, still one of the best in town and well worth that bit extra.

Not too many screaming kids, mostly British, German and Spanish clientele.

We had a room on the 17th floor, looking a bit 70's ish now but with spectacular views.

Not many sunbeds by the pool, poor quality too - better to go to the beach and pay 4.50 Euros for all day, or part thereof, unless you fancy the early morning towel laying pantomime by the hotel pool.

The aircon in the rooms isn't great - seems to be set centrally by the hotel, some kinda eco measure - we found it stuffy, and once again our small travel fan came in handy.

Can be had on a good deal on 'Ice Lolly' on occasion.

Room Tip: 18 floors, the higher the better...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just got back from our second visit to Benidorm and stayed once again at the Don Pancho.
I can only say what many have said before me that this hotel is fantastic. The rooms are spacious, cleaned daily and they have such great views. I emailed 2 weeks before arriving and asked for a high floor room, on arrival was actually given the same room we stayed in on our first visit. The variety of meals was just as impressive as the first time and all the staff were very pleasant and polite. I must thank Felipe for his advice on the wine with our evening meal he made a great choice. If I had any cons on this hotel it would only be to suggest tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but this is just a minor detail. Everything is on your doorstep from the beach to cafes, shops and all the bars and restaurants just minutes away. Will definitely stay again if we decide to go to Benidorm in the future,

Room Tip: Choose higer floor if possible the views are really brilliant
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saunders49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel really caters for guests 60+. We had a bedroom on the 15th floor with excellent views of the sea. Hotel which has 20 floors, in great position for the beach and promenade, and all rooms face the sea. The hotel faces due south, so the sun is on your adequately sized balcony for most of the day. The bedroom decor was rather dated, and a rather ancient wall hairdryer in the bathroom. Bathroom had bath with shower. There is a small fridge/mini bar in the bedroom which was rather hopeless in producing ice in the ice tray. No tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom, so recommend you buy a travel kettle(we bought a kettle from Amazon for about £11).
The maid service was very good, with towels changed daily and sheets 3 times a week. We did not have to wait long for any of the 5 lifts, even though the hotel was rather full.

The evening entertainment was rather dire, aimed at 65+, with expensive drinks from the bar, no doubt to help pay for the entertainers. We always went to the street behind the hotel, Gerona Calle, the entertainment strip, where you could find bars, clubs, etc. On the same street is Morgans (Neptunes in the Benidorm series, and not far away from there, Sol Pelicanos Hotel, where the series is filmed). In some bars you could buy a pint of lager for 1.50 euros, and small glass of wine for 1 euro.

Mainly men on reception, who sometimes could be rather offhand, and would prefer to finish a task, rather than give you immediate attention. Unusually for a hotel of this stature, there was no foreign exchange facility at reception. If you turn right outside the hotel, there is a large shop selling spirits, wine, etc, which offers to change money for you, with no commission.

At the hotel is a large buffet style restaurant, where you felt you were rather part of a conveyor belt system, rather than having an ultimate dining experience. If you were not bumping to other guests, there were the waiters and their trolleys to cope with. House wine could be bought for 7 euros a bottle. The hot food buffet for some dishes was sometimes warm at best, and sometimes cold. In the end we gave up eating evening dinner in the restaurant, as the food became much the same each night. We dined out for 3 nights out of 7. Champagne breakfast on Sunday morning, and a free glass of champagne with Monday evening meal.

There is a handy supermarket, Carrefour Express, which is about 200 metres, turning left outside the hotel

If we ever stayed at this hotel again, which would probably be unlikely, it would be on a B&B basis only.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors for the best views, and away from the lifts. The corner rooms ha...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#7 of 192 in Benidorm
1,765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: $105 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing