We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton Dressed as Lamb!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Costablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Costablanca
Ranked #57 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mutton Dressed as Lamb!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I have just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel, the hotel is in a good location for the old and new towns.

The outside of the hotel is ultra modern but the rooms are very dated with a dark reception area. The shower and air con was rubbish. Wifi is available for a fee which I didn't expect from a 4* hotel!

The pool area is very small and doesn't get much sun later in the day with the hotel being an L shape, good luck getting a sunbed as there aren't many and guests hog them with towels!

The young lady on reception was very nice and helpful:-) the rooms are cleaned every day and towels changed.

In summary, very much show, with little substance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Marco D,

Thank you very much for your post!!! We really much appreciate the time that you have taking ypu for sharing with us your experience in the Sol Costablanca Hotel. It is really important for us to know how your stay was, because we constantly work to meet our guest's expectation and improve everything that lets our guests less that totally satisfie.

We are sorry that you had some dissapointing comments to make. We hope to have the chance to welcoming you back again. We will do all our best to help you to enjoy you a wonderful stay with us!!!

Best regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    280
    169
    52
    34
See reviews for
136
419
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location right on the beach and central. Staff friendly. Clean. We were self catering so can't comment on the food. The reason for 4* is that the area around the pool is small with limited loungers all squashed in with no room 2 move. We stayed on the 3rd floor and found it rather smelly (sewage) on several occasions. I'm not sure if this smell was throughout the floors of the hotel. The aircon was not available in the room. When we asked at reception we were told it wasn't hot enough to put it on. Surely this should be down to the individuals? All in all a good hotel & I'd recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TinkerbellJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear TinkerbellJane,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Sol Costablanca. It would have been great to have some information about your experience in the hotel and your level of satisfaction.

I am glad that you approved of the location and enjoyed the service.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sol Costablanca again in the future.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Sol Costablanca was a gorgeous hotel and i would go back tomorrow! Situated on the sea front, you are in the perfect location for the beach,eating places and lovely bars! If you are looking for a lively hotel for stag and hen partys,this is not a hotel for you(ive been in Benidorm last year for this at a different hotel) it is a slightly older crowd and very chilled out. The food was amazing and catered for everybody, with an amazing view over the beach when you are dining! If you are not bothered about a sea view room i wouldnt pay the extra money(we were only in the room to sleep and then get ready to go out at night) we were in the rear rooms and they were so quiet,we never heard a sound. The rooms were great and fresh bed linen and towels every morning i cant fault them in any way.The staff were lovely and friendly and couldnt do enough for you.The rooms have a hairdryer and you can get an iron and board free of charge, for as many days as you need it. The only thing i have to maybe have a little whinge about was......... if you want to lie by the pool you have got to be out about 7.30-8.00am in order to grab a bed as very limited,they have loads of tables and chairs however if you want to sit by the pool and watch the world go by, its 4 euro for a lounger directly in front of the hotel on the beach,which we did 1 day and it was lovely. There is a great supermarket to the left of the hotel selling everything and very cheap,so no need to take toiletries etc, also great for your juice and water for during the day to save some money as the hotel(as normal) is more expensive. It is great to watch the hen and stag partys trolling along the beach and with some interaction with the hotel guests. All in all, i will be back and cant wait to book again.

Room Tip: we were in 308 which was at the end of a short hall,so no passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Melanie C,

First of all, I would like to thank you having chosen our hotel for your holidays and for sharing your experience in Sol Costablanca here on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your kind words about your experience in our hotel; opinios such as yours help us to carry on working every day with enthusiasm and illusion.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and we really hope to receive you again! For your next visit, if you have any request, do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will be more that happy to help you with everything you could need.

Once again, thank you for choosing our company, Meliá Hotels International to spend your holidays!

Best regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Being "BENI" veterans we decided to change our usual venue of staying near Morgans and move towards the old town
This hotel is not only is the best location ie 2 mins from the beach , it is clean , comfortable and very impressive, it is also ideally located for both new and old town visitors
We stayed Bed and Breakfast and may i say unlike previous comments we found the food varied good quality and plenty of it .
A couple of downsides that are not mentioned in any brochures or internet splashes you may want to consider

1) The coach drops you at the belroy which is about a 500 metre walk (on the flat) to the hotel personally it didnt bother us because we had hand luggage but if you have a couple of suitcases it may be a issue. This was of course on shuttle bus , taxi transfers are straight to the door. Again just check when booking

2) Initial views of hotel show sea view rooms mmm yes they have them but at a cost of a extra 30.00 euro's a night again please check when booking

3) It is a adults only hotel


Saying that it was the best hotel we've stayed in , we will be going back , the staff are very courteous and friendly, the rooms brill , food brill , location brill

You will enjoy

Andy and Wendy

Room Tip: Ask about sea front before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 407andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Andy and Wendy,

In first place we would like to thank you for the extraordinary comments and punctuation you left us, we are very glad to hear that everything for you, during your stay at Sol Costablanca was simply amazing so far. Our position within our unbeatable services and our marvelous and professional staff make the difference for our guests and leave them free to live and feel Benidorm.

Once again thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to seeing soon here as our guest, the stuff of Sol Costablanca wishes you all the best.

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was spotless throughout although some might say in need of an update. Everyone was friendly and the reception staff were very helpful when my friend needed medical attention. The hotel is right on the beach and the pool had very few loungers but we love the beach so took the few strides across the promenade to lounge there all day! We had room only and I would recommend everyone to do that as there are hundreds of bars and restaurants catering for everyone within metres of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again for a short break without the kids!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank theyoungonesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear theyoungonesCheshire,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disponsal.

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location but very cramped around pool and no chance of getting any sunbeds. Rooms good and very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately the food was very disappointing, very litle choice, boring and lacked culinary skills. Did not see any beef or lamb, same veg every evening, very poor. Breakfast not much better. We were surprised that we were not asked to complete a customer service review at the end of our stay but maybe thats the problem, there is no feedback so nothing improves!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Pauline L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a reviewof your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you liked our location and rooms.

We are sorry that you had some disappointing comments to make. Please rest assured we have taken all your points on board for immediate consideration. We was very surprised your comments about the food, as it is one of our strenghts, we have a wide and varied buffet. As for the feedback, we send all our customers a quality questionnaire, once you leave, where you can score and propose improvements to the hotel. I am also always available to listen to suggestions and proposals for improvement.

We hope you decide to come back again and best regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

3 friends and myself are just back from Sol Costablanca and we loved the location.
The hotel looks one of the nicest from the outside lots of people stopped
to admire it. The pool is right on the front but the beds were jammed together, but
we just went to the beach right on your door step.
The rooms are large and very clean, they do need a bit of attention now.
The food was ok, we swapped a few lunches and went out for dinner, but there was
always something to choose from.
The language was a slight problem at the reception but we got there in the end.
Location is perfect between new town and old town, much better in the old town lovely
restaurants and music in the bars earlier than the new town.
I would recommend this hotel for a week..

Room Tip: The hotel charges $20 euros per day to ungrade to a sea view. We were in rooms 408 and 409 these ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookie149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Bookie149,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your satisfaction is our success.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Sol Costablanca and to know that you really enjoy in this area. I appreciate highly your constructive comments as well. We would like to thank you for your trust and we hope to welcome you soon again!!

We wait for your next visit to Sol Costablanca!

Greetings from Benidorm,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cimbel
Hotel Cimbel
#51 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#28 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Diplomatic
Servigroup Diplomatic
#50 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costablanca

Property: Sol Costablanca
Address: Avinguda Alcoi S/N, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#31 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#48 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costablanca 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Costablanca. Located right on the magnificent Levante beach, in the shopping and entertainment heart of Benidorm (Alicante). It is the best choice to relax, unwinding and enjoy with your partner (only for adults over 16 years old) with the best service in an elegant and quiet atmosphere. The rooms, all with terrace (furnished table/chairs) the majority with sea views, are equipped with LCD 32 TV, AACC cold / hot with individual control, free WiFi throughout the hotel and socket for laptop, telephone, minibar (*), safe (*) and full bathroom, hairdryer, bathroom amenities (shower gel and shampoo). The Hotel offers you unique dining spaces so you can have a real dining experience with local and international cuisine. Live music, and evening shows to enjoy on our wonderful terrace overlooking the sea, on one of the most lively promenades in the city. Free WiFi and private parking for the exclusive use of guests with 49 spaces (*) With charge (*) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Costablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costablanca Benidorm
Sol Costablanca Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing