We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Costablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sol Costablanca
Ranked #58 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends. Hotel clean, staff helpful, plenty of choice for breakfast.
I can understand previous reviews regarding sunbeds, quite a small pool area not many sunbeds, plenty of table and chairs for sitting having a drink. The lack of beds didn't bother me as I prefer to swim in the sea. The location was great for the beach and the old town. We had a room on the side although not much of a view it was very quiet.
One of my party had a birthday a few days before travelling, in her room the hotel had kindly placed a bottle of fizz in an ice bucket - very nice gesture.
We will definitely return next year .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WLK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments which are really appreciated and the time you have taken to write your review and we do hope you had a great stay with us.

We take note of your suggestions about sunbeds.

We look forward to hosting you again. Regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    275
    168
    52
    34
See reviews for
134
413
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for my 30th birthday the view From my room was unbelievably super beach and pool view .I also got a bottle of sparking wine sent to my room from hotel.breakfast was a let down not nice .But I would return to this hotel very relax and peaceful right on beach front

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l33ann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear l33ann3,

First of all, thank you very much for take your time and post your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy because you had a pleasant stay with us.

Very pleased to read your positive feedback about your stay at Sol Costablanca.

I read carefully your comments and I took notes about your review. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest’s experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest’s satisfactory.

We hope to see you again and you come back soon to the Sol Costablanca.

Sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is in a very good position,20 metres from the lovely sandy beach,a 10 minute stroll into the heart of the lovely old town with its back street tapas bars and excellent shops,throbbing with the sound of visitors from mid morning to late night.The hotel has a nice (but small) swimming pool with a small number of sun beds and ample tables and chairs surrounding it. Waiter service is a available round the pool for drinks and a small number of snacks (toasties),though the drinks are expensive,3.90 euro a large glass of beer (3/4 pint glass),much better value drinks are available in most of the bars in the area,all competing for your custom,there is an excellent small supermarket only yards from the hotel. We stayed at the hotel on a full board basis and the food was very good, plentiful and varied,although the restaurant hours could have been longer,breakfast 8-10 and dinner 8-10. The rooms were good size,the bathroom was a little dated but worked well, bath with shower over,toilet,bidet and sink. We had a side sea view and balcony which was lovely.The rooms were well serviced daily.One small criticism is the size of the elevators which are very small and if you have large suitcases you may struggle to get in to them. This hotel was not the cheapest available in Benidorm but if you are looking for a good quality hotel and are not too fussy about minor faults then this one should be fine. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it.One more point is that the bar next door has live bands till quite late at night and though the soundproofing is good,noise is still audible from the side rooms of the hotel,this did not bother us,in fact we quite enjoyed listening to the music in the afternoons and evenings sat on our balcony,but if you don't like this then get a room at the front of the hotel where the music will not be audible.

Room Tip: Get a sea or side sea view room,it's entertaining just to sit on the balcony and people watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all your comments which are really appreciated.

We are delighted that you are happy and we hope you will visit us when you come to Benidorm again for a holiday.

Regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Although of mature years this was our first trip to Benidorm, for one week middle of September. Selected this hotel according to the reviews which I have to say are pretty spot on. Excellent location, sunbed fiasco, exterior update, desk staff not very welcoming as opposed to the dining staff who always had a smile. Food was good, plentiful and, as has been said, on the lukewarm side of hot! The rooms are not as modern as the facade but they are comfortable. We had a room at the rear which had a pleasant enough view and, having enquired about a sea view room which were not available, I'm glad. Approx. 35 euros per day to upgrade seems to be over the top to me but it's 'whatever floats your boat' I guess. The clients were mainly mature Spanish who were very nice however this is not a hotel for the young (adults only) or the party animals. It really is one of the best looking hotels judging by our own thoughts and the numerous comments of people passing by on the promenade. Should I return to Benidorm I would return to this hotel and recommend it to my friends. Benidorm itself, at this time of year, was very pleasant. You can still get out there and eat nice meals and 'party' if you wish or just take it slow and easy.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the 200m walk to the hotel when your bus drops you off. Rooms at the rear had a reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillMac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear BillMac30,

First of all, thank you very much for take time and post your review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for your comments received and we are happy because you had a pleasent stay with us.

I am very glad that you liked our hotel specially our location.

Thank you very much for your review again.

We wish to see you again in your next visit to Benidorm. I hope you to come back soon to the Sol Costablanca.

Sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stopped here for four days with a group of friends for a break in Benidorm. The hotel is located in a great position with plenty of bars and eateries nearby, and it is by the beach.

Rooms are no-frills but perfectly okay for a stop away, clean and comfortable with all the amenities that you might need. The hotel also has a pleasant pool area, although if it was busy then sun-beds would be in short supply!

As with most hotels, the drinks are more expensive than the local pubs, but they are still not too bad for european pricing and there is adequate choice. If you want to go out for a few drinks, there is a rock bar next door and a great Irish bar just 100 yards away. There is also a Subway, Burger King, Mc Ds etc. all within a short walk as well as local shops if you're looking for quick and easy. Many of the pubs sell food also, or there are plenty of restaurants.

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant at the hotel. It was fairly average but with a good choice of hot and cold foods it was definitely worth having. Staff at the hotel vary a lot, there are some friendly and helpful people but equally some rude and dismissive, which is a shame as they do let down the hotel somewhat.

If I was going back to Benidorm at this time of year (e.g. not peak season) I would stay here again, but I think the pool and restaurant would be overloaded at peak times (although it is an adult only hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Robert B,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and thank you for writing in to TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for all your comments which are really appreciated.

Thank you again for your comments. We are delighted that you are happy and we hope you will visit us when you come to Benidorm again for a holiday.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Check in was slow, and the male receptionist did not acknowledge us for a full 10 mins as he was on the phone.It was after midnight , but no welcome drink and no friendly welcome..

Given a room on the first floor 128 next to the Daytona. Nothing wrong with that as we love Rock Music, however we were over the restaurant and there was a dreadful noise first thing in morning , which I assume was aircon or filters. I complained at reception and was moved to a 3rd floor room 301. Great views over pool and beach.

This was a special birthday holiday for me and my friend who was in another room on 3rd floor.. We were both given gifts of Cava, which was a nice touch..

No point going into the sunbed saga, as its all been said.

Really enjoyed the breakfasts and loved the coffee, The evening meals were on the cool side and sometimes weren't to our taste, but then thats us. The gala night is great for those that love seafood and was beautifully presented. Unfortunately , none of us were seafood fans.

The position of this hotel is the best, you are near to everything no matter which direction you take.And the beach is fantastic. Just love the Heartbreak and Daytona bars , and watched a couple of real good bands.

Over all an enjoyable week, and came home with a nice tan .

Room Tip: rooms with a full seaview a must rooms ending in 01 to 05 are the best .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grandmabetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear grandmabetts,

We thank for your comments received and we are happy because you had a pleasant stay with us. I hope you to come back soon to the Sol Costablanca.

Best regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent a week here on room only basis mid-September. Decided to try here after seeing it go through its re-furb - unfortunately it seems only the exterior of the building went through this. Once through the front door the reception area and rooms were somewhat dated.

Check in was slow and not very welcoming. We wanted Wi-Fi in our room and was told it was 35 Euros for the week - expensive, but we wanted it to be in touch with our daughter back home. However, the 35 Euros only covered ONE device - felt really ripped off. Meant we had to keep logging on/off of our phone and tab. At the time of purchase we were not told this.

Rooms were clean, but no finishing touches, ie. tea/coffee or toiletries in the bathroom - all of which I would have expected from a chain of hotels such as this. We were hoping to grab the odd lunch at the hotel - but at 20 Euros per head, gave this a miss!

We didn't get into the towel game around the pool - we are beach folk. Was interesting to watch though - nearly all beds had towels on them when we left the hotel each morning - around 9.30am, but interestingly not a sole on them! On return from the beach late afternoon, same seemed to be happening - lots of towels, half a dozen people on beds.

Location of hotel was great for both the old and new town. Never heard a noise at all from local bars. We

would not return simply because we felt we did not have value for money. Next trip we will return to the Riviera Beach Hotel (and forego the location and take the longer walk into both the new and old town) and which we felt we had much better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Dazbats,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday. We rely on our guests’ feedback to help us to keep improving and will make good use of your comments. I am sorry that you did not enjoyed the Sol Costablanca as much as you had hoped.

We are pleased to know that you like our location.

We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cimbel
Hotel Cimbel
#51 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#32 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agir
Hotel Agir
#78 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costablanca

Property: Sol Costablanca
Address: Avinguda Alcoi S/N, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#31 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#48 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costablanca 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels & Resorts presents Sol Costablanca. Located right on the magnificent Levante beach, in the shopping and entertainment heart of Benidorm (Alicante). It is the best choice to relax, unwinding and enjoy with your partner (only for adults over 16 years old) with the best service in an elegant and quiet atmosphere. The rooms, all with terrace (furnished table/chairs) the majority with sea views, are equipped with LCD 32 TV, AACC cold / hot with individual control, free WiFi throughout the hotel and socket for laptop, telephone, minibar (*), safe (*) and full bathroom, hairdryer, bathroom amenities (shower gel and shampoo). The Hotel offers you unique dining spaces so you can have a real dining experience with local and international cuisine. Live music, and evening shows to enjoy on our wonderful terrace overlooking the sea, on one of the most lively promenades in the city. Free WiFi and private parking for the exclusive use of guests with 49 spaces (*) With charge (*) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sol Costablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costablanca Benidorm
Sol Costablanca Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing