We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...Worst Customer Experience We've Ever Had !!!”
Review of Sol Costablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Costablanca
Ranked #61 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Being a Sol / Melia (MAS) member for some time now we booked this hotel for a 50th birthday celebration trip for 4 people.

We booked it a full 3 months in advance using the hotels own official Melia website, the one with the 'Best Online Rate Guarantee'.

We then found it much cheaper on Lastminute.com and immediately emailed them asking them to price match this, +10%, as in their 'Best Online Rate Guarantee'.

They replied saying the small print on the Lastminute.com website was different, so wouldn't be prepared to match it.

We complained but got nowhere, eventually being ignored. (Thank you, Marta R.Goncalves Fonesca).

Their 'Best Online Rate Guarantee' appears to be just a scam.

We also specifically requested a Sea View with a double bed.

When we eventually checked into the hotel we found our room had been given to someone else by the inefficient front desk team (Patricia) and we were given rooms with twin beds and street views.

This was despite being marked as VIP's on the hotels own system.

We complained but were told there were no more rooms as we were told the hotel was full - odd, as upgrades were on offer at the front desk.

We checked out again and booked into the ever reliable Hotel Presidente around the corner.

The rooms were better, as was the view and definitely the service.

We also had full board for a cheaper price than we would have paid at the Sol Costa [--] for room only.

If the Sol / Melia group treats loyal, regular customers like this and is prepared to lose a 1000 Euro booking because of it's terrible customer service, is it any wonder the country as a whole is in such dire straits...

...Cancel my membership !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank SandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear sandj,

Thank you for your review about the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with the service at the Sol Costablanca. We work hard to ensure that guests are extremely well looked-after and according to guest feedback we usually succeed but I see that we have not met your expentations and I apologise.

I would like to be allowed to clarify somo points in your review just for the information of anyone who has not visited the hotel befote.

Your room booked was a standard room, so if someone want a sea view room they must pay an extra. Although as my colleagues told you, there was no availability for this room type. On other hand, we want tell you that all rooms have twin beds.
I make these observations only to clarify certain areas. It does not detract from the Fac. that you were not happy with the service and for this I sincerely apologise.

Sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 951 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights half board. Had a lateral sea view room-lovely view of prom and beach. Food was quite nice but often cold. My only complaint is that there are only 34 sunloungers for the whole hotel and unless you knab one at 7 am then you wont get one. The position of this hotel is good for the old town

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisdia6941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear chrisdia6941,

I would like to thank you very much for giving us your review and thanks for having chosen Sol Costablanca for enjoy your holidays.

It is a big pleasure for us to read your opinion about the hotel, these help us to improve our Customer Service.

We taken note of your comments, we will study them, your opinion is so important for us.

Looking forward to see you again in Sol Costablanca.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Quality Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just had a short break here and would definitely NOT stay again.Mostly Spanish guests who didn't take their eyes off you and frowned at you if walked past them. Only about 20 beds around the pool which where always reserved with towels on them but no one on them! Ordered drinks by the pool and waited for 20 mins for them although when the Spanish ordered theirs they had them a few
mins later. Room was ok, clean, air conditioning didn't work well, hair dryer is a death trap, (room421) it overheated and burnt your hand , had to put a towel around it to use it.
I had silver melia rewards from having stayed in sol pelicanos the previous year, this entitled me to a later check out of 2pm, I asked at reception about this and Manuel said no , checkout was 12pm for everyone, I asked how much to keep the room on for a few hours and he said 25 euros but had to ask on day of departure if room was available. On morning of departure I asked again and he said 35 euros, I mentioned our previous conversation and he said " we'll it it 35 euos now" . He was extremely rude and arrogant. I would never stay in this hotel again, certainly much better in benidorm, only good point was location

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
4  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Paula K,

Thank you very much for your comments and for sharing your experience during your stay a tour hotel.

We will meet with Reception’s staff to clarify the misunderstanding. We’re very sorry for any inconvenience. Sharing your opinión you will help us to improve our services.

We are sorry that you’ve gone with a bad opinión, for us, our customers are the most important, regardless of nationality.

Thanks again for use TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kina regards,

María José Bergés
-Quality Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just had a short break here and would definitely stay again. Pleasant and helpful staff, food nice and plentiful. One of the best locations being right on the beach. If booking go for sea view as the view is unobstructed. People forget Spain is in a recession too and that has to impact on service and waiting times but the staff here worked hard to ensure we enjoyed our time so thanks to them all. People on here moan about the hotel being full of Spanish guests, It's a hotel in Spain for goodness sake!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Mick R,

Thank you for reviewing the Sol Costablanca. I completely agree with you, the view from our hotel is the best!!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday so much and really look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Quality Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013. It was one of the nicer hotels on the promenade and only meant for adults so that was good since it meant there weren't any screaming kids around. The swimming pool looked very inviting but we didn't get a chance to chill by the pool.

In the morning, we went for a stroll along the promenade and had breakfast in the hotel where we could see people walking on the beach.

Although we did not spend much time here, it was still quite a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KendraBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear KendraBlair,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you had a good experience with us, it’s a shame that only spend a day at the hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed the breaksfast service.

We hope you get to make it back to see us sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Quality Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at the Sol Costa Blanca in Benidorm. Chose this hotel because it was advertised as "Adults Only" It was pure heaven. No screaming kids and no youngsters acting daft in the pool. Lovely hotel, Spotlessly clean and lovely rooms. We had a room at the back,(could have upgraded to front room for 34 euros per night) but preffered back room because it was so very quiet, plus all the rooms and corridors are carpeted so you are not woken at 6 in the morning with people above shoving furniture about. The food at the Costa Blanca was very good, plenty choice and cooked fairly well, plus, with it being only a small hotel you don't get the queues and chaos at mealtimes like larger hotels. The hotel is situated in a prime position right on the beach mid way between the Old and New towns so you have the best of both worlds. I would not recommend this hotel to younger people as it is mainly for more "Mature" people and is nice and quiet. There is entertainment on every night (a couple playing and singing easy listening and dance music) in a lovely bar/lounge. All in all, a very nice and recommendable place for us older folk to have a good holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that your stay at Sol Costablanca was pleasent. Your satisfaction is our goal, so it is exciting read comments like yours.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for living us a 5 star rating. We’ll be waiting for you with open arms.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Quality Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

just got back from a long weekend in benidorm staying in the sol costablanca.Hotel is in an ideal place on the main promanade.we enjoyed our stay there with no major complaints.however i would say hotel exterior and pool area are a good 4 star but interior rooms ,lifts etc are nearer a 3 star.rooms ok but only a couple of english channels on tv and no kettle which we realey missed.Stayed at riviera beach hotel last year which was a lot better.but still position of hotel is unrivalled so you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacker1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cimbel
Hotel Cimbel
#45 of 192 in Benidorm
577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costablanca

Address: Avinguda Alcoi S/N, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#31 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#48 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $122 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costablanca 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Costablanca. Located right on the magnificent Levante beach, in the shopping and entertainment heart of Benidorm (Alicante). It is the best choice to relax, unwinding and enjoy with your partner (only for adults over 16 years old) with the best service in an elegant and quiet atmosphere. The rooms, all with terrace (furnished table/chairs) the majority with sea views, are equipped with LCD 32 TV, AACC cold / hot with individual control, free WiFi throughout the hotel and socket for laptop, telephone, minibar (*), safe (*) and full bathroom, hairdryer, bathroom amenities (shower gel and shampoo). The Hotel offers you unique dining spaces so you can have a real dining experience with local and international cuisine. Live music, and evening shows to enjoy on our wonderful terrace overlooking the sea, on one of the most lively promenades in the city. Free WiFi and private parking for the exclusive use of guests with 49 spaces (*) With charge (*) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Costablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costablanca Benidorm
Sol Costablanca Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing