We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well placed-a jem”
Review of Sol Costablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Costablanca
Ranked #62 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have just returned from a short weekend break here.The hotel is ideally placed on the beach front and is a little jem of tranquility when you need respite from the busy place that is Benidorm.We booked half board but changed to lunch as the food was always the same-rather bland .with the 'hot' food always lukewarm..breakfast was much better.There are a shortage of sun beds and it was a scrum to get one..the hotel needs to address this problem of people-mainly spanish-who consistantly put towels on at 9.00am then didnt actually use them untill lunch time.
we requested a quiet room at the back which we got ,it was ideal,always spotless and quiet..at night.the noise from the rock bar next door was negliable during the day and really would only be a problem if you had a sea facing room or side room...I would certainly recommed this place if you like peace and quiet and instant access to the sea

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quiet but dont have views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turkey1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolC, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi turkey1Cheshire, thank you very much for choosing Sol Costablanca Hotel for your short weekend and for your opinion in this site. We are so glad you have spent a relaxing days with us!. Regarding to our sun beds service, we are studying with the Management of the hotel the better solution to this situation because the prohibition of reserving them put actually at our swimming-pool board, our tv information at reception hall and directories of service in all rooms seems to be not enough, so, we hope to solve it as soon as possible and provide our guests a better service. We hope to see you again in a near future, in this case, please contact me before your arrival in order to welcome you personally and try to give you a quite room (as you prefer). Best regards, Mar Sierra – E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Sol Costablanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 923 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Five of us booked this hotel for a long weekend. From the start we were not impressed. We had asked for a room for 3 people and a room for 2 people. The room we were given for 3 people did not have a third bed in it. When we asked at the reception they said they were going to put a bed in. Where they would have put it I have no idea. Not good enough and eventually we were given a bigger room. Bed was a pull down affair in a fake wardrobe. Having asked at reception for the bed to be made up I ended up doing it myself before I went to bed that night. We found the hotel staff extremely rude and got the impression they did not particularly like the British guests. Hotel food was good but did feel the rooms were dated. All in all not a very good experience.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sorrelmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolC, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi Sorrelmarsh, first of all thank you for your comments and for choosing Sol Costablanca to spend your holidays. We are so sorry because, as you write, your stay with us has not been as expected, being not a good experience. In reference to your case in particular (third bed not put/made in your room), of course we take note of your comments in order to improve our service, because our guests’ (from all countries) requests have to be our principal commitment and situations like yours should not been allowed. In these cases, we recommend you tell us during your stay in order to act solving it at the moment trying to make your stay more satisfactory. Please, if you decide visit us in other occasion, don’t hesitate to contact us before your arrival in order to attend you personally. Best regards, Mar Sierra – E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a brilliant hotel. Spotlessly clean, helpful staff. As we checked in at midnight I asked for two extra pillows and when we got to our room they were already there. Room was beautiful and clean the beds were very comfortable. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea. What more could you ask for. Very chillaxed cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bev666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolC, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Hi bev666, thank you very much for your positive opinion in this site for other travellers!. Comments like yours are the main reason makes us continue working day by day to offer always the best services to our guest!, so I will pass them to all our staff. In reference to the room overlooking the sea/pool, what we say always, our privilege position allows us offer you these magnificent views and this is an honour for us!. Hope to see you again in a near future, in this case, please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival in order to welcome you personally. Best regards, Mar Sierra – E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great location very close to Old Benidorm. The hotel is very clean and modern on the outside - it's a bit like that hotel from The Shining on the inside! The rooms are clean and we had an amazing view of the Med and a lovely large balcony.
The hotel staff left a lot to be desired. They were largely unfriendly, surly and uncommunicative - eye contact, the odd smile and friendly greeting wouldn't have gone amiss. The staff really need to 'lighten up'!
We had wanted to take some wine glasses to our room and were told that we couldn't!
We wanted to have our morning coffee around the pool and were told that we couldn't because if we did then everybody would want to and that it makes more work for the staff. For an adults only hotel we felt that we were treatedl ike children!
There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, which for a (supposedly) 4 star hotel you would certainly expect there to be.
We are an older (40's/50's) Australian couple and although we had a fantastic time in Benidorm we would hesitate to stay at Sol Costa Blanca again and that's a shame because it's in the most fantastic location.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a room at the front of the hotel with a seaview.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is really nice. They did refurbishment of facade and it looks really cool outside. Inside remained unchanged however i think there was need to change anything. Food is great, if you want to have same money and time and spend nice time dining. - take half-board. Do recommend sea view rooms if u can afford it-it is worth it 100%. Rooms are quite sound proof from outside but you can hear neighbours moving curtains:)) generally love it here. Ask for parking in advance. They have it

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTMUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolC, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Hi JTMUA, thanks for your positive comments!, we are so glad you like our new front facade, next year we are completing the refurbishment of all hotel facade and balconies, then Sol Costablanca will have a fantastic new look!. Also, our privileged position on the first line of Levante Beach makes our sea view rooms a very good choice!. Hope to see you again in a near future. Best regards, Mar Sierra – E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Lovely hotel food very good lots of Spanish people,not many Brits,room fantastic with a sea view albeit I payed an extra 100 pounds for it but it was worth every penny.and when I say we were 10 meters from the beech I mean 10 meters ,
it was great to walk back up to the hotel and have a shower then a lovely swim.be going back there again ,peaceful and tranquil

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it will cost €120per week extra but worth every penny
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolC, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Hi Frank O, thanks for your kind opinion, positive comments and for choosing Sol Costablanca Hotel to enjoy your holidays in Benidorm. Being an “Adults Only” hotel and our privilege location, on the first line of the beach, allow us offer our guests the tranquillity you mention, and this is an honour for us!. Hope to see you again in a near future!. Best regards, Mar Sierra – E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Have been visiting this hotel twice a year now for 7 years. Last visit was in May this year, next visit in September this year. In previous years I have stayed in the Cimbel, Don Pancho, Victoria and many more. The Sol Costa Blanca beats them all ! Main reasons for returning so often are simple, the staff are extremely friendly, helpful, attentive, cheerful and extremely professional. Food is very good with a great variety, rooms are all in very good condition with housekeepers maintaining a very high standard of cleanliness. What can I say about location ? It's incredible you are literally 6 steps away from the beach. It caused me concern when one review complained about too many Spanish tourists staying in the hotel. There are a lot of Spanish guests, does this not tell you something ? If you see a lot of Chinese in a Chinese restaurant it has to be a good sign !! I own several bars, restaurants and hotels in Scotland, I only wish I owned The Sol Costa Blanca !! Jeff Stewart

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, however the sea view rooms are awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robyn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolC, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi Mr. Stewart, thank you very much for your positive comments!, we have the honor to count with guests like you, visiting us twice a year for so many years and being so happy with our services, satff and location. Hope to see you again in September, you know this is your home!. Best regards from all the staff of Sol Costablanca Hotel, Mar Sierra – E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cimbel
Hotel Cimbel
#44 of 192 in Benidorm
565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#12 of 192 in Benidorm
1,374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costablanca

Address: Avinguda Alcoi S/N, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#48 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $137 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costablanca 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Costablanca. Located right on the magnificent Levante beach, in the shopping and entertainment heart of Benidorm (Alicante). It is the best choice to relax, unwinding and enjoy with your partner (only for adults over 16 years old) with the best service in an elegant and quiet atmosphere. The rooms, all with terrace (furnished table/chairs) the majority with sea views, are equipped with LCD 32 TV, AACC cold / hot with individual control, free WiFi throughout the hotel and socket for laptop, telephone, minibar (*), safe (*) and full bathroom, hairdryer, bathroom amenities (shower gel and shampoo). The Hotel offers you unique dining spaces so you can have a real dining experience with local and international cuisine. Live music, and evening shows to enjoy on our wonderful terrace overlooking the sea, on one of the most lively promenades in the city. Free WiFi and private parking for the exclusive use of guests with 49 spaces (*) With charge (*) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Costablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costablanca Benidorm
Sol Costablanca Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing