We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rocamar(Benidorm)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sol Costablanca(Benidorm)
$226
$214
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
servigroup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
servigroup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Villaitana(Benidorm)
$173
$141
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Benidorm(Benidorm)
$192
$182
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
$182
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (7,754)
Filter reviews
7,754 results
Traveler rating
3,075
2,642
1,327
437
273
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,075
2,642
1,327
437
273
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barocas poolpool areatv serieshalf boardfamily roomsuperior roommain poolplenty of choiceindoor marketlarge poolgreat poolbed and breakfastevery nightkids clubgreat holidayevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,137 - 6,142 of 7,754 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Having read loads of previous reports i wasnt really expecting a lot from this hotel - was prepared for bad food and loads of things going missing but this couldnt have been further from the truth.
We arrived at the hotel and were checked in the pelicanos within 10mins - the pelicanos is the bigger of the 2 hotels and it looked great inside ,marble everywhere and looked really clean and new.
we were placed on the 9th floor and the lifts were very uptodate ones - the rooms were a good size and also clean , the room was cleaned everyday so couldnt have asked for more . the only problem with the lifts is that when it is very busy you will be waiting a while for one.
We went half board and the food was of good standard breakfast was the usual fried english , also cereals, loads of fruit cold meats they even had a big tub of melted chocolate to dip your donut type things in.
The dinner was a meat lovers dream (thats me) and on offer were all different steaks , loads of different fish, racks of lamb, ribs , barbecue ribs , there was a pasta section with pizzas and chicken drumsticks loads of salad basically there was something for everyone .i loved the food
The pool area in the pelicanos is huge but if you dont get there before 10am ish you will struggle to get a bed - the management will remove left towels (sometimes) the only downside was the prices at the snack bar - they were very expensive 3.50 for a pint 3 for a hotdog you get the picture - we got all our drinks from the off licence 2 doors down - its says you cant bring in your own food but nobody stopped us and loads more were doing it.
cant comment on the night entertainment as we went out every night
its a great place and so is benidorm loved it

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobyNelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the pelicanos in june this year. Upon arrival we were placed in the Ocas part of the hotel, Cheque in was quick and off we went to our room. It was what we expected, nice clean and fresh. Our room faced the Ocas pool and the outdoor stage and we were on the 7th floor (we were asked if this was ok when checking in). The pools were busy and it was difficult to get a sunbed, your not supposed to reserve them but one day there were beds next to us with towels on which were empty until 3.pm??? yet we put our towels down one day at about 9.30, went for breakfast and came back at 10.30 and ours had been moved! (we never found my towel, some theif had pinched it) glad it was only a cheap one!
The pools were lovely especially the lagoon, plenty of space to swim and play although you are not allowed inflatables except rubber rings and arbands in this pool, we got told off for having an inflatable dolphin.
Drinks and food to purchase were expensive at the bar, i would advise to buy your own at the off licence just next door, we witnessed many people putting their own cans / drinks on the table. (at least i hid my bottle of vodka in my bag) lol!
We were half board and found it too much as the food was really nice, plenty of choice and i wouldnt say there was chicken every night, we had sirloin steak, beef meatballs, pork steaks, swordfish, salmon, pigs trotters, steak pie and many more to choose from, there was a selection of salad and vegetables available every night along with childrens favourites chicken nuggets, burgers, ham and chees slices, pizza, pasta etc
There was something for everyone! Been to benidorm 3 times and have stayed in the Marina and Hotel Pueblo and the pelicanos has been the best so far!
The maids were efficient and friendly, cleaned our room whenever we put the sign out (and when we didn't put the sign out) (which was quite annoying). We had our sheets changed twice in the 10 days we were there, we just crumpled them up on the bed when we wanted fresh ones and and they were changed.
As for the entertainment, we again thought this was brilliant, kids club every day (we didnt use it) which took place on the outdoor stage so you could still keep an eye on the kids. Evening entertainment was well advertised and was fun!, mini disco, live music every night, bingo, the bird show and various others such as high school musical, disney fantasia show, and amazing fantasy magic show, indian dancing and grease (just to name a few) We did find it a little noisy facing the out door stage but it didn't affect our sleeping, the walls were thin though!.
I would recommend the pelicanos and will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakergirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hi all - admittedly it is hard to do this, especially if you're a frequent traveler and put a lot of trust in previous experiences. I was very apprehensive about staying in this hotel with my girlfriend due to the 'high' theft rate and poor staffing.

I can honestly say I was happily surprised to encounter none of the above issues!

We are put into the OCAS part of the hotel which was clean and well staffed. The breakfast and breakfast room were both up to the standard I would expect in this type of hotel in Benidorm (lets not forget your not going to a luxury Dubai hotel). We opted to use the pool in the Pelicanos part which was nice - the only downside was the expensive snack bar (3.5 Euro a pint).

Overall I would say this hotel can be what you want to make of it. If you're expecting 5 star you'll be disappointed, if you're expecting a laugh round the pool and a small bit of cheese then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Upon arriving at the hotel we found the reception area and check in fantastic. Was expecting the same for the rooms but we were disappointed. At first we were satisfied - seemed clean. However not once during our ten night stay were the floors cleaned in our room. A couple of days we had to request that the maid give us towels as she hadn't left them. But on a good point the sink and bath were cleaned everyday and there was a good stock of toilet rolls.The food was ok if you were a short stayer but I found as little as after the fourth day of eating the same it got a bit much. Chicken every night. Was a bit disapppointed that they didn't supply water for free with the your evening meal, you had to pay. The communal toilet areas were always clean, and the massive pool looked brilliant, but due to the towel wars that were going on we never got to see much of it. The stickler for me was the noise levels, the walls are paper thin, you can hear everything that goes on in your neighbouring rooms. You won't get an early night if you happen to have a room viewing the two smaller pools, the nightly entertainment is here and even if you close your balconey door and curtains you still hear everything that is going on. Earplugs are needed if you want some sleep. We didn't experience any kind of theft despite leaving our door open one night. I can honestly say that the kids I saw looked like they had a fun time, but this hotel is not for me and I wouldn't go back. Was sick of having no sleep and black feet even after showering. PS Mum was upset that there was no tea/coffee tray in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just got back off holiday on tues 29th june having stayed at sol pelicanos ocas and we have to say it was a brilliant holiday. Me and my partner went (20 and 19).
Upon arrival the thomas cook rep went into the hotel and asked the reception what hotel pelicanos or ocas all members of the coach we would be stopping in and were all told pelicanos which made us very happy. It took us 40 mins to check in but we were last in queue and there was alot of families in front. So after the polite man on reception checked us in we went up to our rooms.
ROOM
They were spacious and adaqate for our stay, for good sake it was a hotel room not our room at home so we didnt go in with high expectations. We had twin beds but that didnt bother us. The balaconly over looked the pool we were on fourth floor we actually got asked what floor we preferred which was very nice. The lifts are very modern and open from both sides the entrance is very clean and looks more than a 3 star. Although walking to your room does resemble walking down a hospital corridor but you get used to that. Air con weasnt brilliant but stayed on all night and we didnt have 1 problem with our rooms maybe the expection of the cleaners not changing our sheets but oh well not gunna twine over something silly.
FOOD
We stayed half board but next time we would stay bed and breakfast, dinne was crap, pink chicken every night and there wasnt alot of choice so we ate out of the kids section or went else were. breakfast was good the usual bacon egg saus fried bread beans everything for a full english, bread cereals fruit but what we did find strange was chips for breakfast lol
We found a jeordie bar that sold the best breakfast over there across the road from kfc. Kebab shop across the road as you walk to the beach quoting best kebab in town was true it was really really good. But there was one problem a pizza shop called marianos gave my bf mild food poisioning and he spent the whole night vominting due to a disguisting pizza and garlic dip. Wen we looked back at the shop it was disguisting as chicken was gettin cooked on those chicken things ya find in supermarket but the raw chicken was gettin put on the top and the juices fallin on thecooked chicken DISGUISTING i wouldnt go there!!!!!!
POOL
The pool area was amazing although the shortage of sun beds, we could see people queing up at 8am to put towels out a lil rant in the room and that was that we fort how sad these people were and most of them got there towels took off any were. staff at pool bar very friendly drinks were very strong and food was good, pool was clean but very busy.
ENTERTAINMENT
was ok it was in the ocas side of hotel the normal kids songs bingo and a show however someone had said (simon999) that they did not speak english well yes they do they talk in french german english spanish and what other language is needed for all guests. Shows were good they had professional dancers alot people twined that they did not sing but it did state a SHOW BY PROFESSIONAL DANCERS they were entertaining!!

Overall the holiday was brilliant night life rowdy and pubs great sticky vicky is a must shes every were on a sat night dont miss her
i would deffo go back it was a grewat place to go for a couple who wanted to relax and not worry about a fing

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews