We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Woould def return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Having read loads of previous reports i wasnt really expecting a lot from this hotel - was prepared for bad food and loads of things going missing but this couldnt have been further from the truth.
We arrived at the hotel and were checked in the pelicanos within 10mins - the pelicanos is the bigger of the 2 hotels and it looked great inside ,marble everywhere and looked really clean and new.
we were placed on the 9th floor and the lifts were very uptodate ones - the rooms were a good size and also clean , the room was cleaned everyday so couldnt have asked for more . the only problem with the lifts is that when it is very busy you will be waiting a while for one.
We went half board and the food was of good standard breakfast was the usual fried english , also cereals, loads of fruit cold meats they even had a big tub of melted chocolate to dip your donut type things in.
The dinner was a meat lovers dream (thats me) and on offer were all different steaks , loads of different fish, racks of lamb, ribs , barbecue ribs , there was a pasta section with pizzas and chicken drumsticks loads of salad basically there was something for everyone .i loved the food
The pool area in the pelicanos is huge but if you dont get there before 10am ish you will struggle to get a bed - the management will remove left towels (sometimes) the only downside was the prices at the snack bar - they were very expensive 3.50 for a pint 3 for a hotdog you get the picture - we got all our drinks from the off licence 2 doors down - its says you cant bring in your own food but nobody stopped us and loads more were doing it.
cant comment on the night entertainment as we went out every night
its a great place and so is benidorm loved it

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobyNelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,774 - 5,780 of 7,340 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed at the pelicanos in june this year. Upon arrival we were placed in the Ocas part of the hotel, Cheque in was quick and off we went to our room. It was what we expected, nice clean and fresh. Our room faced the Ocas pool and the outdoor stage and we were on the 7th floor (we were asked if this was ok when checking in). The pools were busy and it was difficult to get a sunbed, your not supposed to reserve them but one day there were beds next to us with towels on which were empty until 3.pm??? yet we put our towels down one day at about 9.30, went for breakfast and came back at 10.30 and ours had been moved! (we never found my towel, some theif had pinched it) glad it was only a cheap one!
The pools were lovely especially the lagoon, plenty of space to swim and play although you are not allowed inflatables except rubber rings and arbands in this pool, we got told off for having an inflatable dolphin.
Drinks and food to purchase were expensive at the bar, i would advise to buy your own at the off licence just next door, we witnessed many people putting their own cans / drinks on the table. (at least i hid my bottle of vodka in my bag) lol!
We were half board and found it too much as the food was really nice, plenty of choice and i wouldnt say there was chicken every night, we had sirloin steak, beef meatballs, pork steaks, swordfish, salmon, pigs trotters, steak pie and many more to choose from, there was a selection of salad and vegetables available every night along with childrens favourites chicken nuggets, burgers, ham and chees slices, pizza, pasta etc
There was something for everyone! Been to benidorm 3 times and have stayed in the Marina and Hotel Pueblo and the pelicanos has been the best so far!
The maids were efficient and friendly, cleaned our room whenever we put the sign out (and when we didn't put the sign out) (which was quite annoying). We had our sheets changed twice in the 10 days we were there, we just crumpled them up on the bed when we wanted fresh ones and and they were changed.
As for the entertainment, we again thought this was brilliant, kids club every day (we didnt use it) which took place on the outdoor stage so you could still keep an eye on the kids. Evening entertainment was well advertised and was fun!, mini disco, live music every night, bingo, the bird show and various others such as high school musical, disney fantasia show, and amazing fantasy magic show, indian dancing and grease (just to name a few) We did find it a little noisy facing the out door stage but it didn't affect our sleeping, the walls were thin though!.
I would recommend the pelicanos and will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakergirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Hi all - admittedly it is hard to do this, especially if you're a frequent traveler and put a lot of trust in previous experiences. I was very apprehensive about staying in this hotel with my girlfriend due to the 'high' theft rate and poor staffing.

I can honestly say I was happily surprised to encounter none of the above issues!

We are put into the OCAS part of the hotel which was clean and well staffed. The breakfast and breakfast room were both up to the standard I would expect in this type of hotel in Benidorm (lets not forget your not going to a luxury Dubai hotel). We opted to use the pool in the Pelicanos part which was nice - the only downside was the expensive snack bar (3.5 Euro a pint).

Overall I would say this hotel can be what you want to make of it. If you're expecting 5 star you'll be disappointed, if you're expecting a laugh round the pool and a small bit of cheese then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Upon arriving at the hotel we found the reception area and check in fantastic. Was expecting the same for the rooms but we were disappointed. At first we were satisfied - seemed clean. However not once during our ten night stay were the floors cleaned in our room. A couple of days we had to request that the maid give us towels as she hadn't left them. But on a good point the sink and bath were cleaned everyday and there was a good stock of toilet rolls.The food was ok if you were a short stayer but I found as little as after the fourth day of eating the same it got a bit much. Chicken every night. Was a bit disapppointed that they didn't supply water for free with the your evening meal, you had to pay. The communal toilet areas were always clean, and the massive pool looked brilliant, but due to the towel wars that were going on we never got to see much of it. The stickler for me was the noise levels, the walls are paper thin, you can hear everything that goes on in your neighbouring rooms. You won't get an early night if you happen to have a room viewing the two smaller pools, the nightly entertainment is here and even if you close your balconey door and curtains you still hear everything that is going on. Earplugs are needed if you want some sleep. We didn't experience any kind of theft despite leaving our door open one night. I can honestly say that the kids I saw looked like they had a fun time, but this hotel is not for me and I wouldn't go back. Was sick of having no sleep and black feet even after showering. PS Mum was upset that there was no tea/coffee tray in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just got back off holiday on tues 29th june having stayed at sol pelicanos ocas and we have to say it was a brilliant holiday. Me and my partner went (20 and 19).
Upon arrival the thomas cook rep went into the hotel and asked the reception what hotel pelicanos or ocas all members of the coach we would be stopping in and were all told pelicanos which made us very happy. It took us 40 mins to check in but we were last in queue and there was alot of families in front. So after the polite man on reception checked us in we went up to our rooms.
ROOM
They were spacious and adaqate for our stay, for good sake it was a hotel room not our room at home so we didnt go in with high expectations. We had twin beds but that didnt bother us. The balaconly over looked the pool we were on fourth floor we actually got asked what floor we preferred which was very nice. The lifts are very modern and open from both sides the entrance is very clean and looks more than a 3 star. Although walking to your room does resemble walking down a hospital corridor but you get used to that. Air con weasnt brilliant but stayed on all night and we didnt have 1 problem with our rooms maybe the expection of the cleaners not changing our sheets but oh well not gunna twine over something silly.
FOOD
We stayed half board but next time we would stay bed and breakfast, dinne was crap, pink chicken every night and there wasnt alot of choice so we ate out of the kids section or went else were. breakfast was good the usual bacon egg saus fried bread beans everything for a full english, bread cereals fruit but what we did find strange was chips for breakfast lol
We found a jeordie bar that sold the best breakfast over there across the road from kfc. Kebab shop across the road as you walk to the beach quoting best kebab in town was true it was really really good. But there was one problem a pizza shop called marianos gave my bf mild food poisioning and he spent the whole night vominting due to a disguisting pizza and garlic dip. Wen we looked back at the shop it was disguisting as chicken was gettin cooked on those chicken things ya find in supermarket but the raw chicken was gettin put on the top and the juices fallin on thecooked chicken DISGUISTING i wouldnt go there!!!!!!
POOL
The pool area was amazing although the shortage of sun beds, we could see people queing up at 8am to put towels out a lil rant in the room and that was that we fort how sad these people were and most of them got there towels took off any were. staff at pool bar very friendly drinks were very strong and food was good, pool was clean but very busy.
ENTERTAINMENT
was ok it was in the ocas side of hotel the normal kids songs bingo and a show however someone had said (simon999) that they did not speak english well yes they do they talk in french german english spanish and what other language is needed for all guests. Shows were good they had professional dancers alot people twined that they did not sing but it did state a SHOW BY PROFESSIONAL DANCERS they were entertaining!!

Overall the holiday was brilliant night life rowdy and pubs great sticky vicky is a must shes every were on a sat night dont miss her
i would deffo go back it was a grewat place to go for a couple who wanted to relax and not worry about a fing

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

booked into pelicanos but was put in ocas .only problem we had a night of no nstop noise.complaines at reception next day and were told our noisy neighbours were checking out that day.two days later they were still there. why hotel would allow these people to stay there we could not understand. spoke to people staying in room on the other side of these people and they had also complained. security also came up but they stayed quiet only until he had gone.apart from this hotel really nice

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

staff..arrogant
rooms....walls paper thin
entertainment.... all in spainish
food...poor
the only thing good about this hotel was the look of it!!!!
locals were allowed to come n use the pools n sunbeds, even after a number of people had complained about it, nothing was done nor said!! awlful holiday due to hotel n hotel staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benidornlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#24 of 192 in Benidorm
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#23 of 192 in Benidorm
1,011 reviews
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#33 of 192 in Benidorm
932 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia

Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $54 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing