We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst holiday of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #35 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst holiday of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

They refused to take responsibility for my luggage going missing off bus transfer. Left me nothing. I booked direct with melia as am reward customer. They don't realize that I was due to meet tourism minister near cordoba. I want my compensation on their liability insurance. I used my own phone for help racking up data charges. They refused me free wifi to help and no use of phone. Food and fruit mouldy at breakfast. Bar staff rude and if you are on statins don't drink cocktail cause it might have grapefruit. I took pictures will post. Oh forgot suffered asthma attack no help there either. Thank god for e111. But they no speak english and want me to pay interpretation. NHS RULES lets make sure it stays for BRITS ONLY. CAUSE SPAIN ONLY WANTS OUR MONEY.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Rina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Rina E, as we were talking during your stay with us, we deeply regret the situation you had with your luggage in your transfer to our hotel. As you know, me personally and all the staff at the hotel have made everything we could to help you during your stay here. Unfortunately another traveler in same bus took your luggage by mistake. As we are considering your special case by other channels, we are not going to go into more details…We also have taken note of your comments regarding to our food and bar staff in order to improve our services, as I can assure you that the satisfaction of our guests is always our main commitment. We really hope you continue trusting in us and in our Group Meliá Hotels International with the assurance that we all will do our best to make your next visit as pleasant as possible. Until then I send you our best regards. Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,533
    2,238
    1,136
    381
    239
See reviews for
2,497
2,016
136
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,751)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was my first time back in Benidorm for 17 years and was also my first visit to this hotel., I was surprised at the difference in Benidorm since my last visit. The hotel was excellent, the staff, food and cleanliness was first class, entertainment during the day and evening was good, and was impressed with the pools, and entertainment area for children. There are plently of sun-loungers around the pools, also areas for sitting, but as I was there in March, I would hate to think what it will be like in the height of the summer, if the hotel is full, as there are many rooms. The hotel is located in a good area, near the beach, shops, and bus stops if you wish to go somewhere else for a change. The trip on the train which takes you round the old and new town is worthwhile (cost 7 euros) and is very interesting to hear how Benidorm has gown over the years. Yes, I would go back again, but only in the quiet season.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Marion D, first of all, thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review here on Tripadvisor, and share your personal opinion with all the users. We need our guests’ feedback for keep on improving our service every single day, and nowadays this website is so useful for us. After reading your positive lines, we can say you have gone home satisfied with most of our services and that is great!!. We hope you visit us again soon, but do not wait another 17 years to come back to Benidorm. We’ll be here waiting with our best smile and of course we will do our best to make you live here an unforgettable experience at Sol Pelicanos Ocas!. Until then we send you our best wishes, Mar Sierra, E-Guests Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

very good location and friendly staff and the breakfast was superb. the amenities were outstanding and the pool area was the best I have ever stayed in. all the bars and restaurants are around you and no hills to climb

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi Raymond Collin W, thanks for so kind review, we are delighted when we read that our guests arrive home so satisfied with our services and happy with their experience at Sol Pelicanos Ocas. As we can read from your lines we have exceeded your expectations about our location, staff, breakfast, bars and pool, and this is the best reward we can receive!. Many thanks once again for your attention, we all sincerely hope to see you in a near future!. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guests Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

There was 10 of us having 4 rooms between us and we booked through british airways holidays. We wanted to have rooms on the same floor so two weeks before I called hotel directly giving one of the staff all of the information and I was told that this would be sorted out for us. When we arrived at the hotel we had quite a long wait to get to the check in desk. When we finally got to the desk we were greeted by a gentleman who didn't seem to have much of a clue. He checked one room in, gave them their room card and they went off to their room. The next room was then given and was six floors higher than the room of our friends. When I queried this and gave the name of who I had spoken to he said that this assistant should not have told me we could have rooms on the same floor. He then got very stroppy and said he would try and sort it for us. He spoke to several people and eventually told me that we would be on the 8th and 9th floor. When I reiterated to him that I spoke to someone who promised me rooms on the same floor he did manage to get us rooms altogether on the 9th floor. When I then called the group that had already gone to their room and told them to come back so we could have rooms altogether they had almost unpacked and decided to stay where they was. Two of the group were given their card and went off to their room whilst we stayed checking in. Halfway through the next check in the two group members who had just gone to their room came back to reception as they had gone into their room they discovered it was occupied by other people. The gentleman on the check in desk was then faced with the issue of finding us 3 rooms on the same floor.... Again! He did and we all then had to start the check in process again! When I looked at my watch he said to me "I am trying to sort this out for you stop huffing and puffing and looking at your watch". Eventually we got checked in however we spent an hour and twenty minutes checking in! This had taken longer than the coach trip to benidorm from Alicante airport! The staff in General seemed very grumpy the only exception being the cleaning staff who always said good morning to us. The food was good and there was lots of choice. Beds were very uncomfortable. Great location but pretty rubbish hotel in general.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly170382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Kelly170382, firs of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Sol Pelicanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm and also for sharing here your personal opinion about us. Nowadays this website is very important for us because it allows us to know our guests thoughts when they arrive home, been able this way to detect the areas where we have to focus our efforts, and after reading your lines our reception service needs to be improved. In this sense, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that guests’ requests about adjoining rooms, floors, etc. are never guarantee in advance because they depends on hotel availability on arrival day. Of course, we regret to know that we have not managed to achieve your expectations, you can be sure that we have already taken the appropriate measures to improve this service because I can assure you that the satisfaction of all our guests is always our main commitment. At the same time we are glad to read that you value favorably our food as well as our location. Please, if you decide to visit us again do not hesitate to contact me before your arrival in order to make charge personally of your booking in advance. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've been to this hotel three times already and going back again in a few weeks. Looking forward to this next holiday too. Reception staff are very helpful. Rooms are excellent condition and menu never lets us down. Perfect location too. Close to everything but not in a noisy location which can sometimes happen with popular hotels in central location. Walking distance to all sorts of entertainment.

Room Tip: Pool view is best location for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Barbara K, three visits to our hotel and coming back!!. We are delighted with your trust in Sol Pelicanos Ocas as it means that we have achieved your satisfaction and that we manage to make you feel like home. Thank you very much for your kind lines about us in general and especially about our reception staff, rooms, food and location. As we can read from your lines you are returning soon, so please do not hesitate to contact me on your next arrival as I would like to welcome you personally!!. In the name of all the team at the hotel we thank you once again your positive words and send you our best wishes… See you soon!, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great value for money cant fault the food choices and the cleaners came every day, if I was to criticize anything, it would be the beds were a bit hard, but after a few drinks we slept well anyways. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank achoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi achoosey, many thanks for sharing your personal experience among us here on tripadvisor. We feel really glad to know you have had a great time at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, mainly after reading you were so satisfied above all with our food and cleanliness. We are finishing to update our Ocas building and then we want to start with Pelicanos one, so that if everything goes as expected your comment about improving beds will be solved soon!. We look forward to seeing you again soon, until then we send you our best regards. Mar Sierra, E-Guests Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

sol pelicanos has a very bad smell think its coming from drains outside.the rooms very basic and the noise from stag and hens was atrocious The barman was extremely rude and ignorant name Holli ignored you and you could stand at bar until he decided to serve you he never smiled or spoke to you The only person who went the extra mile was the jet2 rep ryan who was lovely and nothing was a problem to him great guy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Jessie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello Ann Jessie J, we regret to read we have not been able to achieve your expectations about us. We would like to thank you also for sharing your personal opinion here with other tripadvisor users, as nowadays this website is very important not only for them but also for us as we detect the areas where we have to focus our efforts and improve them. In your case, we have already taken note of your comments, especially regarding to our bar staff, as I can guarantee you that the satisfaction of all our guests is always our main commitment and of course, we all give every day the best of ourselves, trying always to make our guests live here unforgettable experiences. Unfortunately in your case it seems we did not manage, so we hope you give us a second chance. Anyway, we send you our best regards. Mar. Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#44 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
0.3 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#15 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Property: Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing