We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Benidorm Nightlife”
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Location for Benidorm Nightlife”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Trip was for a girls long weekend ( 5 nts over the recent Bank Hol ) and booked through Low Cost Holidays who had the best price.
Emailed the hotel in advance to see if there was any chance of being in the sister hotel ( Ocas ) as it had only just re opened following a recent refurb.At check in we were told we had been allocated the Ocas and adjacent rooms for our party of 4.

Rooms were lovely - brand new with plenty of cupboard space, great walk in shower and decent tv. Didn't realise that only rooms on one side of the hotel had balconies. Fortunately we got these and were facing the pool.Fridge in the room also - which we found very useful. Safe in the room 2.50 Euros per day with a 5 Euro deposit for the key.

Location of the hotel is very central. Almost opposite Neptunes Bar ( from the Benidorm TV series ) 5 mins walk to the beach and 15 mins to the old town. Surrounded by bars, shops and restaurants.

Pool was quite small but guests can use the larger pool areas of the Pelicanos.Plenty of sunbeds even though people did start reserving them at 7.30am!!! Public areas spotless and found the staff pleasant and helpful. Restaurant was typical buffet style with plenty of choices for both breakfast and evening meals ( hot and cold options ). We booked on a half board basis but you could upgrade to all inclusive if you wanted to.

Had a great short break in Benidorm but would not choose to travel over the Bank Holiday again due to the sheer volume of stag and hen parties. The majority of the ones we encountered were loud ( often at 4.00am ) using bad language and often naked in the hotel corridors. Don't get me wrong all for having a good time myself - but just found some of this behaviour totally inappropriate especially as there were young families in the hotel. The Ocas is a lovely new property let's just hope these large groups don't spoil it !!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,655
    2,308
    1,182
    397
    246
See reviews for
2,587
2,109
146
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I returned home yesterday having stayed at the sol ocas for 6 nights with a party of 22 on a stag do. I know what your thinking straight away stag dos oh my god they would ruin my holiday well ours wasn't like that yes don't get me wrong we made some noise and we had a laugh and drank a lot but also show respect to the other residents no swearing near the kids area kept it down around the elderly. Anyway that isn't what I wanted to comment about , as soon as we arrived at alicante airport one of the party lost their hand luggage aboviously this started to cause some problems after about 40 mins it got handed in and we got it back , next problem the tranfers we got to our coach not all people could be seated on the same coach which wasn't too bad as we were told the next would be setting off in a couple of minutes so five people were left behind. About ten minutes after our coach had set off we received a phone call saying that our lads had to get a taxi because the next coach wasn't going to be setting off for 3 hours . As the taxi arrived about 10 mins after the coach and at the cost of 140 euros 2 lots of 70 fares. Again to our shock one of them had left his hand luggage in the back seat , without taking a receipt for the taxi we though he was stuffed to be honest as it had his passport in , whilst the other lads were checking in I sought out a manager , I met with a lady named Maria who was very helpful , polite , and professional she took the details times names and details of the luggage that had been left the asked me to come back in about half an hour while she did what she could. After checking in and taking my stuff to my room I called back down we went to her desk because it was quieter and she got in touch with the taxi company and arranged for it to be sent straight back in a taxi obviously with the taxi charge again but that wast an issue. It was due to Maria doing her job in a seemingly flawless manner that resulted in the prompt return of our hand luggage if this had not been sorted in this way it would have defiantly ruined the stag do, we went on to have a great stay in the sol ocas couldn't find a fault with it at all the food was great , the cleanliness was spot on and the staff that we spoke to were professional and courteous. I just wanted to take this time to convey our entire parties gratitude for Maria's help .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed in a long time . Staff are really friendly and helpful and have lots of stuff for kids to do all day . Pool really good . The staff did a version of grease really enjoyed it and I can't wait to go back . Food was really good . Only complaint is that we were missing a bed but got one up in five minutes . If I got to pick it would be a five star hotel . If any management from sol pelicanos read this please thank the entertainment staff for the Taylor family for me and that we can't wait to go back next year . Thank you .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronT737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello Cameron T737, first of all we would like to thank you for your positive comments written here, as you know nowadays this website is one of the most useful tools we have to know our guest thoughts and at the same time for other travellers who wants to know more details about our facilities, food, staff, etc. We are so glad to hear that you really appreciate the effort that all the staff, in this case specially our entertainment team, do in making your stay an unforgettable experience, so we will pass on your appreciations to them. As we can read from your lines, you can’t wait to return next year!, so please don’t hesitate to contact me on you next arrival in order to welcome you personally and try to make you next visit as pleasant as possible. Kind regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

went to this hotel in march2013 this hotel is a true 3 star well worth the money we paid if i went back we would stay aI found the drinks rather expensive as all hotel bars are food was good staff helpful and friendly very clean in all areas of the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabetbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to benidorm on a stag due. On arrival we was waiting in the lobby for nearly 2 hrs. There was a man behind the reception who took forever and was clearly in no rush. Staff in hotel was really chilled out and paced there selfs. Other than that food was really good and rooms was big and very clean. Swimming pool is next door (the main pool) also when we was there they was filming benidorm at pool side. Hotel was quite loud at night due to mostly stag and hen party's. not a place to go as a family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco110490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we arrived on the 28th of april as a group of eight girls,one of our requests was for all three rooms to be next door to eachother and unfortunley we could only get two together and one on the same floor but a bit furthur down the hall! check in was very busy and hectic and the reciptionist wasnt very good at speaking in english which became a big problem when we had a complain to make!

ROOMS
after getting our keys to our rooms we walked in to find that our room had not been cleaned,there was dirty towels,bedding and left over toiliteries food and drink all over the room, the same day because we arrived late we all had a sleep before heading out unfortunly to our suprise we woke up to a man letting himself into our room with his own key,a spanish man asking to use our shower the receptionist couldnt understand our complaint after that the cleaners were in everday with fresh towels and made our beds they were very polite but didnt speak much english!

BAR AND FOOD
as paying for all inclusive it saved us a fortune as the bar and food were very exspensive,the food was quite satasfying and had a lot to offer the only problem was the staff/waiters took your plate from under your nose before you decided whether you were finished for yourself they were very egar.the bar staff were lovely although one or two were rather slimey giving the younger girls a wink the entertainment on a night wasnt for everyone rather slow songs if you want something more upbeat id say goto the square!

POOL.AREA
the pool area was beautiful although it was very hard to get a decent sunbathing spot as everybody gets up at the crack of dawn to reserve beds,the pelicanos and the ocas was both busy and even though you get the odd hen and stag partys they nothing you cant cope with a little bit rowdy but they still respect the children and families.the pool was freezing and you would have to be dared to enter so we didnt spend much time in their

FILMING
it was fun to watch the benidorm cast theys quite a few places you can stand to watch and get a good view,good to see madge on her scooter roaming about

BENIDORM
if you want a good night out id definatly visit the square to all the main clubs,allso sticky vicky is a main attraction if its your first time in benidorm youve got to see it to believe it! levis showboat is a nice meal 3 course meal is wonderful and the show afterwards is definatly worth a visit and vist a yorkshire pride for a good old english meal

overal sol pelicanos was worth the money,would definatly stay again with the girls or the family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. After reading reviews we requested the Ocas rather than Pelicanos. We were given a room without a balcony but reception changed it no problem at all. The whole place was spotless and the rooms were lovely and included a fridge which was a bonus.
The food was brilliant, always a great selection and chefs cooking your meat etc just as you like it.
The pool - well what can I say - absolutly amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#47 of 192 in Benidorm
3,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Property: Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing