We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I returned home yesterday having stayed at the sol ocas for 6 nights with a party of 22 on a stag do. I know what your thinking straight away stag dos oh my god they would ruin my holiday well ours wasn't like that yes don't get me wrong we made some noise and we had a laugh and drank a lot but also show respect to the other residents no swearing near the kids area kept it down around the elderly. Anyway that isn't what I wanted to comment about , as soon as we arrived at alicante airport one of the party lost their hand luggage aboviously this started to cause some problems after about 40 mins it got handed in and we got it back , next problem the tranfers we got to our coach not all people could be seated on the same coach which wasn't too bad as we were told the next would be setting off in a couple of minutes so five people were left behind. About ten minutes after our coach had set off we received a phone call saying that our lads had to get a taxi because the next coach wasn't going to be setting off for 3 hours . As the taxi arrived about 10 mins after the coach and at the cost of 140 euros 2 lots of 70 fares. Again to our shock one of them had left his hand luggage in the back seat , without taking a receipt for the taxi we though he was stuffed to be honest as it had his passport in , whilst the other lads were checking in I sought out a manager , I met with a lady named Maria who was very helpful , polite , and professional she took the details times names and details of the luggage that had been left the asked me to come back in about half an hour while she did what she could. After checking in and taking my stuff to my room I called back down we went to her desk because it was quieter and she got in touch with the taxi company and arranged for it to be sent straight back in a taxi obviously with the taxi charge again but that wast an issue. It was due to Maria doing her job in a seemingly flawless manner that resulted in the prompt return of our hand luggage if this had not been sorted in this way it would have defiantly ruined the stag do, we went on to have a great stay in the sol ocas couldn't find a fault with it at all the food was great , the cleanliness was spot on and the staff that we spoke to were professional and courteous. I just wanted to take this time to convey our entire parties gratitude for Maria's help .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,718
    2,356
    1,198
    402
    248
See reviews for
2,655
2,149
151
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,849)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed in a long time . Staff are really friendly and helpful and have lots of stuff for kids to do all day . Pool really good . The staff did a version of grease really enjoyed it and I can't wait to go back . Food was really good . Only complaint is that we were missing a bed but got one up in five minutes . If I got to pick it would be a five star hotel . If any management from sol pelicanos read this please thank the entertainment staff for the Taylor family for me and that we can't wait to go back next year . Thank you .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CameronT737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello Cameron T737, first of all we would like to thank you for your positive comments written here, as you know nowadays this website is one of the most useful tools we have to know our guest thoughts and at the same time for other travellers who wants to know more details about our facilities, food, staff, etc. We are so glad to hear that you really appreciate the effort that all the staff, in this case specially our entertainment team, do in making your stay an unforgettable experience, so we will pass on your appreciations to them. As we can read from your lines, you can’t wait to return next year!, so please don’t hesitate to contact me on you next arrival in order to welcome you personally and try to make you next visit as pleasant as possible. Kind regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

went to this hotel in march2013 this hotel is a true 3 star well worth the money we paid if i went back we would stay aI found the drinks rather expensive as all hotel bars are food was good staff helpful and friendly very clean in all areas of the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabetbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went to benidorm on a stag due. On arrival we was waiting in the lobby for nearly 2 hrs. There was a man behind the reception who took forever and was clearly in no rush. Staff in hotel was really chilled out and paced there selfs. Other than that food was really good and rooms was big and very clean. Swimming pool is next door (the main pool) also when we was there they was filming benidorm at pool side. Hotel was quite loud at night due to mostly stag and hen party's. not a place to go as a family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco110490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

we arrived on the 28th of april as a group of eight girls,one of our requests was for all three rooms to be next door to eachother and unfortunley we could only get two together and one on the same floor but a bit furthur down the hall! check in was very busy and hectic and the reciptionist wasnt very good at speaking in english which became a big problem when we had a complain to make!

ROOMS
after getting our keys to our rooms we walked in to find that our room had not been cleaned,there was dirty towels,bedding and left over toiliteries food and drink all over the room, the same day because we arrived late we all had a sleep before heading out unfortunly to our suprise we woke up to a man letting himself into our room with his own key,a spanish man asking to use our shower the receptionist couldnt understand our complaint after that the cleaners were in everday with fresh towels and made our beds they were very polite but didnt speak much english!

BAR AND FOOD
as paying for all inclusive it saved us a fortune as the bar and food were very exspensive,the food was quite satasfying and had a lot to offer the only problem was the staff/waiters took your plate from under your nose before you decided whether you were finished for yourself they were very egar.the bar staff were lovely although one or two were rather slimey giving the younger girls a wink the entertainment on a night wasnt for everyone rather slow songs if you want something more upbeat id say goto the square!

POOL.AREA
the pool area was beautiful although it was very hard to get a decent sunbathing spot as everybody gets up at the crack of dawn to reserve beds,the pelicanos and the ocas was both busy and even though you get the odd hen and stag partys they nothing you cant cope with a little bit rowdy but they still respect the children and families.the pool was freezing and you would have to be dared to enter so we didnt spend much time in their

FILMING
it was fun to watch the benidorm cast theys quite a few places you can stand to watch and get a good view,good to see madge on her scooter roaming about

BENIDORM
if you want a good night out id definatly visit the square to all the main clubs,allso sticky vicky is a main attraction if its your first time in benidorm youve got to see it to believe it! levis showboat is a nice meal 3 course meal is wonderful and the show afterwards is definatly worth a visit and vist a yorkshire pride for a good old english meal

overal sol pelicanos was worth the money,would definatly stay again with the girls or the family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. After reading reviews we requested the Ocas rather than Pelicanos. We were given a room without a balcony but reception changed it no problem at all. The whole place was spotless and the rooms were lovely and included a fridge which was a bonus.
The food was brilliant, always a great selection and chefs cooking your meat etc just as you like it.
The pool - well what can I say - absolutly amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank french8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked to stay in tha Orcas and paid extra for one of their superior rooms after staying there last September and having a lovely pleasant stay. We were at his hotel from 26h April till 2nd May and after 5 days of shouting roundness and constant drunks wished I had stayed at home this hotel is now the pits filling its rooms full of stag and hen parties.

On checking in we arrived to rooms not being ready and cleaned this was at 14.40 in the afternoon we got told to return in an hour and they could check us in we have been up since 4.00am in the morning. So to be accommodating we returned over an hour later to be told that the rooms were still not ready. In the queue in front of us was a large hen party that had arrived that had booked the Pelicanous and got transfered over to the Orcas, they got checked in and their rooms no problem (clearly they had priority) there was also an elderly chap and is wife who also to told their room wasnt ready and they were sat there waiting I felt so sorry for them. Eventually we got a room on the 11th floor after nearly 3 hours of trying to check in and asking to speak with the management (isnt it amazing how the receptionist could undertstand what i was saying when i asked to speak with a manager and we got a room) Stag and hen do's were allocated lower floors due to the problems of them getting really drunk and the risk of them having balconys and were clearly getting priority.

On our second day there we witnessed a male lad mid morning vomiting in the reception area all over the floor and staggering around the reception the staff never challenged him to get back to his room etc and left him and I felt sorry for the poor cleaner who was left to clean it up.

There were some female guests who were seen by us and many others in the restaurants coming in from nights out in their going out cothes and heading straight into the dining room for breakfast drunk shouting and leering all around the dining room again none of the staff challenged them to stop doing this. The food was awful too crap breakfast compared to what we had last September, they were using powered egg for scambled egg but let's face it drunken brits will eat any old crap to soak up the booze when they were drunk and hungry. They were even drinking the cheap crap sparkling wine that was put out at breakfast with their full english (just about says it all really).

A group of females were hanging off their balconys below us exposing themselves and shouting and balling to a group of males in the street who in turn were exposing themselves on the street back to them. The language was terrible. After reporting it to reception because of concerns that they were drunk at the time they were doing this they said "what do you want us to do about it". Clearly they were allowed to take over the hotel and just do what they wanted . We didn't sleep ourselves 4 nights out of the six as they they then started filling our floor up with them. It eventually went quiet around 5.00 in the morning after them all coming home at all hours.

I always thought that people behaving this way in a hotel around families, the elderly and people who had paid a lot of money for their holidays would have had their behaviour challenged and years ago were told behave or pack your bags and out. In this hotel it isn't the case stag and hens dos take priority and and other guests wanting a normal relaxing holiday don't matter. Me and my husband had our holiday ruined and would recommend to any couples and families NOT to book here, any body likes a drink and a good holiday but this place was a joke. After going back a second time after a good holiday the first time won't be booking again. Anyone wanting to go stay at the Melia, Belroy, or Levante beach all 4 star and not much more to stay at. This hotel is one of the most expensive 3 stars and use the series Benidorm being filmed here to warrant charging people more.

Advice from me is not to book here, or if you have have it change it now as when you get here you will have no chance of sorting it our jet2 rep was no where to be seen simply because it was that bad and a lot of people wanted out of this hotel and were complaining this was from talking to a few around the pool area etc.

Am disgusted and let down this time and appalled that hotel management ( they want to try managing) are running this hotel like this. It is like an episode of shameless no wonder Derren Littern the writer of Benidorm uses this hotel to film at cos after spending a day here you would have enough dialogue to film a whole series. I would like to thank the hotel management on behalf of my husband and myself for such a crap hoilday.

Room Tip: There are none Orcas is lovely but all the stag and hen do's will help trash them over time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjon32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
3,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#23 of 192 in Benidorm
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#39 of 192 in Benidorm
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#32 of 192 in Benidorm
892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Property: Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing