We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lads weekend”
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lads weekend”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good hotel,excellent food.Freindly staff ,if a bit slow checking in.Rooms clean and modern.This has a very good location close to beach and bars.Beer is served in old fashioned beer mugs as opposed to straight glasses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear marc h, thank you very much for having chosen Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm and also for sharing here your personal experience among us with other travellers, we are sure it will be very useful for them. Comments so positive like yours are the best reward to our daily effort to meet our customers expectations and to make them live unique experiences, going back home satisfied with our services and thinking on returning!!. So many thanks once more for your attention and we hope to see you again in a near future. Best Regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,655
    2,308
    1,182
    397
    246
See reviews for
2,587
2,109
146
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,821)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided to book a holiday in Benidorm and did think of trying another hotel but ended up booking the Pelicanos again as we have always enjoyed staying there before. We had a taxi from the airport so we arrived quite early in the day. The staff at reception were very good. They checked us in and had allocated us a room on the 12th floor, however, I had made a special request for a low floor room as I don't like using the lifts too much. They immediately changed us to a 2nd floor room and our room was made available to us immediately.
Later on I noticed large queues at reception so I was very glad that we had taken a taxi rather than used a coach transfer.
The rooms are clean and comfortable but are rather dated and could do with a bit more drawer space. There is no hairdryer and you need an adapter for the socket for your electrical items. The television looks very old fashioned but does receive quite a few channels including 3 or 4 English speaking ones.
We were all-inclusive and found this to be a very good option. The food is very good, breakfast, lunch and dinner are all served in the restaurant. There is a good choice and the food is fresh and well presented. Dining room staff work hard and tables are cleared quickly.
Snacks are also available at the pool bar. Drinks and snacks available to All-Inclusive customers are the same as the ones which are paid for by those on half-board. The swim-up bar wasn't open but this is understandable because the pool is still a bit cold at this time of year.
The Ocas part of the hotel was completely shut including the outside Ocas bar. We did miss this bar as the Ocas terrace is a wonderful sun-trap.
We enjoyed the daytime entertainments including Archery, Shooting, Table Tennis and games around the pool. We would have liked to have had bowls and/or an exercise class but these were not available. At nights we mainly went out to the clubs as there is a variety of entertainment available nearby in Benidorm. We watched one of the shows at the hotel and it was very good. All the entertainers work very hard especially Alberto, Lucas and David.
The only thing that spoiled our holiday was the stag and hen parties at the weekend. There were large groups around the pool during the day and their loud swearing was not appropriate for a family hotel.
In conclusion, we're glad that we booked the Pelicanos but they could do with updating the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Ocas get sun all day on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SooziJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear SooziJane, what a complete review about your last stay at Sol Pelicanos Ocas!!. Thank you very much for sharing here your personal experience among us and also for so kind words about our services. As we can read from your lines, you have gone home satisfied with our reception staff, all inclusive snacks and drinks, food, dining room staff, etc…so many thanks for so positive comments!, they tell us that we are working in the correct way although we never stop introducing improvements. All our entertainment team is so grateful for so kind words regarding to them, as they work very hard to make our guests enjoy their holidays, and of course, they have taken note of your activities suggestions in order to improve our entertainment offer. We also take into consideration your comments regarding to our rooms, tvs, hair dryers...We hope to see you again soon with the assurance that we will do our best to make your next visit as pleasant as possible. Kind regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel on 21st march for a week. Hotel was amazing. You get for what u pay. Perfect location, close to the beach, shops, bars etc.
Rooms clean and spacious.
Staff Friendly.
Food great, help yourself Buffett with lots to choose from.
Defo would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Lkc88, “brill stay” is the best news we can receive from our guests!!. Your positive comments about your stay at Sol Pelicanos Ocas tell us that you have enjoyed your holidays among us and that you are satisfied with our services!, room, staff, location, food…and this is the best reward for us as we always are introducing improvements in our services trying to meet our guests expectations and making them live unforgettable experiences. So thank you very much for so kind review and also for sharing it here with other travellers, we are sure it will be very useful for them. We are looking to seeing you again soon!. Kind regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

lovely clean hotel and food was brilliant, there wasent a meal time you couldent find something nice to eat, it was hard to choose,the bar in hotel was great, good size drinks they had everything and nice friendly staff, pool bar was also good and the staff also vary friendly but found myself larger slightly better at inside bar, great place for all .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skintskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello skintskinner, what a wonderful review about your stay at Sol Pelícanos Ocas!, all the team at the hotel is extremely grateful for so positive comments about your personal experience among us. Brilliant food, lovely clean, great bar, good size drinks, friendly staff…it seems you have enjoyed your holidays and you are satisfied with our services, and this is the best news for us because we all work hard every day trying to make our guests live unforgettable experiences!. Many thanks also for sharing here your opinion with other travellers, we are sure it will be very useful for them. We all hope to see you again in a near future, since then we send you our best regards. Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

probarbly one of the best hotels we have stayed at in benidorm,we were all inclusive 7 nights from good friday,myself hubby and 14 year old son.really cant fault this hotel at all,food is excellent,plenty of choice,always fresh,cant see why anyone would moan about it.in fact I would say its certainly the best all inclusive option we have ever had in any hotel..hotel room a little small,but very clean,yes like most hotels,walls are thin,so people need to have a little respect for others when returning to hotel late at night,however this did in no way spoil our enjoyment,maid service every day,who were all very pleasant,clean towels were plenty.the pool is outstanding,however I agree with others by saying very cold water,so not many people using it,which is a shame,because it really is beautiful..all of the staff were very friendly,nothing was too much trouble,they all work extremely hard to make your holiday as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.the entertainment team included,who do a great job of keeping kids entertained..as my son is now 14,some of the shows werent to his taste,however,this is not a problem,as we spent a couple of nights in morgan tavern,where the entertainment is second to none,and family friendly..all in all this was a great holiday,and we will most certainly stay there again.the fact that the benidorm cast were filming while we were there,only added to our enjoyment,as we are all fans of the show,and got some great photos with the cast,who were only too happy to give you there time..the Ocas was still undergoing refurb,while we were there,so cant comment on it,however,we were told that a lot of money is being invested,so will be sure to go back for visit very soon..dont let any of the moaners put you off this hotel,in one word..FAB

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hello wilkowitch, it is an honour for us to read your review about your last stay at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, this is the best reward for us that you have enjoyed every service we offer!. One of the best hotels you have stayed in, food excellent, the best all inclusive option, very pleasant clean, staff very friendly, great job from our entertainment team, in one word…FAB, amazing lines about our services!, many, many thanks from all the staff at the hotel. We always try to make our guests live unforgettable experiences among us and in your case it seems we have achieved one of our main goals, our guests’ satisfaction. Thanks not only for so kind words but also for sharing them here with other travellers, we are sure your personal opinion will help them. We sincerely hope to see you soon, and we take this opportunity to inform you that we are opening Ocas at the end of this month, so perhaps you can visit us again this summer!. Please, don’t hesitate to contact me on your next arrival in order to welcome you personally. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with my girlfriend. It was a surprise holiday so i was expecting the best from this hotel.

As soon as we arrived the reception staff did not speak very good English ''If you would like Breakfack or Dinnering this is how much it will be'',

Being a Bar Manager i was very upset with the quality of recepies for the cocktails, ordering a Pina Colada you get it served in 4 seconds from a machine! when its supposed to be white in colour(from the fresh cream ) you get it dark yellow, and also should be shaken!
I ordered a caiprinhia.... what a surprise NO LIME in a hotel its like ordering a mojito with no mint! Paying around 6E for a cocktail at least i would expect a garnish,,,, NOOOO

Later we went to the room where i sent in the confirmation letter i requested a sea view! Having spoken to reception they said its impossible cause they don't have sea view, Thanks NO $HIT! Obviously ignoring my request beforehand they gave me a sky-scraper view, knowing that i would have booked another hotel instead.

Room 1219 bathroom door CANT CLOSE, Water temp was cold for 2 days, Telephone Not working, You have to get your own blow dryer(may i add a 30e deposit for clearly a 1E Blow dryer had to be given to reception for an expiry time of 2hours), they don't provide you with adaptors for 2pin plugs! VERY THIN WALLS!! i could have had a conversation with the room near me without leaving the room! Loud noises from the guests near me from the 12th floor talking to relatives or friends all the way down to the pool area!

There was no mention that you had to get your own towels for the pool area! in every hotel i have been to they all provided this service!

First day at the lobby bar enjoying a drink this Photographer comes, snaps 2 pictures of us in each others arms.. asks for our room numbers and demands 10Euros. Politely i declined and thanked him. What does he do? Rudely raises his voice he shouts ''What do you mean you dont pay? You think i do this for free? Who are you ?''
Can you believe the cheek and the guts this ''professional'' was giving us?! For a while longer he would have spoiled my pre-night out!

Rudeness from the bartenders: I nicely asked if i can have some ice because we had to wake up very early due to airport transfer and the bar would have been closed so not to risk it i went beforehand,
If you had to come to the Hotel where i work in i would be more than happy to give you 3 bags of ice cubes with no questions asked.... however this ''middle aged '' bartender tells me, ''NO YOU MUST DRINK HERE NOT IN ROOM !! HERE NO YOUR COUNTRY!!''
My jaw had dropped!! I could not believe what i had just heard! 3 women sat near where i was standing were shocked too!

The only good thing i could think of about Sol Pelicanos is the cleanliness in the room, well done HouseKeeping! and Location, extremely close to the beach and night life!

I had spent a lot of planning into this holiday, one of the attractions that they promote and advertise when your booking was the bar IN the pool ... Guess what..... It was ALWAYS CLOSED. I am defenately coming back to BENIDORM but defenately not this hotel !!!

Room Tip: Keep on looking! Avoid this Hotel. Use it just to sleep when your drunk from a night out if no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThinkRealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Eddiebonello, we regret not having covered your expectations, we can assure you that we always do our best to try to meet our customers’ satisfaction but in your case it seems we have failed. As we can read from your lines, you were surprised with a lot of services that we don’t provide or that we do but not in the way you expected, so in these cases we recommend you always to check any hotel services before choosing and visiting it in order to avoid further misunderstandings because, as you can see on our official web page, nowhere tells that we have pool towels service, hairdryer in rooms or sea view rooms, for example. Anyway, we take note of all your comments (mainly regarding to our bar cocktails and staff) in order to offer better services because this web site is very useful not only for other travellers but also for us, as we can detect the areas where we have to focus our efforts and introduce improvements, so many thanks for sharing here your personal opinion about your stay among us and also for the positive words in reference to our housekeeping department. We know you have decided not coming again, but please, if you give us a second chance and you visit us in another occasion, don’t hesitate to contact me on arrival in order to meet you personally and talk about these issues. Regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Oh dear they've gone down a notch since last time! The staff, the cleanliness and maintenance etc! Are all still excellent but the tight [--] company Melia Sol have cut back on the quality of some of the food. The Breakfasts are still excellent but the lunches and dinners have changed since last November 2012 and some sort of austerity program including pig's trotters and liver has been instated, there is far too much waste as so much of it looked good but possibly due to cooking en mas and it standing on bain marie's etc or the poor quality of the ingredients etc! A whole industrial sized tray of broad beans just sat there under the heat lamp drying up, untouched, that like other unedible huge trays of similar yukky stuff which sadly also, as alot of it seemed to all taste the same, was too left to dry out too! They have introduced a policy of cutting off All Inclusive wristbands at 09.30am on your departure day even if you don't depart until 16.20pm like we did, we couldn't even get a drink and we had no idea we'd have two hungry and thirsty teenagers waiting almost 7 hrs without even a drink of All Inclusive water etc! 'Almost an All Inclusive' a poor do really and we would have appreciated that information, which was obviously witheld when we booked our holiday! Would we come again now? Don't really know??!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaceibiza85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_SolPel, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi spaceibiza85, thank you for having chosen Sol Pelicanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm and also for sharing here your personal opinion about your last stay among us, we are sure it will be very useful not only for other travellers but also for us because it allows us detect the areas where we must focus our efforts and introduce improvements. We always try to meet our customers’ expectations and in your case you are not satisfied with our lunch service, so we take note of all your comments in order to analyse our procedures and try to offer a better service. On the other hand, we are so grateful for your positive evaluation about our staff, cleanliness and maintenance, an excellent!. Finally, in reference to our All Inclusive service, as we have mentioned in other reviews and as you can check in our official web page: “On check-out day, the All Inclusive service finishes at 12 midday”, we cut the band in the morning (breakfast time) but you can drink until that time but not later. We hope to see you again in a near future. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#47 of 192 in Benidorm
3,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Property: Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing