We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight to be back”
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #35 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to the Pelicanos for our second stay with them in September 2012 and am so glad we did! Last year we were in a room overlooking the Ocas pool and this year wanted to overlook the main pool at the rear of the hotel (the one used in "Benidorm"). I'd read reviews on here that said the hotel would charge you extra for this, but I simply emailed the hotel before we arrived and requested a room on a high floor overlooking this pool, explaining that we were returning guests and would appreciate this. When we checked in, we were given a room on the 10th floor, overlooking said pool at no extra charge!

A tip if you have a late night flight (typically Stansted), the hotel has a luggage room (not widely advertised) that you can use for free and they can provide shower facilities too, so you can check out at 12:00 and enjoy the remainder of the day either in the hotel or out and about with the knowledge that your luggage will be safe - this certainly beats paying for a late check out.

The only gripe I had was that they changed the times for breakfast without proper notification, so we came down one morning as they were clearing away - there were no notices about it outside the restaurant, just a small one in the lifts. However, this hardly spoiled our holiday!

If we return to Benidorm again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Pelicanos again as its so handy for the bars and Levante beach, plus the staff are all very friendly.

Room Tip: High floors at rear of hotel are recommended. Less street noise and better views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,222)
There are newer reviews for Sol Pelicanos Ocas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,944 - 4,950 of 7,222 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Travelled October 2012 1/2 term week. Check in was reasonably swift but the room wasn't ready for 2 hours - not a problem just dumped the cases and went for a wander.
Rooms were typical of a Spanish 3* hotel,rooms a bit dated with no fridge or hairdryer however shower gel/shampoo and soap provided, the bathroom was nice, clean and spacious but the balconies are very small.
The cleaners were around daily and covered the necessities well.
We stayed 1/2 board, the food was very good with plenty of choice for all a separate section for little kids and the best selection of "very fresh" bread (French, Rolls, Ciabatta etc) I've seen in a hotel in a long time, lovely surprise :-)
Good mix of people staying here, one tip would be to remember it's usually only Brits who queue so don't be put off by other nationalities getting stuck in.
Had a pool and sea view on the 10th floor (1025) so no resort noise however you can clearly hear people in the adjoining rooms.
The smells that other people have mentioned seemed no worse here than anywhere else in Spain that I have stayed, just the normal smell I associate with resorts.
The pool and jacuzzis were nice but cold - as you would expect at the end of October - however once you've braved the first dip it's fine. Plenty of unreserved beds and shower facilities around the pool.

Room Tip: 10th floor was acceptable for the view and level of noise was minimal.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just arrived back form this hotel, 03.11.2012, went for 4 days. The hotel was clean but very basic, the rooms were serviced everyday. The hotel is open until late in the season, and with that we think the outdoor pools should be heated. They were icy cold and unusable. The kids club in the brochure does not state this is only for small kids. Our 12 year old was extremely bored, as she could not use the pool all day and there was no entertainment for the kids over the age of 10 years. There was no entertainment through the day but the evening entertainment was good the staff were very friendly and happy, joked around with us, and made our stay very pleasant. The food for the meat eaters was pretty good, different meats and seafood on offer, breakfast was full English or pancakes. For vegetarians like myself, if you don't want to eat salad and chips every day you will be dissapointed, the pasta had meat in, there was only 1 day where cheese pizza was offered, so I made up for it with the cocktails instead!!. There are no facilities in the hotel rooms, like tea or coffee making, wifi, toiletries or hair dryer so make sure you take your own. The beach was clean and we walked along it on a morning before anyone was on the lilo's, I would highly recommend Morgans Tavern for nightly entertainment if you want a change of scenery, kids are allowed in and my 2 really enjoyed it. I would also recommend taking the ferry over to the island and going on the glass bottomed boat. We went all inclusive, but there were only certain times of the day this applied if you wanted snacks out side the allotted times you had to pay for them. Rooms are noisy, you can hear people in the next room on the toilet, running their baths and walking on the floors, the walls must be very thin.

Room Tip: We chose a pool view room, which we got and actually got a view of the sea aswell. Beware on the hig...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stupau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for a week in October with friends. We had originally booked into the Sol Pelicanos, but on arrival we were told we were in the sister hotel next door The Ocas. This was a very pleasant surprise to us as the rooms were lovely all newly refurburbished . Fabulous shower, and very well decorated , with flat screen televison, and kept spotlessly clean.. good result for us.
We stayed on a B&B , which was perfect for us, we usually only do all inclusive in places like Egypt or The Carribean..when its difficult to get to nearby restaurants and bars.. The breakfast here was great loads to choose from.. Can't really understand why people would go for the all inclusive option in this hotel , there is so many bars and restaurants in Benidorm and so cheap, why would you want to be tied to your hotel? We ate at a Chinese restaurant, 3 courses with coffee and a bottle of wine for 11 euros for 2 people.. also John & Josephs by the Ambassador Hotel do great meals and a pint is just I euro... BEST place i really enjoyed though is Marianos, just to the left of the Ocas... the food there is also amazing and reasonable.. We really enjoyed our stay here , and loved walking down the Beach ( 5 min walk from hotel ) for a jug of Sangria @ sunset... Fabulous...The hotel it's self is also in great location for bars etc.. If your considering booking this hotel, go for it but would only do B&B, so much fun to be outside with some nice places to eat also. Just couldn't understand why people were doing all inclusive at this hotel?? Or in Benidorm even it's the cheapest place i have ever visited by far.. Have Fun!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcauley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we have been to a few different hotels over the many years ? rooms left a bit to be desired . but we found the food to some of the best.and how long are you in the rooms? just a small walk down to beach and loads of bars and invalide go karts? PS this was just a weekend break.

Room Tip: remember that most the hotels are very tall all around . so you get the sun late morning then you ha...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonymarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I just had a night in Benidorm, staying at the Sol Pelicanos Ocas.
It is well situated for the night life in the Levante Beach area and very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast and Dinner food was very good and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Basic rooms did not have WiFi, toiletries or Tea making facilities, but were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are available for 18 euros a day - but we were on a budget
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night holiday with my husband. we booked All inclusive and were in the pelicanos side as the Ocas closed half way through are stay. Check-in was fine and staff were friendly. we were given a a4 piece of paper with the A/I times on for meals, drinks and snacks.
The rooms were a decent size but slightly dated, good size wardrobe but left my clothes a bit stale smelling! You can literally hear everything your neighbours are doing, and sometimes think someone is in your shower when its actually next doors or above.The balcony is rather small but as it wasnt red hot we rarely used it. Really wish i could of stayed in the ocas to see the new rooms but didnt want to change after 3 days, hopefully they will upgrade the pelicanos at some point to make them more fresh and modern.
The food is what would make me book another hotel. Breakfast was nice, always fresh and good amount to choose from, didnt agree with chips being out but some people may have them for breakfast. Lunch and Dinner was terrible, pigs trotter, oxtail, rabbit, trout, squid to name a few. The vegetables were very over cooked and mixed together the next night to look like something different! Nothing was hot it was barely luke warm. There was yorkshire pudding out everyday just shame about the tomaotoe tasting gravy. If you weren't quick you would miss the fresh meat being cooked then have to stand around waiting for the next lot meaning other things on your plate got cold. Deserts were nice, plentys of fresh fruit and freezers with various ice creams in to choose from.
I honestly struggled to manage more than a baguette with cheese and salad.
Seeing a woman taste the gravy of the laddle everyone else had to use was rather off putting but most of the other guests had no manners and would barge infront or just be plain rude (obv not the hotels fault)
The A/I snacks were a joke, basically what was left from breakfast got took to the far side of the restaurant for A/I guest to use. The Snacks around the Pelicanos pool didnt start till 15:30 which was a bit late if you didnt want to go in the main restaurant to eat. Never had a problem with the drinks and we didnt bother with A/I gold and got bottled water.
I thought the staff were very friendly and the pool are's are fantastic and clean but i would only return here on Bed and Breakfast. entertainment was great and the staff worked really hard in the shows. we were lucky we had nice weather but the pools were still like ice but it didnt seem to bother the kids!
I think due to the pools and the series "Benidorm" the hotel is charging alot but they need to sort out the food to match the prices. overall a good holiday but didnt expect to spend money on food when i was A/I

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinaw019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#24 of 192 in Benidorm
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $55 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing