We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days, was gutted when I got off the coach and seen the queue waiting to get booked in, 5 coaches had all turned up at once, anyway 15 mins wait got our wristbands and straight to the bar as the room wasn't ready. Found the staff to be lovely, could not fault any of them, we were all inclusive and glad too after hearing it was 3.50 euro a pint, water 1.85 euro exactly same as we were drinking on all inc, no piffly small glasses either full glass pint pots, the food was lovely you had to search a bit as food is scattered everywhere, I heard people moaning there was no soup, there was but it was near the bread. We had a bit of nice weather and spent a day by the pool, unfortunately we couldn't get a table and chairs out to sit near the pool and being disabled I cannot get up and down from sun loungers, nowhere to rest my drink or snack, was disappointed with that, as I was with friends and wanted to be able to join them, They have a lovely bar area and snack bar, I asked if we could move a table but was told no, (so the hotel loses a point for that) The hotel is a bit of a nightmare if your disabled or bad on your legs, lots of steps and lifts go to different levels, you can spend a while going up and down to get to your desired floor. Bit of patience and you get there,
Could also do with a few card tables putting in the cabaret area as once again the seats were too low, Rooms in pelicanos were clean and basic, they say they are lovely over in their sister hotel the Ocas with walk in showers. All in all I had a lovely time and the staff were second to none, all very pleasant and friendly. The points I have picked up on maybe they could take note of and it would make it a much better holiday for a disabled visitor, as we cannot all use sun loungers or get up and down from low seats. Would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocas brand new decorated with wetroom showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackpoolfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,054 - 5,060 of 7,340 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for two weeks all inclusive in the Pelicanos, 13-27th October.
The good, Location is great, transfer from Alicante less than one hour. The food was by and large good, there was always a decent selection whether it was salads, cooked or snacks. After two weeks though it was starting to get repetative, breakfast was a good choice of cold buffet, cereal or full cooked English type with plenty of fruit. Found it better to walk to the far end service counter as there were no queues and the chef would cook your eggs to order.
Lunch, again a good choice but usually skipped it as we were still full from the morning.
Dinner, plenty of choice, hot meals were usually a grilled fish and meat choice, four hot alternatives, stew, chicken in sauce, meat pie, curry or something of that type. A pasta dish and various take away type foods - pizza, burgers and chips as well as a full salad bar with cheese and cold meats.
The rooms were pretty basic, the decor was dated but had a decent shower, beds were not the most comfortable but they served there purpose, the tv looked like something from the 70's but never watched it, sleeping or getting showered was the only time we really spent in the room. The rooms were cleaned everyday to a decent standard. The pool side bars are mostly good, nicely set out but the service varied, was excellent by some waiters but: Now for the bad,

Abysmal from others, some of them were actually ignorant, they knew it as well and just smirked. Both of the pools are absolutely freezing, the coldest i have ever known. The orcas pool gets the sun only between 12.15 and 4.00pm, the rest of the time its in shade from the shadow of nearby hotels. The pelicanos pool has trees buildings and sun shades blocking out the sun at times.
The rooms have paper thin walls, every time the toilet is flushed, somebody takes a shower, or even walks about you can here them. The lack of tea making facilities and a hair dryer is also a let down. The entertainment is not good, we went out most nights as it was so boring.

The ugly, watched the bouncers/door staff/security (i use these terms loosely) from the Western saloon attack, punch and kick a middle aged guy sensless behind a car after they had thrown him out, he had walked away some 30 metres before one decided to walk after him, beat him to the ground infront of his wife and kids before the rest run up and decided to join in. People tried to stop them and an old man coming out of the Ambassador hotel who asked them to stop and was also beaten up. Really spoilt the holiday seeing that level of violence.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

this is the 1st and last time i will go to this hotel, to be fair the room was ok , hotel in a great location, the hotel on a whole is very clean, staff not too bad , but the food i didnt enjoy the breakfast was ok but evening meal was cold 2 nights and if you like pork or fish u are fine so we spent a few nights eating out which when you have paid for half board defeats the object, we used to stop in the Riudor adults only but fancied a change and the food there is great,dont let me put you off trying this hotel as i said it is clean and location fab beer is exspensive.3.50euro a pint when across the road only 1 in john and josephs

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

There was a group of us 7 ladies in total, some of us in the ocas building and two In the pelicanos . Ocas is by far the better of the two. We were there for a long weekend to celebrate a friends birthday , the pool areas are lovely and very clean. The prices of drinks and snacks are more expensive than outside of the complex and is not the best quality.5 of the 7 if us had a mix up with half board basis and only got b&b and reception staff would not budge even though the booking stated half board. Wouldn't go to benidorm again and wouldn't stay here if we did. Smell of sewage is bad also.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goaaddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just back from a week's holiday with a couple of mates. Overall had a good time, hotel was in great location for the beach and night life , the staff were friendly and very efficient. Food was good , plenty of it. The entertainment at night was ok, it suited the clientel who were the majority of the guests at time we were there.
Don't be put off with negative feed back ,it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

just come back from a brilliant 7 day break at the pelicanos ,had a great time we was all inclusive well worth it lovely clean hotel friendly staff and the drinks were good .ideal central location next a will go for the gold ( u can upgrade for 10euros premium drinks when ur all inclusive see
reception when you get there)

Room Tip: see if you can stay in ocas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean_1977_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

just back from a week long holiday, good and bad times!
Good things
excellent location, fantastic pool area for the kids, who especially loved the park area,
Bad things

beds were then worst ever woke up every morning with back pain, rooms very dated with no hairdryer,
breakfast was varied and plentiful very busy in the morning and nighttime with people shoving and jostling there way to the food trays, cant believe how greedy some folk can be. Not a lot of choice for the children.
Drink prices were extorionate dont no how they can get away with it

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#24 of 192 in Benidorm
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#23 of 192 in Benidorm
1,011 reviews
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#33 of 192 in Benidorm
932 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia

Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $54 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing