We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went all inclusive to this hotel 15th september for a week, and can honestly say could not fault it, after reading the reviews, i was abit worried, but no it was fine, going back next year, good value for money.

Room Tip: Third floot was just right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear ladyscouser,
Thank you for choosing Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays! We are glad that any negative reviews were not confirmed by your experience in our Hotel. We truly look forward to receiving you again with us! Thank you very much for your comments and see you soon! Kind regards, Valérie Arnauts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,181 - 5,187 of 7,426 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Actually staying at the Ocas as i type.The rooms are superb,large screen tv,own fridge,lovely new shower/bathroom,excellent rooms and beds.
FOOD not so good.The catering staff need retraining on cooking simple meals. too much salt in everything,well not the sweets.
That said the refurb has been a sucess.Dont eat here if you can help it.Probably bed & breakfast at a push.
Benidorm tho is great as usual,nice weather and bars never change,except the Rainbow bar which is now called the rovers reurn.
We useed to love the Rainbow bar,but the rovers return went in yesterday and to be honest wont go in again its lost all of its characture and prices have gone up too.
The Piccadilly bar opposite is better beer and same prices.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool,superior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Wayne T,
First of all, thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor! We are glad to hear that we felt happy with the room given. On the other hand, regarding your comments about the Hotel food, I would like to inform you that our guests feel really happy with our Buffet, according the remarks and the food scores that we receive. But as you know, we have to cater for many different nationalities. Nonetheless, please do not doubt that we will pass on your comments to our Chef. Thank you for visiting Sol Pelícanos Ocas, and we hope to receive you again with us! Yours sincerely, Valérie Arnauts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel Suited our basic needs. Wasn't bad but wasn't excellent either.
We were a party of 8 in 2 groups of 4
We arrived in the morning of Friday 21st and were checked in to the Ocas. We asked if we were with the rest of our party and 1 of the couples were down for the Pelicanos. We asked if they could be moved to the Ocas and after a phone call we were told that this was no problem and we would all be together when they arrived at 7pm
Their flight was delayed and the transfer bus broke down resulting in them arriving at 10pm. Only then to be told they were in the Pelicanos and in an emergency room!!
I think they fill the Ocas up first due to the refurbishment before allocating rooms in the Pelicanos.

After a lengthy discussion that evening and the following morning with the general manager. The others were moved to the Ocas with us! As compensation they upgrade them to full board for the week.

Breakfast and evening meal in the Ocas was ok nothing special. By the end of the week it got samey and boring. Food didn't look fresh on some occasions, there was out of date yoghurts most mornings and one evening there was only fish/shellfish on offer. Apart from salad, noodles and plain pasta there didn't appear to be much vegetarian choices.

On the last morning we were getting picked up at 8am for the airport, breakfast was just fruit, cheese and cakes. No utensils to collect food from the buffet so had to use fingers. No fruit juice or water. Very poor as surly there is an early airport pick up at least once a week.

The other 4 in our party that were full board had lunch in the Pelicanos and they said the food was much better over there, more choice and constantly refreshed.

Great pool area. Always clean. We had no problem getting 8 sunbeds together when we wanted around 11am each morning.

5min walk to the beach and the main bar area. But away from the noise and music etc

Rooms in the Ocas are nice, modern and big! Walk in shower was great.
Rooms on the right hand side do not have balconies

Everywhere was clean and the rooms tidied every day with fresh towels.

Recommendation for the rooms would be to have tea and coffee facilities

Have to pay €15 for a safe and then receive €5 back on check out. A safe should come as standard.

If you want a fridge in the Pelicanos you have to pay €30 for the week

Wi-fi and computers in the lobby have to be paid for as well

Reception staff are rude and unhelpful. Especially when our electronic key cards were not working on 6 different occasions. Tried to say it was us putting it in the wrong way round, until we requested an engineer to look at it and he changed the batteries in the lock! Worked every time after that.
Requested timetable information from the receptionist for the tourist train as advertised in their reception brochure, she said no sorry i don't know or have any information. Very helpful.

Outside bar area at the Ocas is nice when the duo are on singing and playing the keyboard every evening. We stayed here the first night waiting for our friends. 2vocal vodka and lemonades was €14!!!! Didn't go back.

Hotel meet our requirements but would probably stay at another hotel if we were to go back to Benidorm.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony (may be an additonal charge though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear LKPAA25,
First of all, thank you for choosing Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays, and for your review on TripAdvisor. Regarding your comments about the food, I would like to inform you that our entire Buffet is constantly being supervised by our Chef and the Hotel Management. As well, we do not receive negative remarks from our guests regarding the food, as we have made a lot of improvements during the past two years. But please do not doubt that we will use each one of your comments to avoid any similar remarks in the future. Thank you for your comments, as they will help us to improve the services that we provide. Yours sincerely, Valérie Arnauts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

booked with travel republic for sol pelicanos but on arrival was put in ocas.only problem was no balcany, went back to desk to ask 4 balcany room whitch was stated on comformation form. only 2 be told if you book with t.r.you do not get what it says.had 2 pay extra 18 euros a day 4 balcony.whitch we did, as being able to sit out 4 me is a must.but on saying all this could not fault hotel and food was very good, my husband is a fussy eater but managed ok we were half/board.central 4 everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobhilNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks at the Pelicanos yes I agree with a lot of the comments my problem was having to pay for a bottle of water to have with your tea never ever had to pay for water before as they had fresh water on morning and the machine was used on an evening for all inclusive guests.The hotel was really nice but I found the food on an evening awful not cooked properly meat quite bloody even after putting it back on the griddle myself as the young woman who was cooking couldn't speak english.We went for 2 weeks so the food on the 2nd week was exactly the same as the 1st week could have had more variation and everybody was looking for butter which for the size of the restaurant was round the corner at the bottom of the restaurant where the ham and cheese were.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view and if they give you room on the corner of the Pelicanos refuse to have it as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186411Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from staying in the sol pelicanos and i'm happy to say they have listened to the customer complaints of last year and really upped their game . The hotel is lovely clean very helpful friendly staff ideal location near the beach and the nightlife . We stayed here last year but was disappointed with the all inclusive etc but decided to give it another go so we were delighted to find they had changed you could use all the bars the drinks was varied range and went down well .The highlight of my holiday though was how they catered for my daughter who is anapylactic to certain food groups the guy who ran the restaurant was a star i got a translation card off the internet and when he read it he sorted out her meals everyday for us getting the staff to cook seperate things for her and catering for her needs so anyone in a similar position i wouldnt hesitate to stay here we definatly will be back.

Room Tip: ask for a pool veiw you can sit on the balcony and watch the entertainment if you dont wish to go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annemarie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dont let the bad reviews put you off!!!
the food was different everyday and i ate well for the week, as usually even in 5 star all inclusives i have still not enjoyed it, so the food was a plus for me. i am a fussy eater so i avoided the things i usually would avoid whilst on holiday!
the hotel has a sister hotel, you can use the facilities in there but not the rooms, unless you upgrade, advised would be to book the ocas from the start!! the rooms were basic in the sol pelicanos, but they were clean and fresh towels out daily, this was not a problem as would not spend more than i needed to in there anyway.
the staff were friendly and helpful throughout, even joining in with some banter, they were long shifts and hours.
the poolside bar is good with snacks free to all inclusive from 3pm till 6pm. the pool was amazing, the downside was the swim up bar was closed, and if it was open you have to pay for drinks and this does not come into the all inclusive package. there is an option to upgrade to gold all inclusive for 10 euros a day, you can then have all branded drinks and use the swim up bar for free if it was open!!! this would be ideal if you didnt want to venture out.
The hotel catered for all ages, and everyone seemed happy and a few of them used the hotel regular.
the none branded drinks were ok, believe me i have had worse!!! it is loud at times, and is over the road from morgans bar the place they record neptunes on the show, this was a good bar with a different show every hour, as like the rest of the bars...lots of good fun and laughter all round.
the water is included in the all inclusive as i had previously read a review that said that water was an extra.
the all inclusive buffet cooks frsh meat daily and fresh pizza. the bread is like all spanish all inclusive vread, however they had fresh panini's, bagettes etc for you to cut off what you needed. Soup daily and lots of fresh salad, cheese and hams.
The breakfast was ok, again i am fussy but there was nothing wrong with it, i just dont like smoked bacon!! lol.
i really feel if they refurb the otherside and maybe add a few more touches they would be 4 star quality, as i said i have had worse in both 4 and 5 star accomodation, to be fair i have nothing to complaIn about.
It was myself and my partner who went. everyone was friendly, good atmosphere. There was kids there and they seemed to be having a good time, food accommodated for kids, microwave in dining room for quests to use.
i think i have said enough and hope it makes sense!!!

Room Tip: ask for the ocas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hannah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
2,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#25 of 192 in Benidorm
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia

Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $53 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing