We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel ****”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an honest review... We stayed at the hotel last Aug 13 for 10 nights and had a good time.
Rooms - Emailed the hotel in advance for a low floor and the request was met. cleaned everyday to a good standard. Fresh towels everyday if left on the floor.
Restaurant - Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were all brilliant, the range of food was excellent if you are not fussy, we always found something to eat, Fresh pizza and pasta station, salad bar, fresh meat cooked to your liking, fresh breads, sweets. Excellent. If you were looking for a snack in between the times allocated you had to go into the restaurant and make up what you wanted and take it back to the pool, very difficult if you are having to try and carry 4 plastic plates of food!
Pool - The pool area is very impressive with a kids pool with two slides and then 2 other large lagoon style pools, they were fantastic and never seen our oldest son from the minute we went down to the pool until we left to go back up at night! You can hire pool towels for the duration of your stay from reception for I think a fee of 10euros ( one off payment) take your towels back each night and collect fresh ones. Great idea. Now for the only gripe! If like me you always clean up after yourself when leaving the pool area, put all your rubbish in the bin. This is not always the case with some people! We were coming back down in the morning to find that the same rubbish was still in the same place at night along with any juice that had been spilled and left. I felt that with this being a 4* hotel there would have been someone there are night to clean the pool area hosing it down! The only other thing was the reservation of towels! Here is a good tip if you are travelling in the summer holidays , take your pool towels down before you go to your bed, this will save you having to set your alarm to get up at the crack of dawn with everyone else to reserve a bed! Plus my husband got a bad ear infection which he got from the pool water, the good thing was there was a health centre two streets down from the hotel, all we needed was our E11 cards and passports and it was free, only paid for the prescription which helped straight away.
All Inclusive - We were a family of 4 traveling and you were only allowed 2 drinks per person which would mean 2 trips each time to the bar at the pool area! and yes this included ice lollies and ice creams, I feel this has to be addressed with the management and it is very annoying when you have already paid All Inclusive in advance, second thing is the alcoholic drinks are not the same strength or are watered down. We got a shot of vodka as a test and I managed to drink it straight without the burning throat might I add, something not quite right!
Entertainment/Kids Club - Good entertainment throughout the day and the guys done great. My oldest son only joined in a couple of times with the kids water polo but to be honest the majority of the children were all spanish and he felt left out so he never played again, it never stopped him meeting friends. The evening entertainment is very much Spanish orientated, the kids disco doesnt start until 10pm which I felt was a bit late especially if you have been up early in the morning.
Location - Good location, we found some great bars just outside the hotel across the road and up to the left where there was a kids entertainer on from 6.30 - 8.30 each night. 10 mins from the beach and not far from the waterpark.
Overall - Would I return to this hotel? Maybe, would I return to Benidorm yes.

Room Tip: If you have children ask for a room on levels 1-3 as the balconys have a glass front so no need for...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaDoo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,105)
There are newer reviews for Melia Benidorm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,600 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

By way of layout, maintenance regime, location and service attitudes of all staff this Hotel offers an excellent holiday experience in Benidorm as a highly competitive market bearing fruition this case in relaxed luxury where to a great extent the motto of the company 'you are the journey' is achieved. The All Inclusive package option is however, let down by pressure of cost in as much as my personal experience was that there was a mismatch of facilities with the quality of the food offered. The drinks and refreshments on the all inclusive package are very good value - the margin squeeze was on the food albeit that this hotel is at the top end of the all inclusive market. This being said I would certainly stay at this hotel again. Perhaps there is a chance here for Melia Benidorm to achieve differentiation by offering an 'all refreshments included/breakfast only' option concerning the 'service bundle' being disaggregated? Alternatively up the price by 10-15% and reflect this in the budget allocated the chefs for the menu planning for all inclusive. As other reviewers have noted concerning Benidorm, there is no paucity of cheap and cheerful dining facilities in the vicinity. The incentive to take the loyalty card of free wi-fi is an admirable marketing ploy and discount to loyalty card holders is a very clever pathway to disintermediation, cutting out the middleman by booking direct on the Melia web site. This tip was gained by way of the tripadvisor site. All it requires is filling out a form at reception.

Room Tip: Room on as high a floor as possible -(4 lifts)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Stephen M, we like to thank you so much for your feedback after visiting our Hotel. We accept your comments about our all inclusive package for future improvements in this service. We hope to welcome you again if you come back to Benidorm. Great regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Love this hotel pool area is fabulous no matter how busy hotel is there is always room to relax around the pool. 10 minutes into main strip and a great selection of bars across the road look forward to returning in June 14

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle farrell 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Mrs. Farrell, thank you again for choosing us to join your holidays in Benidorm. We are proud to receive opinions as yours because our staff work very hard to satisfy our guests. Thank you so much and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't believe reviews that try to discredit this excellent hotel. We stayed at the Melia Benidorm for 8 Days this time and once again this be our hotel of choice on our return next time. The food was excellent with a wide choice of meat and fish every evening. A variety of food on offer to suit all tastes and nationalities. The indoor pool is large, clean and has plenty of sunbeds around it to dry off and relax on if it is a bit cloudy outside. Also the 2 jacuzzis are wonderful. I had a massage this time which was really reasonably priced compared to English prices and I can honestly say it was the best relaxation massage I have had.

We looked around at comparable hotels that had been recommended while we were staying there and were pleased that we had returned to the Melia.
Evenings are quiet but there is a bar, live music occasionally and daytime activities. The lounge with large tropical atrium, wonderful landscaped gardens and pools, comfortable rooms and good skyline views in high rooms makes it a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Carol D, thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Opinions as yours are very much appreciated, as they show us that we are working in a correct way to satisfy our guests! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Meliá Benidorm, and thank you for spending your holidays with us! Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break, the hotel and grounds are lovely,pity it was to cold to use the pool .Our room was really big with a view of the pool ,we went all inclusive but to be honest half board would have been better ,because there are loads of nice and cheap pubs and restaurants nearby,we especially liked the Rock and Roll bar which was just across from the melia they had great artists every night .The only downside I would say about the melia is that there's not a lot going on there in the evening just a piano player but having said that I would defiantly stay here again because it's a lovely hotel well situated just a short walk from the main entertainment area but far enough away. To get a good nights sleep

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gypseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear gypseygirl, we like to thank you very much for your opinions after visiting our Hotel. We will take all of them like great values to improve our daily service. Great regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have been to a few 5 star hotels which were not as good as this 4 star hotel. Everything was perfect, the room, the cleanliness of the hotel, the entrance and reception area was stunning like an oasis amongst the high rise which is Benidorm, likewise the pool area which was beautiful. The indoor pool was the largest I have seen in a hotel. The staff especially reception went out of their way to be very helpful. This hotel is situated about a half mile from the prom which makes it ideal if you are looking for a quieter holiday, but still has plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: From what I could see all standard rooms face the pool area with views part high rise and part mount...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank guide16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Guide 16, we like to thank you so much your nice feedback about your experience in our Hotel. We hope to welcome you soon if you come back to Benidorm in the future. Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed for one evening in feb and have to say on arrival the hotel looks great with good facilities. Checkin was efficient, not friendly, and cot was ready in the room as requested. Views fron the room were great with good seaviews. We had full board included, lunch was great with lots of choice however dinner was complete chaos. We arrived to the restaurant at 21,00 with a queue of at least 100 people. We waited for 30 minutes with a baby to be seated at a dirty table then another ten minutes for it to be cleared. The general attitude in the restaurant was of unhappy customers. We were surround by tables full of dirty plates. There was insufficent staffing to cope with the guests. I saw one waiter in our área for approx 100 people. We received our drink and that was it, bye. The waiter commented that this was normal for weekends as the restaurant only catered for 400 guests and this evening there were approx 1100. My biggest problem was there was no food, everything was empty, the salad bar, desserts and as for the hot section i managed to grab one fillet of fish which was nice. The italian section was empty so ate something from there. Overall dissapointing after a great lunch and my family left hungry and very tired. The waiters were all trying hard and the issue was more higher up. If you no there are over 1000 people dining find the solutions beforehand so that the best posible servcie can be offered. I have found that in other melias this seems to be a trend of high volumen, low service maintanance. I agree with other reveiws that Price dictates levels of service etc but if you pay for a package at least you should be able to eat and not leave hungry.

Room Tip: corner rooms have great views
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euro2travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Devonhotpot, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed that we were not able to fulfill your expectations during your stay. In reference to the comments about our restaurant service, the problem was the massive arrival of guests at the same time because this weekend we allocated a lot of big groups of the same nacionality, and they moved together from one area to another. We sincerely hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting any other Hotel of our company, Meliá Hotels International. Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
1,390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#12 of 192 in Benidorm
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $89 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing