We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant not good”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #55 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely Hotel room large and very clean, pool great only comment is the restaurant, its like a works canteen, no table clothes, or napkins and badly laid out food area, had to queue, would not class 4 star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann61fab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Ann61fab, thank you for your comments. Great Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,093)
There are newer reviews for Melia Benidorm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week’s all inclusive stay at the Melia Hotel Benidorm,our first day we arrived about 12.30 noon so we went to the pool bar and asked for 2 beers, to be served by what looked like a young Diego Maradona,we were given to small plastic cups, as we were all inclusive I asked for large glasses, when the guy went in to a frenzy and spoke in Spanish for 5 minutes, the only thing I could understand was we were not allowed large ones even though we were all inclusive.
There were no snacks available at all around the pool area, or in the hotel, I found this strange as all the other hotels I have stayed at on all inclusive, had snacks all day. our lunch was somewhat disappointing, it was pasta, or fish or Paella, and funny enough it was the same for the evening meal, and this was every day, I complained to the duty manager, he showed me around all the dishes, to tell me what they were, and I had to stand politically corrected as he stated, they had cod at lunch and evening it was Ling, the pasta at lunch was lasagna, and evening was cannelloni, the manager said to me if I was not happy then I should complain to my tour operator, we only had two meals in the week we were there, the food is poor, the manager is ignorant, the staff are very ignorant. The reception bar area, there was one waitress who spent more time on an evening, outside smoking and talking to people, than doing her job and serving paying customers, and she never ever washed her hands after smoking.
The pictures in the lift make the place to be the very posh and nice, wonder were they took the pictures, as they did not represent anything that was in the hotel.
The corridors as soon as the lift door opened you can hear very thing, people talking, the acoustics in this hotel are very poor, if you want a good nights sleep then look some were else
This was a very bad example of how a hotel should be run, never again would I go back there.

Room Tip: if you want a executive suite add another 900 euros to your trip, for a week.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pegasus23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Pegasus23_12, we apologize to you if this time we did not satisfy your expectations about our food and beverage services. Please contact with our Quality Department in order to answer you and try to solve all this matters. Yours sincerely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a very large hotel with a very large reception area, feels a little like a railway station at some point. Staff at the reception was wonderful and very service minded.
Our room was a corner room on the 9th floor, so we got big balconies with great view. The room was spacious and clean - BUT there must have been allowed to smoke in there for years - as the smell when entering the room and of the pillows in the bed was strong and old - it bothered me a bit.
Restaurant is huge, no chance of romantic dinner ;) - but great selection of all kinds of food and everybody can find something to eat there.
Garden is great with great pools - didn´t like the entertainment though in the evening - but you choose yourself whether you watch or not anyway ;).
Over all - great service - nice and spacious rooms - great food and fantastic pool garden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Esteemed Thyri, of all, thank you for sharing your experience in Meliá Benidorm here on TripAdvisor! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays, and we really hope to receive you again! Thank you for choosing us and our company, Meliá Hotels International to spend your holidays! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

just had a week in the melia hotel from the 4th oct/ to 11th oct had excellent facilities for cleanliness and good size room and balconys,less positives are not enough English channels on the tv , pool area plenty of sunbeds but to many shadey areas due to many plants and shrubs,
dining area lack of matre dee to organize the staff, lack of dress code people coming down to dinner in what you wear for the beach no standards for what is supposed to be a 4star hotel,the dining area resembled a motorway service café no table cloths and not enough staff clearing the tables, whilst the food was okay not very hot,and also the hotel had something lacking in terms of atmosphere, next year we will try the hotel nero.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Susan and Jim, thank you very much for sending your review about your visit to our Hotel. We apologize if we could not fulfill your expectations and we hope that this will not deter you to visit any other hotels of our company Meliá Hotels International in the future. Great Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently returned from Hotel Melia, Benidorm, this being our third visit. The entrances, lounges are still very impressive. The check in was quick. We requested a high room and were given floor 20. The room was comfortable and clean and quite roomy. We got the sun all day on the balcony, which was really nice at 5 ish in the evening. The pool area is really lovely, but, the palm trees are really overgrown now. Many of the trees are needing removed and others pruned. As a result, because we Brits go to these areas to see the sun, it meant that one area was cramped with loungers. Other areas never got the sun at all. People were placing loungers on the grass and walkways. Anywhere the sun got through. It's a pity, because the pool area is beautiful. A nice haven from the rest of Benidorm. The indoor pool is an extra asset, but since our weather was excellent, we did not use it. The restaurant is a bit of a problem. There is not enough staff. The chef on duty had to cook everything requested by holiday makers, both in the mornings and evenings. They really worked hard, but the queues for this could sometimes be long. We went earlier to avoid this. The food, we thought, was not as palatable as other visits. It could be cold and sometimes not fully cooked. However we always found something to eat. We were not all inclusive - and were very pleased about that. Listening to those who were, they did not feel that happy with all inclusive. The alcoholic drinks were weak. If there were snacks to be had between meals, few knew about them. We never stayed in for the entertainment at night, so cannot comment. Would we stay again? Possibly, if we knew that the pool area was more open. That is a main part of our holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a high room for a better view. No problems with lifts.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Jeanett G, we like to thank you very much for your review, and for your new visit to Meliá Benidorm. We will appreciate any suggestion that we could add to our restaurant offer in order to improve our service. Regarding your comments about the pool area, the sun sets sooner than summer in this moment of the year and only heats the whole gardens till midday. But there are plenty space in the " Levante" side to sunbathe till the sun goes down. Thank you again for visit Meliá Benidorm and kind regards for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times at various times of the year, and would not consider staying anywhere else in Benidorm. Every bedroom has a pool view and balcony as standard. If you can, ask for a room as high as possible to take advantage of the amazing views. The restaurant has a very large selection of choices at each meal, and the quality of the food is superb, especially considering the quantity they are catering for. All the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located in a quieter part of town, but is still only 10 minutes walk to the beach. This hotel is consistantly of a very high standard, and I look forward to staying there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Higher floors give the best views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear bugrab, we are very proud of receive a nice like this. Your opinion is very important for us because when guests come often they can see all the improvements that we make every day. We hope to see you soon again in Meliá Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from our break in Benidorm. This was our first stay in a Melia hotel and can recommend the hotel. It has a great pool and bar area and the reception staff (in particular Isabelle) were very helpful. We stayed on the 21st floor and had a reasonable sized room which was adequate for our five night stay. Breakfast was fine. The beach is about a 15 minute walk but local buses stop right outside the hotel. There were just a couple of niggles:- 1) we had to pay for our safety deposit box and 2) WIFI is only free if you subscribe to their loyalty card. As this was a 4 star hotel I would have thought that these could have been included. Would I stay here again- yes.

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms face the pool and sea. As Benidorm is a bit of a concrete jungle and as the hot...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Paulo1959, first of all we like to thank you for writing your opinions here. We will consider your comments in order to improve some of our services in the future. Thank you and great regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#27 of 192 in Benidorm
1,800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,389 reviews
3.2 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
919 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#12 of 192 in Benidorm
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#29 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $90 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing