We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCRATCH THE SURFACE”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #55 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Looking at the public rooms and foyer all looks well but beyond that where do the four stars come from. The restaurant is a glorified canteen with a dress code which is ignored and staff do not implemend.Its a pity because the staff are hard working but it shows the hotel is cutting cost. The food is very poor quality and perhaps the rates should be higher and the quality and selection would improve. The whole restaurant needs a make over.The management needs to take a good look and also give the staff some encouragement and training.The house keeping is pretty good but general maintance is lacking. This is not a four star so don't be fooled.Once again I think the staff are friendly and helpful and perhaps the customers could also make an effort at keeping to the dress codes.

Room Tip: Don't go HB or FB you will be disappointed
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBIN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Estimated Robin H., we like to apologize if in some aspects our hotel has been below your expectations. Please contact with our Quality Department and we will answer you inmediatly. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,105)
There are newer reviews for Melia Benidorm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked melia benidorm last minute and myself and my partner were pleasantly surprised- the hotel was excellent, clean, nicely decorated and the room spacious clean and modern. Great choice of food for breakfast(we only had bed and breakfast so couldn't comment on dinner). Hotel was busy but once in the room no noise or disturbance. Staff on reception were very helpful. Great stay and would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegOneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hi MegOneB, thank your for your feedback about your holidays with your couple in Meliá Benidorm. We expect to see you again in the future if you decide to come back to Benidorm.
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is our second stay at the Melia. Last year we stayed at the Palm Beach Hotel which was more like stag / hen beach hotel! We returned to the Melia for many reasons, great looking hotel, fantastic lobby, very spacious, lots of seating, piano playing helps to relax. Reception staff were good on checking in. Lots of lifts, all working. We stayed onthe third floor, our air con was not working, but we were told it was not switched on as the spanish were not hot! To be honest this annoyed me, but actually I needed to get used to the climate and as it was abit cool at night and there was a breeze from the sea, we didnt need it on anyway. Food was good at breakfast, plenty to choose from, orange juice machine was abit naff, but they made up for this with cold bottled water and cava aailable. Pool is amazing, the best in Benidorm. Lots of sundbeds, palm treese and gardens to seclude yourself in, rather than rows of sunbeds. The outdoor spa in the pool was not working like last year. The only downside I have this stay, is that the hotel allowed a stag group and a hen group in. We stay here as they dont normally allow them in, it annoyed me as they were noisey coming home at 4am and they were noisey around the pool at the bar. It would have upset the kids had we taken them. Get rid of the stag and hen do's and this is by far the best hotel in Benidorm. Some reviews say its along way from the beach, it is not, its 800metres up a street with cafes and shops so its no drama!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the road will pick up the noise from drunks passing inthe street at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hello Richard M.! First of all we like to thank you for sharing your comments with all the Tryp advisor followers. We apologize if sometimes during your holidays you could not enjoy your rest because of any other guests, we are a very big hotel that allocate different type of guests at the same time ( couples, business men, families with kids, groups on young guests...sometimes it is not easy to please everybody but we try the best we can. Best Regards! P. S : The distance from Meliá Benidorm to the Levante Beach is 400 mts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Melia in April , there was seven of us in three rooms , one room was for myself and my husband who uses a wheelchair., the disabled facilities are excellent and the room lovely, we were on the first floor. We stayed BB and the breakfast was fantastic , so much choice. The staff were friendly and always smiling , would definately go there again, we felt so relaxed there it was lovely, Although your not near the front there are some good restaurants and clubs very near and we were never short on places to go , a sure winner is Levis showboat , with three coures for eleven euros, lovely food and entertainment

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainew19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E.-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Elainew19, first of all thank you for your feedback. We expect that you come back to Meliá Benidorm in the future to enjoy with us again. Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having been here before 3 years ago, we were very disappointed this time.
Pros and Cons are as follows:

Pros -
the pools are great (but very cold mind).
The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are made everyday

Cons (sorry but it's true)

- we booked a double room, it's not...it's a twin - two twin beds pushed next to each other. (less and less romance follows!)

- The food is dull and boring. it's true most of it tastes out of a can or cheap meat. One of my meats were pink and raw inside (within a stew).

- Jaccuzis indoors very greeny yellow (from pee?) bit gross. Water doesn't seem to get changed.

- It is a large, rushed canteen style atmosphere where you eat. They want you in and out asap and trust me, there is nothing to loiter for. Me and my partner were hoping for romance, nice meals together...none of this AT ALL. Horrible tacky ketchup sachets and no salt and pepper on the tables. no free water. Everything has a surcharge. The plates and glasses by the way are really grubby - we reported this and the staff agreed. they did nothing afterwards though.

- the bar tender on at night in the small bar near the reception area was crude and sleazy. When my partner went down alone to get some ice for the room, he said he enjoyed watching her by the pool area, he said "nice body" and drew curves with his hands and then reached out to try and kiss her hand. This was on night one, she therefore developed near a phobia of going near the bar after that because of him. He made her feel very uncomfortable. We needed ice every evening as it was difficult because the rooms were SO HOT. Brings me to my next crucial point.

- The management had refused to turn on the air conditioning...as, wait for it..."the spanish were still cold". I explained I had night epilepsy and had informed them of this before booking (so we had a low room) and they apologised and said they'd turn it on on Monday. (3 days later). They did not. They lied. I had two bad seizures and hurt myself a lot. Bad for me and the missus. Complained again, they said the spanish were still cold. The whole hotel was boiling at night, but the few Spanish guests were ok i guess. I was pretty tired out on the Melia by this point, being ill and lied to.

- The location, it's quite far from the beach when you factor in the direct heat. It's about a kilometer, much longer down the beach near the old town, which is hard. We are both an active, slim and fairly young couple and it was hard for us. Many people our age who were a little overweight hired mobility scooters because of how far it feels when you are walking there (no joke!).

The management left a note and nice small champagne in our room. I figured they were apologising. No it was for the guests 2 doors down, not us.

The whole stay was near ruined by the heat at night, bad health due to this and the very rude and offensive staff. No room service worth mentioning.

This is not luxury, this is roughing it with a once luxurious bow wrapped around it.

We would like our money back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Estimated Shaun N, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay at our establishment, as well if some aspects of the Hotel have been below the standards you expected. Please contact with our Quality Department and we will answer you inmediatly. Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Im planning my next visit to this hotel and thought a brief review might be useful for anyone thinking about staying here.

The building itself and entrance foyer and lobby is quite impressive. Apart from checking in at the front desk which seemed sluggish every other aspect is very good. Food for all inclusive is standard fare and acceptable. Rooms are well equipped and maintained to a high standard as you might expect from Melia group with all the goodies a room should have.

The gardens and pool area are fantastic. With bars well stocked and service with a smile. The location is just outside the buzz of the benidorm nightlife but it's a short walk away to the main highlights and the beach.

If you can get one of the deals offered by Melia it can be reasonable price wise. Dress sense for some guests is questionable but when you're on holiday not a big issue. No rowdy behaviour during my visits so all in all a very comfortable place to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experinece at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Estimated Bill M,, we apreciate your review so much, because you have a good opinion of all the diferent aspects in our hotel. We will carry on working hard to offer you our best service on your next visit to Meliá Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A large group of us (ladies) celebrating "40th" Birthdays have just returned from the Melia. Firstly Maria Lopez who made our booking at the hotel ensured we had a fantastic stay and was very helpful. The hotel has certainly got the "Wow Factor" and the rooms, restaurant, food and pool area were of a very good standard. Anyone thinking of booking in a large group should stay at the Melia. We were not made to feel out of place and were welcomed warmly by the friendly staff!! All in all an excellent hotel for large groups, Families or couples and the pool is absolutely stunning!! We will definitely return to the Melia!!! A definite 10/10 for the Melia!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliali20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_MeliaB, E-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi aliali20, thank you very much for your feedback!. We also enjoy sharing with all of you this special event. We hope that maybe in the future you will choose Meliá Benidorm on your next trips to Benidorm, with your friends, couples or families. Kind Regards Ladies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#38 of 192 in Benidorm
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
1,390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#12 of 192 in Benidorm
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#29 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $86 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing