We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Melia, Benidorm”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hotel Melia, Benidorm”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First impressions of this hotel were good. All the plants and greenary added to making it look very upmarket. We arrived Saturday evening just in time to get in for the final hour of the evening meal. Check in at Reception was quite painless and we were taken to our room by a miserable porter (hence no tip for him). We did get a room on the first floor which we had requested, which was good as we had our 83 year old mother with us. Very unusual setting there was an office close to our bedroom with working staff in it. No complaints about the room at all to say it was Benidorm it was very peaceful, we overlooked the pool area and was far enough away from the road so as not to be disturbed.
The restaurant was very much like a works canteen, very noisy and hard to get a clean table, cutlery was like gold dust, severely lacking in staff. It was also very poorly organised and items were hard to find, who would put butter on the hot counter (dum). Nothing seemed to be where you would expect it to be. I thought that the food at the weekend was very good, probably because there were more Spanish people in. Monday seemed to see a drop in choice and I thought the food went downhill. On saying this the puddings were always to a good standard. We stayed on a HB basis and on the first day went to the pool bar at lunch for a drink, this was the first and last time, my sister was charged 23 plus euro's for 2 gin and tonics 1 malibu and orange, (rip off) across the road at the local bar's we would get charged between 13 and 15 euro's, we would normally have wine with our evening meal on holiday but did not buy another drink in the hotel, once bitten twice shy, over the road got all our business. The hotel Manager ought to seriously review his drink prices, this is my 3rd holiday abroad this year and I have never been charged anything like this, no wonder everyone sitting listening to the pianist had no drinks.
Wouldn't like to have been on a higher floor as lifts were hard to get, also never been in a hotel were there wasn't an alternative staircase, from our floor the stairs were the emergency exit stairs very underlit and time the cleaners gave them a clean lots of dirt around.
The bar's over the road are very good especially the Rock and Roll bar, be early though or you will be struggling to get a seat. Also Rachels bar worth a mention.
The weather was exceptional for the time of year and we did really enjoy the holiday, not sure I would return to the Melia it seems through the reviews the hotel is a bit up and down.

Room Tip: Go for a lower floor, I would imagine in busy periods the lifts are a nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    1,384
    696
    269
    173
See reviews for
1,236
1,611
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Room 2004 on the 20th floor was pleasant. No tea or coffee making facilities though!
We paid for Half Board but we ate out most of the time, the restaurant is like a canteen & you are lucky to get a table although the food is plenty & varied.
The entertainment could be better, again we ventured out for entertainment.
It rained the whole weekend we were there so we had a spa day within the hotel with a massage etc... Very good & reasonable.
The hotel is a bit of a walk to the beach and the old town so unless you're able & mobile don't book this hotel.
We went to the Benidorm Pslace for a meal & show which was fantastic & a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.
I would return to the hotel but on a room only basis.
Drinks are quite expensive compared to the bars outside.
€10 euro deposit for each pool towel & a bathing hat is needed for the indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HertsLaracroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend stay in the Melia. The staff were very friendly, rooms were very good, well maintained and very clean. Restaurant food was self service with a wide variety of choice, something to suit everyone, staff did not rush you so could make a night of it, good choice of wines, all spanish, but I do enjoy spanish wines the most. There was a large outdoor pool with extensive gardens and plenty of sunbeds.Good location, 2 mins fro Benidorm Palace and only 10 mins walk to the beach. Would return her in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed in hotel from 03/10/2012 till15/10/2012 booker through travel republic
and asked as always do for high floor ,when we checked in were given keys for foom on 8th floor
when i asked for a higher floor we were given one on 21st floor with an apology for not allocating
high floor.
Food very good although rest was very busy we never waited more than a few mins for a table
bar service was good and fast ,the whole hotel was spotlessy clean and we would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: 4th Floor doesnot have anyone above you do not miss rock and roll bar opposite first class show
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport, cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was my second visit to the melia benidorm. this time i went all inclusive which is very good. however the standards of the hotel are slipping. firstly with the pool, i found it to be quite dirty in areas, plastic cups remained from the previous day and the bins were not emptied. The swim in jacuzzi did not work for our entire stay. you needed to be up at 8am if you wanted a sunbed, even earlier if you wanted one directly by the pool itself. secondly the meals were not as good as my last visit, non inclusive members had bottles of soft drinks with meals where the inclusive members were given just a glass, i asked for a bottle one meal time and was refused. The new italian corner was the same stuff everyday, very boring and tasteless for a high standard hotel. The food had a good choice but mainly catered for spanish guests, i found it difficult to find food my daughter would eat. several mornings i had to ask staff to refill the juice machine or top up the croissants. The bedrooms were a good size with air con and flat screen tv. only a few english channels but not a problem. large balcony with great views. The inside of the hotel is clean and reception staff did a good job to help. entertainment was average and very repetitive.

Room Tip: rooms on the lower levels had 2 extra lifts. if i remember correctly this was floors 4 and under. hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleysangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

have stayed here 3 times now and it never fails to impress. Beautiful airy rooms, spotless. Maid was in every day, we were b+b. Breakfast choice was vast with something to suit everyone and all palettes. Lovely pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM40Fife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days with my wife and 2 children. On checking in (which took and age with the grumpy staff) we were assigned our room on the 8th floor.
We went to our room only to find that it had 2 beds and a small fold down bed/sofa.
I went down to get us changed to a room that had enough beds for the 4 of us.
I found the young woman at reception very unhelfull and with poor English so eventually asked to speak to a manager.
After some 10 minutes wating a young man turned up and took me into the assistant managers office. He was extremly helpfull with very good English and explained to me that the hotel only has rooms with 2 beds. Even the best rooms only have a larger pull down sofa bed. He told me that the agents who booked the rooms had done this numerous times knowing full well there wont be enough beds for four.
He said the agents were Jumbo tours although we actually booked through ON THE BEACH.
We had to pay 100 Euro to be upgraded to a superior room where our 2 kids could share the larger bed sofa.
I am presently trying to get a refund for the 100 euro from ON THE BEACH.

As for the hotel.
It was clean and food was okay for 4 days tho might get a bit boring after longer. Pool was lovely.
There is a supermarket just across the road which is very cheap and handy fo supplies for lunch. (we were half board)

Hotel is a good 900m from the beach according to Google maps, but it felt longer walking it.

Room Tip: Floor 14 has a lovely view but waiting on lifts can sometimes take an age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#7 of 192 in Benidorm
1,316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#39 of 192 in Benidorm
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Property: Melia Benidorm
Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing