We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depends on the time of year”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #47 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
chester le street
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“depends on the time of year”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

just got back from the Melia with my wife and find it hard to understand some of the negative comments about this hotel . I can only put it down to different times of the year but we found this hotel great . We arrived at 12 at night and were given a room on the 2nd floor straight away and asked if we needed anything to eat or drink as we had arrived late . The room was top qulaity and the service good throughtout out stay . The food was excellent and the pool area was top quality .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianpyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    1,340
    664
    246
    161
See reviews for
1,179
1,550
74
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Imposing twin concrete tower buildings sitting towards the rear of Benidorm in beautiful gardens with its own lagoon style pool! Side entry to the open atrium 4 storey high entrance hall leads you to the reception on the far right - if you can find it through the tropical trees and plants! Only two staff at reception led to a longer than expected check in due to an awkward punter tying up all the time of one of the staff - who are these people, pah! Four high speed lifts feed the 23 floors. We were on the 20th floor suited me cos of the great views but my wife didnt like it as she hates heights! Lifts served all floors very efficiently though. Rooms eere an excellent size with two queen sized beds pushed together and plenty of floor space. Dont bother with the flat screen TV unless your Spanish is up to scratch but who watches telly anyway on holiday eh? Tiled bathroom complete with hairdryer is tops! Room has a deposit useable safe in the mirrored wardrobes and a phone. Sliding patio doors dont have a lock but if you want to try balcony hopping 23 storeys up good luck to you! Head for the restaurant for some decent selections of food! Defo mainly for the spanish clients so remember what country you are in before moaning! Lots of fish, pork etc. Watch out for the plates out of the cabinet they are red hot! The regular sound of crashing plates was quite funny as it also happened to me. You go to pick up a plate and literally get your fingers burned - then crash! Restaurant was the only let down for me. Queues on the way in and way out at peak times in Sept is not good! Once in its a bit of a free for all trying to grab a cleaned table wasnt easy! There didnt appear to be anyone in overall charge in there and the staff were well overworked! More staff Melia please? Some staff had a smile on their face and worked their butts off others played at working hard on meaningless tasks! They got our drinks wrong a few times and the bills were quite often different even for the same drinks! Now to the pool and gardens - absolutely first class! This is when you think wow! This is luxury! Pools are superb! Plenty of sunbeds. Only criticism would be that there are too many trees therefore too many shaded areas which sounds unusual. If youre not AI pool bar is a rip off so head across the road for a drink.Gardens are superb though and entertainment team are lively an fun! Across the road yo have a Brit Strip of about ten pubs which are really great and saves you having to go into the main areas of Benidorm which can be a bit mad! Overall a brilliant hotel which we will defo go back to! Sort out your restarant before we arrive Melia will you please??

Room Tip: Up high for a superb view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Room474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just completed a 4 night stay at the Melia. Overall very impressed. The Pool area and gardens are an absolute oasis in Benidorm. Plenty of sunbeds but even in mid September you need to be up early if you want to claim more than one.

We stayed half board, the breakfast menu excellent, Full English if you want it, cereal, fruit, continental or pancakes if you prefer a lighter breakfast. Same with the Evening meal, a very varied choice and as much as you can eat.

The rooms are reasonably sized, clean and functional. Maid service to make up the beds and change the towels is daily.

My only gripe was the amount of time waiting...Either at reception, it took 45 minutes to check us in and there were only half a dozen people ahead of us. And the lifts !!! In 5 days I'd guess i spent a total of about an hour just waiting to get up or down from the 4th floor. You need to be a detective to locate the stairs, which are really a fire escape. Nt really an issue though, I was on holiday and not in any rush.

Having wandered around Benidorm I really wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else, purely for the fantastic pool area.

Room Tip: Facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_Bateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went in Sepember (would not wish to go in July or August as too busy) 7 nights all inclusive. Staff friendly and helpful, resturants provide many choices and to a high standard. Pool area offered shade from sun if required and there were plenty of other activities on offer like table tennis, water polo and volley ball.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAYVINLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The rooms was good, beds were very comfortable and looked over the pool area from the balcony,(the room need better cleaning ) good view from room 602 and short walk to the beach, the breakfast was definitely the best meal of the day BUT dishes and glasses dirty,the pool area is the best in the area, massive pool , water clean but not over chlorinated, plenty of sunbeds,the Reception staff need some english lesson, Melia is beautiful hotel but need MORE cleaning !

Room Tip: Room 602 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funfunfun081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August 2012. The rooms were nice and cleaned daily. Staff were helpful and some were quite friendly, but some, especially in the restaurant and bars, seemed too busy and were a bit grumpy. Nothing personal - probably just overworked and not in the mood to be friendly. We heard some English guests saying they thought the staff didn't ike the English but they were the same with all the Spanish guests too.
The entertainment was amusing - a bit cheesy.
It was our first all inclusive holiday and we were a bit worried in case the food was not good. However, we need not have worried at all. The choice was very good and the food was very nice. Pizza, 3 types of pasta, paella, choices of fish, meat, stews, chips, potatoes, salad bar - even the deep fried brocolli was amazing! There was a great choice of deserts too. Choice and availability of drinks was good - red, white and rose wine, beer, sangria, local spirits and a choice of 4 cocktails (and soft drinks!). The cocktails were not up to much in my opinion but they were ok. There is a bar open somewhere in the hotel all day, up to 12 midnight.
The main problem with the hotel is the lack of sun loungers around the pool. I have no idea what time people get up to put their towels in place - when we went down for breakfast every sun lounger had a towel on it! We resorted to sunbathing on the grass - with sun loungers next to us not being used for 4 hours but having towels on them! We probably would have complained if we were there longer but it wasn't too big a deal - the grass is nice and soft to lie on anyway!
We attempted to use the gym but with no air con it was impossible to exercise in there. If you want some exercise just take the stairs instead of using the lift! We had a massage in the spa and that was very good.
We checked out at 12 on our last day and because our flight was not till the evening we used the courtesy room to have a quick shower which was good as we had been by the pool (on the grass) all day.
We were really pleased with the Melia overall - the rooms are spacious, modern and clean, the communal areas are nice (especially the sofas in the lobby and the pool), the drinks are unlimited and the food really good and all freshly cooked. Most of the clientele were Spanish when we were there and the food and entertainment probably reflected that, but it's not a bad thing in our opinion - you are in Spain after all! If you want British food all the time, cheery red-coat-style staff and a Tina Turner tribute act in the evening, it might not be the best place for you, but otherwise it's a nice place and deserves its four stars. If the staff smiled a bit more and the gym had aircon it might get a five!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tzicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is a 4star Hotel,. the food is more of a 5 star it really is very clean, maid service everyday.The entertiment is a rubbish,but walk across the road plenty of good pubs with great turns on.Would go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
0.6 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#27 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Property: Melia Benidorm
Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing