We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get some new staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Uptown

Uptown
Ranked #154 of 817 Restaurants in Benidorm
Price range: $5 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Tu nuevo Punto de enc uentro!!!! Diferente, atrevido y urbano..... Ese es nuestro concepto para que te sientas en tu casa!!! Comida, bebida y tus copas!!! Acercate a conocernos!!!
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Get some new staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We called in to have a meal at this restaurant yesterday evening 10 June 2014 to be greeted by one of the rudest young ladies I have met in a long time, her name was Lorraine as I asked. It was just an nuisance for her having to serve us as she was busy drying cutlery.

Having ordered drinks we just said we had changed our mind and went to another restaurant due to her bad manners. Why business owners hire these young kids who have no work ethics and leave their business in their care is beyond me. My advice would be to get rid of this "lady" or else send her on a customer service course.

We ended up having a fantastic meal in a nearby restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrMiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    58
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel just opposite this very cute bar/restaurant. Friendly waiter, Kool decor, nice vibe, food was very yummy! Chips were the best I've ever ate! The price was fair and food served in good time! Would go back and recommend!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jem_may85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant dies nit exist anymore”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Even called the number and made reservation yet under the number and address is now a cafe with little food selection - did not try it but do not think rating from mi casa can still apply

So forget and lose his one ( unfortunately) - if somebody knows where its moved to please post it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose Carlos G, Propietario at Uptown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Google Translation
querido Stefan B. :
Mi nombre es Jose, nuevo propietario de Uptown (anteriormente Mi Casa). Entiendo su frustracion al encontrarse con que Mi Casa ya no existe, pero permitame informarle ahora de la nueva situacion:
Es verdad que ahora ya no es un restaurante como antes, y nuestra mejor definicion seria mas bien hamburgueseria, o lo que se conoce como restaurante de comida rapida, pero con un toque gourmet. He de decir que no estamos nada de acuerdo con su observacion de que solo somos un cafe y que tenemos solo unas pocas cosas en carta. Lo que tenemos fuera en el cartel, solo es orientativo para que la gente sepa, si le apetece pasar, el tipo de comida que ofrecemos, pero ni mucho menos es SOLO lo que tenemos. A pesar de ser un restaurante de comida rapida, no significa que no podamos tener, varieda de productos frescos y buena calidad. El tipo de publico que recibia Mi Casa, sin duda, era muy diferente al que se recibe hoy en dia en Uptown. Permitame decirle que si hubiera pasado a informarse de la nueva situacion, se lo huniera explicado personalmente, porque no pretendo engañar a la gente que viene guiada por TA, y las antiguas reseñas. Sirva esta respuesta tambien a todos aquellos que en su dia comieron en Mi Casa, para explicar que ahora es una carta mas informal, para cenas con amigos o con niños, sin esperar una comida como carnes a la brasa, pescados... etc... Ahora servimos Hamburguesas, Tostas, sandwiches.. etc... pero le ponemos mucho cariño y presentacion a los platos, porque, insisto, que sea ese tipo de comida no significa malas presentaciones y comida en platos de carton..... Servimos todo con el cariño que se merece y con mucha calidad. Nuestra especialidad ahora son ensaladas, hamburguesas y la estrella es nuestra hamburguesa de Buey 100%, servida con mucho cariño.... Nuestra bandera, y lo puedo decir muy orgulloso, es el servicio y el trato a los clientes, sean quienes sean... y me gustaria finalzar la respuesta, invitandole a volver y a que nos den una oportunidad a todos aquellos anteriores clientes, eso si, recordando que el concepto de cocina es totalmnente diferente a lo que antes existia. Y solo un apunte final, es verdad que reservamos mesa, como hicimos con Vd.( por suerte tenemos mucha afluencia de gente), pero no hubiera estado de mas, que hubiera pasado a decir que no era lo que buscaba, o cualquier otra excusa, y no haber dejado la mesa reservada durante la hora que estuvimos esperando a que apareciera.
. Sin mas, reciba un cordial saludo.... Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lovely little Tapas, very friendly me & my girlfriends had a great time can't wait to go back this summer!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moths2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Restaurants Visited in 3-Week Trip to Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Really enjoyed everything about this place. Wonderful service, ambience, and food. Loved it so much we visited both nights we were in Benidorm. Ordered the special both times -- $20 euro for 6 tapas and a bottle of wine. Felt like a great deal. Food definitely seemed higher quality than what we saw at the other dining places down the hill. Our parents loved the place as well. Strongest recommendation here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaFlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irun v, Owner at Uptown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I would like to take the opportunity to thank all other contributors, who took the time and effort to write something about our small restaurant. During the last 1,5 year we have tried to offer our guest a nice and welcoming bistro in the old town in Benidorm. Something different, with a friendly smile. I think we have succeeded in that and we can look back at a great time with lots of friendly, funny, nice customers and many special moments (2 wedding proposals, birthdays, special parties, christmas and new years night etc.).
For us the time has come to concentrate on a new project, so we have decided to stop with Mi Casa and move on. We hope that you, when you return to Benidorm, give it a try with the new owner. A very sympathic spanish guy, who we wish all the best of luck in the future.

Best wishes,
Team Mi Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptown also viewed

Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing