We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 105 needs putting in Room 101”
Review of Babylon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benidorm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Babylon Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Benidorm B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Me and my partner booked this hotel for our first holiday away together and couldn't wait to get away. We booked Babylon through Travel Republic for the 11th-18th July and got a reasonable deal for a reasonable hotel.... or so we thought....

We arrived at the hotel at around lunch time and told our room would be ready in about 20 minutes; we have arrived home and are still waiting for it to be 'ready'.

Room 105 is the smallest room in the hotel from what we were told by Tony the owner but we were getting a 'good' room because it was on the back of the hotel and cool at night.... LIES! We hired 60 euro air conditioning unit which saved me and my partner from coming home in a body bag from either heat exhaustion or killing each other from being so wound up with how hot it was!!

The shower in the room didn't drain out so we had to turn it off every couple of minutes to let some of it drain out slowly so that we didn't end up swimming around our bedroom.... That is not all for the bathroom... there was no curtain or door between our bedroom and the bathroom meaning that as a new couple we had to get to know each other much better a lot quicker... We had no option but to view each other on the toilet all week! The owner mentioned this needed sorting when we arrived and assured us it would be sorted the next day.. This was still not done as we shut the door and left the keys...From reading some previous reviews this was an issue then that was promised to be fixed and still isn't now. The step down to the bedroom from the bathroom came away on our final night and I slipped and injured my back and foot!

The headboard was not attached to the bed so this rattled all the time...

We had some very noisy neighbours arguing in the corridor at 5am but no hotel staff stay on sight so we had to listen to over an hour of a domestic!!


Finally and most importantly....

Whilst out on a night out 140 euro magically disappeared from our locked room (as the room safe wasn't in working order) and if it weren't for my parents we would have been over a day's money short for our holiday... This was very upsetting on the second day of our holiday but we didn't let it stop us having a good time regardless of our shocking hotel... Benidorm especially the old town is fantastic and we would go back in a heartbeat but not to the Babylon Hotel....

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying in this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Babylon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived to find that only one of the two rooms we had booked was available. They blamed it on hostelworld; but my partner rang three days before the holiday to confirm they had our booking; to which they said yes and went into detail about which rooms we had booked.

Our friends were put up in the nearby Casa Don Juan, which was a palace compared to this budget hotel. They were the lucky ones.

We on the otherhand were told at midday our room wouldnt be ready till 2pm, when we went to check in later we were told that the family who were in our room were supposed to move rooms, but hadnt yet. In frustration we said we werent stopping there, so we were offered a basic room at a reduced rate. In desperation we agreed- this was a mistake, we should have walked out.The bedroom picture is misleading, as we saw in a few 'standard rooms with balcony', they were nothing like this. Our bedroom, room 205, had damp and mold on the wall, no television, a noisy ceiling fan, faulty shower door, loose flooring and tiling. Mold and mildrew in the shower and the bathroom. Also the room is unbearably hot as no aircon.

Not once did the manager Tony come up and apologise to us, the error was left to the roof terrace barman to sort out. All in all a really disappointing experience, from staying in this hotel, to being split up from our friends who we were on holiday together. The only positives were our friends hotel was paid for by the babylon hotel, and we were all given a free complimentary pint of larger on the roof terrace, and a reduction of 35 euros. Great central location in the old town.

Room Tip: Dont book one, we were recommended Hotel Rocamar for next time.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we arrived at 11am and was told the room wouldn't be ready till 2pm. which left us 3 hours to find ourselfs something to do. when we arrived back at 2pm, we were able to check into our room, which was very very small. The room itself was very basic with 2 singles beds, 1 wooden wardrobe which wouldn't have fit both of our stuff in it. And there was just no air into the room. Hotel states it has air conditioning, but it does not! we had a very cheap roof fan which didn't help in the slightest and the noise that came from it in the evening when trying to sleep sounded like an aeroplane. A few hours into having the room, we was approached by 2 staff members demanding we pay for the room, which we already had paid. The bathroom which had no door on it, was very basic, a shower & a toilet and the best part is above the actual toilet was the boiler!. and then there was a door from the bathroom leading to the corridor of another room, which had the smallest lock on it. I would steer well away from this hotel. Needs a few more english staff.

Room Tip: Sleep on the roof terrece, you will have a better nights sleep up there!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We wandered off the beaten track around the gay area, 6 football loving "straight" blokes then saw a hotel advertising a roof terrace. Feeling in the mood to experiment we decided to give it a go.

What a revelation. On top the hotel a small, terrace with sun loungers, great company and Alan (sea-biscuit) serving beers with a smile the little visit lasted 7 hours and we are considering staying there next year. Sangria was the funniest as he had to carry all the fruit downstairs to make it and we met some great people Jill and her daughter, a scouse couple and two local guys as well as a group including a gay bank manager.

Give it a go, well worht it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Babylon and I defy anyone not to fall a little in love with this charming hotel. We stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom but that wasn't a problem, the facilities were close to the room and everywhere was spotless. The service we received was second to none, in fact we spent most of our days on the fabulous sun terrace being entertained by the lovely tony and his team. Nothing was too much trouble.if you had a late night (which we often did) breakfast was served when you wanted it.Karen,Alin,Alastair,Juan and Gladys, thank you for looking after us so well. We will definitely be returning.Gill and Juleen

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from 9 days stay here, We had a fabulous time, mainly due to the great staff, Yes the hotel rooms can be basic, depends on what you book as it caters for all budgets. We booked a double room half board ensuite with balcony. Some of the rooms have a shared bathroom which does not suit a lot of travellers. The bed was a three quarter which was a bit too small for two adults, but got sorted out after a couple of days when we got an extra single too. We had a small balcony off both the bedroom and bathroom. The room was noisy from the street below and the "mopeds" but after a couple of nights and earplugs we got used to it. We had a ceiling fan which was adequate as the rooms at the front don't get the sun.The hotel is clean and the roof terrace stunning and very hot, too hot for a few people, I certainly feel a lot fitter from the four flights to the roof terrace a few times a day!! perhaps a parasol would be a good idea. Karen, Alistair, Gladys and Juan do an excellent job and is a credit to the owner Tony. If you have any issues speak to Tony who will do his best to sort things out for you. This hotel is in a great location in the old town and just steps away from all the beaches. Value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not book a room at the front of the hotel although these are the only...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tony and his staff are great , hotel being slowly refurbished room by room & when time allows , roof terrace great , down stairs bar area good , drinks cheap , food great .

I can only comment on my room 105 and one other I saw .

!05 is not a good room, I spoke to Tony about this room when we were staying last week, he is aware of the issues and is dealing with them.

The other room was fine spacious and the en-suite was big although I think the shower was on the small side & a larger person might struggle to get in it.

Breakfast is served when you get up when ever you get up it's on all day ...fantstic for long sleepers like my wife.
Breakfast is great.

Tony bought & paid for a birthday cake for my wife which was a really nice touch .

If your HB or FB you can eat in O'Maras restaurant 30 seconds walk from the Babylon .

We were made to feel most welcome in the Babylon & never felt like outsiders or aliens as we were a staright couple in the gay quarter & in a gay friendly hotel, we had concerns about this because of other reviews on the net we had read, we found everyone to be very welcoming & nice.

We wish Tony & his staff every success for the future .

Stephen & Pauline

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doo407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#17 of 192 in Benidorm
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic Fenicia
Hotel Magic Fenicia
#74 of 192 in Benidorm
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#45 of 192 in Benidorm
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Santa Faz
Hotel La Santa Faz
#82 of 192 in Benidorm
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#72 of 192 in Benidorm
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#12 of 192 in Benidorm
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Hotel

Address: Calle Alicante 28, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Benidorm
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing