We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem in Benidorm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babylon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benidorm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Babylon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Benidorm B&B and Inns
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Benidorm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Bayblon is proof that you CAN make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Tony and his team have produced an excellent little intimate and infinitely welcoming hotel out of something that until Tony took over had a fearsome reputation.

The rooms are good sized and spotless, the menu is excellent and VERY reasonably priced. The quality of the food and presentation are excellent. As an ex Hotel Inspector, I can honestly say that this one really comes out tops for value for money, location, service and the kindest welcome you are ever likely to receive anywhere.

Other reviewers have mentioned the roof garden - it is sheltered, beautifully and lovingly kept, and a real oasis of relaxation in the heart of Bendiorm Old Town.

The staff are totally accepting of people with alternative lifestyles. Nothing is too much trouble.

In short, probably the best overall value and service in Benidorm. Oh, and if you need to know the weather forecast, ask Kai, one of the ladies - she'll talk to the seagulls for you, and she is ALWAYS right. So don't just think about booking - do it, and find out what a welcome really is.

N and C, March 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for room 120 - just refurbished, with a lovely little balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    23
    17
    31
See reviews for
12
74
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

First the positives - great location,clean, great bar area, roof terrace and FREE Wi FI.
On the negatives - very small, very basic rooms.

We booked a double refurbished room - we arrived and were asked to pay for the room ( this is standard practice in Valencia Province), however we said no until we had seen the room - thanks good we did not, the room was tiny, only big enough for a double bed and 2 bedside cabinets, very basic!!! - it was not was we were led to believe, so did not stay. I must say the owner was very good about it and we just lost our deposit ( 15 euros).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon_Benidorm, Owner at Babylon Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for your review. The Babylon is refurbishing all its bedrooms and we hope to be completed by the end of 2013. Whilst no hotel wants to see a negative review we try and look at each issue and see what we can do to address and remedy the problem. I feel that The Babylon offers fantastic value for money especially in the old town, something we aim to continue for all our guests. I hope you will come back and review our refurbished rooms. Regards..........Tony Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited the roof garden twice during our stay in Benidorm over new year. The weather was very good and the roof terrace was a real suntrap. Lots of lovely plants and trees in pots well cared for by one of the partners. Good quality furnishings and sunbeds with towels.

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

We ate there on both occasions. The food was lovely and huge portions. The prices were very inexpensive. A bottle of cava was only 7 euros.

I hope they can make arrangements for some kind of dummy waiter system as it is a real climb for the staff to take the food from the ground floor to the roof top. It will be murder in the summer for them.

The hotel bar downstairs is typical of old town Benidorm establishments small and cosy. I would consider staying here on another visit. I just love the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon_Benidorm, Owner at Babylon Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it really matters to us and we are always looking at ways of improving our service. We are looking at taking over the building next door from 1st April which should double the size of the roof terrace and create space for a kitchen and seating area……so no need for a dummy waiter (we all keep in very shape running up and down the stairs). We are always please when guests and customers enjoy our food, large portions and good prices is what are about.

We look forward to seeing you again…………………Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I can honestly say that I have never received such a warm welcome in a hotel! The rooms are clean and simple but spacious. The roof terrace bar was absolutely fantastic - they had to literally close before we would leave, it was so relaxing and felt like being on a completely different continent. We had our breakfast there the next day and it was great value and plentiful to sort out our poorly heads. What a shame we were only there for one night - we will definitely be staying there on our next trip to Benidorm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon_Benidorm, Owner at Babylon Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it really matters to us and we are always looking at ways of improving our service. The roof is a wonderful place to shake off the previous night’s excess and recharge the batteries. I will pass on your comments to the staff team who will no doubt be very chuffed with your comments. Kind regards................Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just back after 5 days at the Babylon, and pleased to say what a change that has happened to the hotel, had stayed there a few years ago, and vowed would never return, however having heard that it was now under new management and it had changed / improved decided to give it another try, and was pleased I did, the hotel has and is continuing to under go a total refurb, my room was at the front on the first floor, very nice room, recently upgraded and spotlessyl clean, with tv and tea / coffee making facilities, the only downside I noticed was the rather small shower cubicle, which I'm told is also due to be upgraded to a bigger / full size, that aside all the staff are very friendly and helpful, and special thanks to Tony the owner for all his help and warm welcome, he has a good team working for him, and hopefully the hotel will go grow, the hotel , along with Benidorm was quiet as the big fiesta has just finished , the hotel also offers an excellent range of meals and snacks, and all at excellent prices to match their quality , I had the small cooked breakfast which was excellent and set you up for the day and only 3.95 euros. Thanks again to Tony and all the team, and look forward to my next visit, the only other negative I would mention is the sound levels late at night in the street, however that is not the fault of the hotel, and only a small niggle

Room Tip: would guess rooms not at the front may be quietier, but having said that rooms at the front have sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrahamCleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon_Benidorm, Owner at Babylon Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, the team will be so pleased with your comments. We will be upgrading all the rooms over the next few months with a programme that includes full sized walk in showers and upgraded facilities in all rooms. The menu is being expanded to include some new breakfast options (Eggs Benedict, Scrambled eggs with salmon and other favourites). We always appreciate reviews, they help us to improve our services and ensure that all guests receive the best quality. Once again many thanks…………………….Tony Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the 3rd time ive stayed at the Babylon since being under new ownership, it is spotlessly clean, rooms are of a good size too..

The staff are all very friendly and welcoming! a lovely cosy bar, a beautifull roof terrace in warmer months thats so relaxing.

Many thanks for a great week!! see you soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garyg786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon_Benidorm, Manager at Babylon Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi Gary, thank you for your review. I showed Kai and Pilau your comments and they both beamed with pride; they work so hard to make sure every room is spotless. We hope to have the new bar in by the time you come back, lots of excitement about having a soul, Motown and swing bar in the old town……………………….we can’t wait. Kind regards…………………..Tony Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

just to say have just spent 14 fantastic days at the hotel babylon where the hotel is is very clean freindly and the food is of high qaulity and would visit there anytime anytime as it is situated in the old town of benidorm ,and a warm welcom is awaiting all visiters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon_Benidorm, Manager at Babylon Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, Jan, Kai and Gladys will be moved by your comments. They work so hard to make sure that every guest is looked after and made to feel welcome. As a small hotel competing with the big chains we aim to go that extra mile and your review just makes us know we are doing something right. Kind regards………………Tony Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#11 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Santa Faz
Hotel La Santa Faz
#90 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centro Mar
Hotel Centro Mar
#50 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#81 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#66 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Hotel

Property: Babylon Hotel
Address: Calle Alicante 28, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Benidorm
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing