We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time unlucky”
Review of Babylon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benidorm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Babylon Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Benidorm B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at the Babylon for the 3rd time at the weekend just gone. We went back as previously, accepting it's cheap and....it's cheap, we'd had quite good time there despite it being a bit dated, after all it's a bed and a shower.

Unfortunately this time was the straw that broke the camels back as we ended up in the grottiest room with wardrobe that had quite literally fallen apart, a shower that kept flooding and spraying everywhere, a bed that was all lumpy (I think the mattress may have been recovered from a skip) and next to a room where a resident member of staff left his TV on loud every night it kept us awake (we even banged on his door to complain but he'd gone out)

This place needs a SERIOUS revamp and it could be so great if they just gave it some TLC. It doesn't quite qualify for 'dump' status, but it's getting close now.

Advice from us - if you can find no other cheap place right smack bang in the heart of the gay scene in Benidorm, and all you care about it partying, enjoying yourself and perhaps sleeping a little in between, book this and hope for the best. If you want a 'hotel' experience for your weekend, this place is likely to make you wonder why you parted with the 35 euros per night.

One to swerve it you want quality, one to go for if you're happy to slum it, as slum it you will!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front tend to be better and if 'enjoying the company of your fellow guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelmsford-Fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just got back from 10 days at the Babylon and I had a fantastic time. Yes I know that there is no air conditioning in the rooms and some of the decor is a bit tired but you can quickly ignore that as they are some of the friendliest and most helpful people you will ever meet. The regulars in the bar are also all friendly and welcoming. The drinks are some of the cheapest you will find in old town and the food is also very good value. I had a front-facing balcony room (1st floor) and yes it does get pretty noisy but you don't go to Benidorm to sleep do you? Great fun place to stay and I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank philetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Missed my flight and with little money left I was directed to Babylon Hotel the room was clean the staff and management so helpful I will return asap thank you all for your support
Noel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alteringimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Just got back (23/06/11) and cant believe some of the reviews im reading. Dont get me wrong yes it was cheap and now i no the reason... Booked last minute as we wanted to be in the heart of the gay town. which yes it is cant fault the location.
I think ive read somewhere that the rooms got a revamp lately all i can say that not all of them did surely?
We walked into the room and the smell of damp and the heat that hit us was horrible. the room was VVVery small, im only a skinny lad and i found it hard to get round the bed.
Most people when you get to your room go round it and look forward to seeing what was behind doors. we had a wardoorbe with no hangers. above the toilet was the boiler so you hit your head when you get off the toilet. the shower doors didnt close so the floor got soaked. we were there for 4 days threes nights never got the towels changed never changed the bedding. the worst thing was that there was NO Air Conditition. it was 27c at night and with no aircon it was horrible. we had to walk round the room in flip flops or your feet would be black straight away.

the only good things was the location.
Yes it was cheap but you couldnt even pay me to go back to the B&B / Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank northwales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Returned here after a quick visit in 2010, and can't believe the changes, so good we stayed for a month in the hotel, and was well worth it!
Rooms clean and comfortable, roof terrace is great for early evening beer before heading into town. Easy access to Old Town and gay area, and only 5 minutes meander to the beach. Friendly staff who are always willing to help, just ask for Theresa.
Shall definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becks8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel in some 6 years and I have to say "what a difference". Newly decorated, smart, basic rooms, with tea and coffee making facilities. Super friendly and very helpful staff and management. Stayed for a week at the begining of May in this central Old Benidorm Town hotel and had a lovely time. Very convenient for walking around all the shoping area's, as well as within a short walk of both beaches either side of "Old Town". Has a very convenient and quiet sun roof terrace with free "sun loungers", so you dont have to walk to the beach at all for a quick tan. Don't forget that you are in the centre of town and you do occasionally get some noise from passers-by and late night revellers, but nothing different from the rest of town.

Room Tip: ask for balcony room to ensure your at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrightonDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

To the people that stayed here before & new guests u need to come here, New owners (Marina Hotel) & new staff, rooms revamped, Great value All day breakfast only 2.50 Euros & evening meal from 4.50, happy hour (s) (7pm-12) Brill prices, choice of basics rooms (shared Bathrooms & showers) or en-suite rooms @ great prices & everything on your doorstep from bars to shops to Park or beach. you can call them direct & get for same price as on internet, Give it a try & i`m sure u will want to go back again, Front facing rooms can be a little noisey as on a side st, Back facing rooms quiet but can look into each other but bright, & there is a roof terrace with all day sun where u can eat, drink, & smoke & FREE WI-FI

Room Tip: see above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davesalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#104 of 192 in Benidorm
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
1.5 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benibeach Apartments
Benibeach Apartments
#19 of 108 in Benidorm
454 reviews
4.2 mi away
Las Terrazas del Albir
Las Terrazas del Albir
#32 of 108 in Benidorm
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Hotel

Address: Calle Alicante 28, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Benidorm
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing