We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing birthday meal! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paneil's

Paneil's
Ranked #5 of 817 Restaurants in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very popular restaurant with both locals and holiday makers. Excellent prices for quality cuisine and high standard of customer care. A restaurant with minimalist tones and great ambiance.Full steakhouse menu plus a wide varity of starter and main course meals cooked to a high standard.Full childrens menu available and large parties catered for.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing birthday meal! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Just want to say thank you to all the staff at Paneil's for an amazing meal for my boyfriends birthday on 28th April! The food was scrummy and the biggest fillet steak we have ever had in a restaurant with homemade chips to die for! The prawns in bacon were huge and very tasty and the banoffe pie was the best and biggest slice I've had! The banners and singing happy birthday was a lovely touch! Food is excellently priced for the top quality you receive! This restaurant is benidorms hidden gem and anyone visiting make sure you book a table!! Food was so good we booked again for end of the week and enjoyed everything just as much as the first visit! Hope to see you all again on future visits!! Xxx

Helpful?
Thank DaniellaMaria12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    142
    42
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Have been he twice before First time food was bad second time food was good third time food was bad They done have a lot of choice if you like fish I had the brisket this time OMG you needed a hacksaw to cut it We asked for mash pots got enough to fill a teaspoon they gave us little roast pots did not want them asked for mash Its the first time we have been in and the staff were different as we'll so don't know if it's different owners The chef was singing at the top of her voice in the kitchen not really what you want to here in a restaurant They must have know we were not happy with what we had as they keep on coming over and asking if everything was ok Will not be going back here again

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickBenidorm, Owner at Paneil's, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Linda. Thank you for your interesting review posted today. You get to have your say, So do I... OK. To start off. Yes the owner is still the same person. Patrick I have had Paneils since 2005. I am sorry you didn’t get to see me. I do have nights off. I am very fortunate that I have a great team working for me. Yes there are relatively new front of house staff including Lee my front of house manager. He started in December last year after years in the Hospitality industry.
You have mentioned that you have been in the restaurant a few times before and weren't overly happy with these experiences, so I find it strange you come back again especially when your favourite restaurant that you also have done a review for in the same street and you gave a fabulous rating. You choose to mention our chef was singing!! A sign of a happy Chef and was singing between going from the kitchen to the stock room. Why would this upset you? Your favourite restaurant, just so happens to have a chef that thinks he can be an after dinner speaker to all his customers. Telling them all about how good he is.
You mention that you only got a small amount of mash. That is because you asked for the potato option which is actually half mash and half sautéed potatoes. . Not small roast potatoes. If you had asked we would have been happy to have got you more mash... this costs cents and would be happy to do this to ensure customers satisfaction. Regarding the Brisket being tough... we would have changed this for something else if you wished. Obviously the reason for coming over to you is because we could sense you weren't entirely happy with your meal and wanted to try and put that right, However its obvious you would rather leave the restaurant and then put a bad review on which just so happens to help out your little self obsessed French chef friend across the road. Perhaps in the future you stick with what suits you best, Half of peach with cream cheese instead of freshly produce vegetables. Patrick and Lee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Again pre booked from the UK. Nice ambience. Rapid and good service from the manager (Lee?) who took time to chat, as did Gary (Garybaldie, his nickname!) the waiter. Very good fod and good portions, and excellent value. Also chatted to the chef who is a fellow Scot. We will return on our next Benidorm trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-TaxTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I travel all over the world with my work and have eaten at some classy places where you pay top dollar for good food. At Paneil's you get top dollar food for very fair prices. As it is quite a small cosy place you can't help but overhear some comments from other tables at times. Everyone seemed to be saying the same; how wonderful the food is. I didn't have the steak but the table next to me were raving about theirs. Great staff too. You MUST try this place........and try it on your first night. You'll end up going back believe me. Be aware it's a popular place you might be best booking ahead

Helpful?
Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Sunday Dinner for 7”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Group of 7 dined around 8pm Sunday, Food and service were fantastic. If you have never eaten here, try it, you will not be disappointed

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paneil's also viewed

 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Paneil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing