We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time here”
Review of The Vagabond

The Vagabond
Ranked #6 of 877 Restaurants in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays
Redcar
1 review
“3rd time here”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just back from a week in benidorm ate at the vagabond last Sunday,we were greeted very warmly by Fred, the whole meal was excellent starting with the tomato soup which was really tasty followed by the pork and a superb dessert. 3rd time we have been and it is still for me the no 1 restaurant we also ate in pneils in the same road no contest.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keithhutch214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,228
    98
    26
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in old town benidorm”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Go here every time I am in Benidorm This is the best place in town for food You can not fault it Freddie and Mary welcome you like old friends they will remember you every time you go in The cook in the smallest kitchen I have ever seen ,but the food is first class Anybody who writes a review and says the don't like it is mad or don't know what good food tastes likes service is excellent food excellent LOVE IT

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fouroulou, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
i have jut wanted to thank you for your last visit and for the all wonderful comments you wrote about us. I am sure that you have read the answer you had from the loser and a sick person down the street and each time he has a bad review he thinks it is us.
i did answer this review just to tell a people that we deserve our success because we have done it ourselves with our hands and sweat and we do not hire hamburger flippers every month so he does not know even how to boil an egg but he should proud of his tables and chairs and his hard job by opening a register and collect the money.
On your next visit you will get a double peach with cream cheese rather than boiled veggies and chips and microwaved lamb from Eurofood Company.
I have just want to tell Trip Advisor that MY LAST CONCERN IS THAT RESTAURANT,
we do not give a Sh about him i do not even know if it still exist.
Stick with the real food Linda and see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Special anniversary dinner”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We read reviews on here before our trip and decided to make a reservation here for our anniversary. When we arrived they had a table set up for us with a special sign for us and balloons, also heart confetti on the table, which was very sweet. Fred took the time to go over the menu for us and even brought us out a sample of the pumpkin soup(it was excellent and we ordered that, as well as other dishes he recommended that were all superb.) After each course he took the time to come out into the dining room and make sure everything was good at each table. When our dinner was done we were treated to a complimentary glass of cava and then he brought out a cake with sparklers and sang to us. So much fun and a wonderful way to spend our 18th anniversary. Before we left that evening we made a second reservation for the following week to bring our kids back with us. The second evening our food and service were just as good, and again we were treated to an extra glass of the wine we were drinking at dinner. Also again we saw Fred in the dining room throughout the evening, and enjoyed chatting with him very much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albir
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb As Usual”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Another superb evening in Vagabond, A very warm welcome by owners Fred(Chef) & Mary and front of house Mairead who looks after everyone so well......This really is a team effort with food and presentation which one cannot fault, This is an intimate top class venue so I would recommend booking to avoid disappointment. We always enjoy our evenings here and return as often as we can..........Go on spoil yourselves.........

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterStebbingsAlbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We visited this restaurant last week, in april.
The soup of the day was very,very salty.

The food was really nothing special.
The plate was crowded with a half of peach and cream cheese ( on every plate, why ??? )
Our chicken was very dry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank IdJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vagabond also viewed

 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing