We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As it is review”
Review of Servigroup Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Servigroup Calypso
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here 05/08/13 till 15/08/13 and this is a review of the hotel as it is (not the resort Benidorm). As everyone has different tastes it is not what I or my family liked or disliked. I hope this review helps you make up your own mind based on actual facts of the hotel as it is.

Location - In the heart of the entertaining nightlife (comedians and tribute acts/singers). 5 - 10 minute walk to the beach.

Hotel Reception - Very helpful, not busy with added bonus of a receptionist from Scotland. 4 lifts serving 11 floors the 3 main ones at the front take a max of 5 people at a push and can become busy as a lot of people in groups of two or three do not enter when one or two people are in the lift. The larger lift (around the corner towards the bar area) can take more people but is rather slow. Access to the first floor via the stairs requires your room card to open the electric door.

Rooms - Stayed in a family room for 4. Room had 2 double beds (beds were hard and creaky) dresser with mirror, full height shelving unit for clothes and built in wardrobe. Not much space around the beds and furniture. Room Safe 20 euro with 10 euro deposit returned when key is handed back. Fridge very small (more of a mini bar type). No tea/coffe making facilities. No bin. Air conditioning/heating. Bathroom has hair dryer, toilet, basin in the corner (little room for toiletries etc), bidet and bath with shower. No lockable door. Hot water available 24 hours a day. Balcolny approx 6 metres long, no sun at anytime, nor did the majority of the pool facing rooms. House keepers came in every day.

Pool - Access to the pool area is only accessible through an electric door that requires you room card to open it. However saw a few people waiting until someone came out and then entered pool area when the door opened. The pool is quite small approx 8 meters x 17 metres and is a salt water pool, not chlorinated, so is a bit dirtier than expected and obviously a mouthful tastes salty. Large patio area. Large fixed square umbrellas and a few moveable small circular ones. The signs around state that no reservation of beds are allowed and towels will be removed after 15 minutes. This is not true. No towels were ever removed. One day I counted 102 towels on beds with only 6 people in the pool. These were not used for over 2 hours. There were plenty of free sunbeds however but no space under umbrellas.

Dining - As everyone has different tastes I cannot say if the food is to your standard. It is the 'usual' buffet set up as in most other hotels, lot of variety, fresh meat and fish cooked on the grill, repeated weekly, but can get busy as the dining room is not open as much as other hotels.
Breakfast 08:30 - 09:45. Lunch 13:00 - 15:00. Dinner 19:30 - 21:30

Entertainment - Local entertainers, keyboard players dancers and singers.

The hotel boasts of free wifi throughout. This is very slow and very hard sometimes to connect. We had 3 phones all of same make, sometimes we could all connect other times one of us other times just two of us.

As the hotel is part of the Servigroup chain of hotels all residents are entitled to free entrance to the 10:30pm show at the Benidorm Palace every Wednesday night (a saving of 29 euros per person). You must ask about this as it is not explained and book your tickets at reception. Transport is available for 6 euros per person however it is approx a 15 to 20 min walk about 1.3km. Tickets go quick as this offer is for every Servigroup hotel which there are 11 of in Benidorm.
Overall a nice clean basic hotel.

Room Tip: All double rooms are single beds only. The only double beds are rooms for 3/4 occupants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

just returned from the calypso .had a nice break . we arrived late at the hotel the dining room was closed they had kept a plate of various cold meats and salad which we found very helpful as we did not want to go out to look for food .we had a room in the annex with a pool view and of a good size .the pool was small but adequate .no need to get up early for a sun bead as there was plenty available for august .the only negative point I have as others have said on here is the entertainment in the evening ballroom dancing which was not to my taste ,if there was a variety of entertainment few times a week it would keep a lot of the guests in the hotel which would be nice . the food was very good plenty of choice especially the breakfast .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngleseyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

stayed at this hotel 4th-15th aug 13 and although i couldn't fault the customer service was very disappointed . pool was a lot smaller than the photos would let you believe, felt that the terrace could be a little smaller to allow for a slightly bigger pool as they had water aerobics in the pool every morning and unless you were joining in there wasn't a lot of space. i found the food repetitive and the variety was great if you like fish which there was plenty of. i found the rooms to be ok in size however, the bathroom was tiny. entertainment was awful, nothing except ball room dancing. there are a lot of international customers not just Spanish people holidaying there so a little variety would have been nice so if you fancied a night in the hotel you had a choice. enjoyed the free benidorm trip which was laid on by the hotel, so thank them for that. finally i would just like to say that they need to get the drains sorted as the smell in our room some days was really bad. i wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isandrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments as knowing our guests ‘opinions helps us to improve our service.

We apologize if the hotels facilities didn´t meet with your expectations. We would like to inform you that the hotels ‘swimming pool measures 20 meters and its width is 9,50 meters. We consider it has a good dimension for the capacity of the hotel. The water activities by the pool only take place for an hour in the morning.

We are sorry to hear that the food was repetitive. We do offer an international buffet which is carefully chosen by our catering department, where at least one fish and meat dish is served in both lunch and dinner services, a part from different vegetables, rice, pasta, soups, salads etc..

Regarding the bathrooms, we have to say that all bathrooms are due to be refurbished in all rooms.

During high season, our hotel chain receives an international clientele which means we have to provide a varied entertainment programme to suit all nationalities. We apologize if we didn´t manage to entertain you.

We are sorry to see that all the efforts that we did to make your stay comfortable did not meet with your expectations.

Kind regards,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having stayed at the Calypso twice now agree with those who criticise the food and entertainment. Firstly the food is bland at best and repetitive. I admittedly am a fussy eater, however there is a bizarre ritual at the Calypso, where they serve chips every morning at the breakfast buffet, however trying to get chips for your evening meal is a hit and miss affair, roughly every 3rd or 4th night, from my experience. The desserts consist of 3 or 4 layer cakes all the same except different toppings, obviously bought in and not baked on site. I was astonished to find on the last evening of my stay 10th June 2013 when I entered the dining room, all the tables and chairs had been changed. Gone were the dining tables with cotton tablecloths and napkins and in their place small formica tables and chairs crammed together so badly that it was very difficult to try and sit at a table without disturbing diners who had their back to you. The dining room now looks like a cheap version of McDonalds! There can be no explanation to this so called "upgrade" of the dining room except that more diners can now be crammed in at one sitting and the real reason I expect is that Servigroup are making huge savings on no longer having to launder tablecloths and napkins. When staying at a so called 3 star hotel, I expect a bit of comfort while dining and not to have to sit at a formica table with a paper placemat and as others have said be seated next to total strangers as the tables are so close together it is embarrassing! As for the entertainment, I'm afraid that it is still the same old ballroom dancing night after night and absolutely nothing in the way of decent entertainment!
Both the bedrooms ant the bathrooms are sadly looking a little tired and could do with being brought into the 21st century! Staff are very helpful, Elaine at reception deserves to be commended as she always goes out of her way to help. To sum up, the Calypso is in a good location, food is ok if you are easy pleased, entertainment is dire, the dining room "upgrade" has turned a hotel restaurant into a McDonalds clone and the rooms and bathrooms are a little tired.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe overlooking the pool tend to be quieter, but if you are looking for a sunny balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekagrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you took writing your comment as knowing your opinion is the tool to improve our service.
We were sorry to hear that your stay didn’t meet with your expectations, with reference to your comments regarding the food; we do offer an international buffet which is carefully chosen by our catering department, where a wide choice of food is available. None the less we do appreciate our guests’ opinions, as customer satisfaction is our sole aim.
We apologize if the new restaurants furniture didn´t meet with your expectations. The management decided to renew the tables and chairs in all our hotels in order to modernise it and make it more useful for our guests. We also intend to be more respectful with the environment as these new tablecloths which are changed and cleaned with every use, don’t need as much use of chemical products and are more hygienic.
We are sorry to see that all the efforts that we did to make your stay comfortable did not meet with your expectations.
Kind regards,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First time in Benidorm for us, cannot fault the Calypso in any way, nice clean rooms, friendly staff. Lovely swimming pool. You need a card though to get into everywhere even the toilets but i can see why, most hotels in benidorm you can just freely walk in and walk around in, we did go in numerous for a look round their pools, so i can see that the calypso dont want this happening. The entertainment at night wasnt for us mostly ballroom dancing, they could sttract more people to stay at night if there was a bit better variety of entertainment. Have to say well done to Oscar though for keeping my son and other youngsters entertained through the day with Pool/darts/table tennis etc, a really nice man. The food was excellent, lots of fish though, however the chicken, pork and beef was always good, loads of sweets for afters, and the ice cream was gorgeous.
Benidorm itself wasnt really for me, nice in the day, but very busy at night with promoters constantly shoving tickets and flyers in your face to get you into somewhere. Morgans tavern was good though ( neptunes off benidorm). Really good acts in there, Deb n Her were the best act we saw in benidorm, 2 girl singers. The beach was lovely and clean, really busy though, DO NOT GO NEAR the potatoe men, not even to watch, they will pickpocket you,and they have others that are watching out for the police. Same with the men that want to take a picture of you with their monkey, the monkey does the same.
Pay a visit to levis showboat, a great night out. Didnt go to benidorm palace but i believe it was good. Had a good holiday, loved the Hotel, but wont be going to Benidorm again, not really for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trickyNelsonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed in another of the Servigroup Hotels, The Rialto and both have been excellent. We travel to Benidorm frequently and will now only use the Servigroup Hotels as they take some beating. The hotel was well maintained, immaculately clean and the facilities and pool area were extremely accommodating. What made our week was the friendliness/helpfulness of the staff. They were wonderful. We will definitely be working our way through all the Servigroup Hotels! Excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonGP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First time in this hotel went end of July myself and my husband could not fault this hotel so glad we stayed there. Had a room in the Annexe over looking the pool although our room was a bit on the small side as it was at the end of the block would have prefered in the middle however excellent Hotel & location.Staff very helpful could not fault any of them. Food brilliant great selection. Liked it so much just booked it for my sister & her husband for September. I know they will enjoy it.Lots of entertainment in the area plenty to do lots of shopping. If you are going they do not supply towels for pool but you can buy them so cheap in shops this is not a bother. Went to show in Benidorm Palace a show not to be missed brill. Must say had reservations about going to Benidorm but we will definitely be back soon( Calypso Well done).

Room Tip: rooms in annexe quiet nice view of pool but no sun on end of block rooms over games area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
1,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#25 of 192 in Benidorm
3,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#23 of 192 in Benidorm
1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Calypso

Address: Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $86 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Servigroup Calypso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. Set just 300 m from Levante Beach in Benidorm, Hotel Servigroup Calypso (3 star superior hotel) offers a large outdoor pool, with a garden, sun terrace and loungers. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Rooms are tastefully decorated in pastel colours and come with a private terrace. They also include a satellite flat-screen TV, a minibar and private bathroom with hairdryer. Air conditioning is available in summer. The Servigroup Calypso offers an entertainment programme and night-time activities. There is a games room and a play area for children. The hotel has a buffet restaurant which features show cooking and serves international cuisine. Vegetarian and celiac menus are available upon request. The poolside Gaudí Bar serves drinks and light meals during the summer months. A lounge bar can be found in the lobby. Friendly staff at the hotel are happy to provide information on Benidorm and its various attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Servigroup, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Servigroup Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Calypso Hotel Benidorm
Servigroup Calypso Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing