We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value”
Review of Servigroup Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Servigroup Calypso
Ranked #15 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent 10th-24th June @ this Hotel.
Reception staff were very good on check in & for the duration of our holiday ( they even arranged an early breakfast on our early flight departure)
Room was very clean & presentable apart from small décor damage! maids in every day.
Food in restaurant was ok with a good choice to suit all needs. The Hotel was spotless & also had a nice relaxed atmosphere for all middle aged & elderly clients
Evening Entertainment was clearly aimed @ the more mature clients!
Would recommend this hotel as a very good central base or for mature couples!
Would use again as it is excellent value for money & very clean!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    443
    118
    16
    16
See reviews for
277
692
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have been to Benidorm a few times and we decided to try a different hotel, I read the various reviews and based on these we decided to try the Calypso, and to be fair the reviewers got it more right than wrong, but there were issues that were disappointing.

I thought the public areas of the hotel were spotless, I thought the food and food choice in the evening was excellent, although the breakfasts were a little sterile, I thought the pool area was great, these were all the really positive things and perhaps we were unfortunate but we had issues, these were....

I was looking forward to a very friendly staff, this was not what we found, we talked to all the staff we had interaction with, cleaners, reception, bar staff, and with a couple of exceptions in the bar area, they were reticent at best and rude at worst, when we checked in, the gentleman on Reception, was brusque to just short of rude, and we received little or no responses from the restaurant staff during our 2 weeks there, that is not to say we didn't see lots of friendly banter between guests and residents, we certainly did, it was like you had to go at least 3 or 4 times and you were given a secret handshake which got you accepted by the staff.

One of the things that sold me on the Calypso was free WiFi anywhere in the hotel, what they didn't clarify was that it was anywhere apart from my room, I highlighted this to the Reception 3 times, with no success, although halfway through the 2nd week, it mysteriously started working, I can only assume that a regular guest complained about it.

I had read that the rooms were smallish, for smallish read tiny!, we were there for 2 weeks and there was nowhere near enough cupboard space for 2 weeks worth of clothes, the beds were uncomfortable, with a very thin mattress on a solid wooden base, the toilet was so small I almost had to step over the bidet to get into the toilet, the shower area in the bath was very narrow, and you had to wrestle the shower curtain off you the whole shower time, but by far was the state of the toilet seat, it was so pitted and scratched we had to cover it with toilet paper when using it., sadly the cleanliness standards of our maid were poor, talc left on the toilet floor, toilet not cleaned etc.

If anyone cares to look at my previous reviews they will see that I am not a "professional" complainer.

Would I go there again, I might, but it would depend on a couple of things, I certainly wouldn't want a room facing the main street, the noise reduction capacity of the balcony door window is non existent, and they would have to share the secret handshake that's gets you the odd smile from the members of staff.

Ian C

Room Tip: Pool facing or in the annex if you want any sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank s1dlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your comments as knowing your opinion is the best tool to improve our service.
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the attitude of our staff. We would like to inform you that all our guests are important for us and we treat everyone in the same way.
Regarding your room, if you had informed at reception, they would have, immediately, changed you to a quieter room. We would also like to inform you that we are waiting for the managements´ approval to start the refurbishments in all the bathrooms. The new mattresses are a little bit harder than the old ones. In any case, if you had reported it, they would have changed it for you.
During two days in the month of June we had certain problems with the WIFI antenna on the first floor. This issue was rapidly solved by the company in charge of the Wi-Fi in our hotels. Independently, if it’s a regular guest or not, we always try to solve any problems as soon as possible. Unfortunately, it does not always depends on our maintenance team, but in other external companies.
We sincerely apologise for not meeting with your expectations on this occasion, whilst always trying to innovate and improve, our sole aim is to please and satisfy all our guests, please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be taken into account.

Kind regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is situated in the centre immediate reach of all entertainment. First class service, food is very good but could a change in the menu help? We travelled to Alicanti this time on a tour and loved the scenery. Alicanti is a beautiful place to visit.

We loved the friendliness of all the staff they are very friendly and polite. Entertainment was very good, rooms are cleaned every day. We went to Benidorm Palace free of charge from the hotel, the show was excellent loved the spanish dancers. The cost of the show is free a charge of 6 euros for travel is a good idea as the show finishes 1am .

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kneen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just stayed at the Calypso in Benidorm, Lovely hotel and the staff were very pleasant, The free night at the Benidorm Palace was exceptional and much enjoyed by all of our group. Rooms are a bit on the tight side, as was the bathroom. Food is hit and miss, could always find something to eat, but choices were limited, a lot of different fish dishes. Main problem was the pool area, it does have a notice that reservation of beds is not allowed, however there were people up at 06.30 am to put their towels out, which is stupid seeing a holiday is supposed to be restful!!!!. The management needs to provide more Parasols then the problem would not arise. most people were booking the parasols and leaving chairs tables etc. near them .There is no animation throughout the day at the pool for children, Evening entertainment is dire .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 76Joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel is in a really good location for beach and nightlife,staff are lovely and helpfull really friendly,food is really good and good choices,just had 4days there with 17girls and nothing was a problem ,hope to have a few more holidays there.......

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and towels clean every day....we over looked the main road and wasn't a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back from 7 nights stay at the Calypso.This hotel is one of the best in Benidorm.The one thing I found most pleasing was the staff.We holliday 3 times a year and I have never seen such happy people as the staff who work here. Nothing is a bother to them. We do not sit round the pool much but when we did there always plenty of sun beds about.The food was great at all meals with plenty to choose from.There is free Wi-Fi internet all areas including your room.The only thing I will say is the rooms are a bit small and the bathroom is tiny but other than that this hotel is great.Give the Calypso at try , you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186394Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel. Whilst everything is ok about this hotel I really must express my dismay of what the management have decided to upgrade the dinning room! It's like sitting in a transport cafe, instead of having a pleasant meal with your partner you, have to share with a stranger! On a small glass table with no tablecloth, just a small placemat to put your plate on. What are they thinking, if you drop anything on the table it will shatter so, it's not safe!! How would they feel having to share their table will a person who eats with their mouth open, cannot use a knife and fork and speaks so loud to their partner you would think they were in next room?? Why did you change IT? The bidet in the bathroom is in the way, you have to go into the bathroom sideways, get rid of it. You nee more umbrellas around the pool?? How often is it cleaned, it was cleaned once in a 11days when we were there. We will not be returning or recommending this hotel ever again to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your comments as knowing your opinion is the best way to improve our service.

We apologize if the refurbishments made in the restaurant did not meet with your expectations. Our aim was to modernize the aesthetics and functionality of the dining room. We would like to inform you that the tables are not made of glass, they are tables for two people. It is true that in some areas of the restaurant, the tables are very close to each other, but guests choose where they wish to sit, we never sit guests in the same table if they don´t come together.

We would like to inform you that we are carrying out a project to refurbish all bathrooms. At the moment we are doing certain tests in the rooms waiting for approval from the management.
We are sorry to hear you felt there were not enough umbrellas by the pool area.
Regarding the swimming pool, we are sorry if the cleanliness was not satisfactory, we would like to inform you that it is cleaned daily by our maintenance staff as soon as the pool area closes in the evening.

We are very sorry if you felt that we did not meet with your expectations and be sure we will take in account your comments to improve in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#16 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Calypso

Property: Servigroup Calypso
Address: Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Servigroup Calypso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Servigroup Calypso is located 300 m. From Levante Beach in Benidorm.Facilities and services:Modern building with an elegant and attractive entrance.Large sun terrace with swimming pool for adults and children, sunbeds and parasols. Bar-terrace and garden area. Spacious and comfortable bar-lounge in the main building and lounge-bar "Gaudi" in the swimming pool area. Games room.Entertainment programme and disco music at night. Children's playground.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet area at reception area (supplement).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 105Rooms296 rooms with every comfort: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, bathroom, balcony, direct dial telephone, LCD TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Servigroup Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Calypso Hotel Benidorm
Servigroup Calypso Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing