We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay at the Calypso.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Servigroup Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Servigroup Calypso
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at the Calypso.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

As usual, the Calypso did not let us down. We made a one week trip to see friends in the area and choose the Calypso as our base. Everything came up to our expections from previous visits, the staff remembered us and we met guests who obviously are regulars because they had been there too during our stay earlier in the year. We look forward to staying there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good, central hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are sunny but can be a little noisy at night if you leave the patio door open. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    434
    117
    16
    16
See reviews for
275
679
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Calypso Hotel in Benidorm (20/11/12- 27/11/12) and I can honestly say that this stay was just as impressive as the first time we stayed last year. The hotel is ideally located with eye catching water feature outside that everyone passing appears to choose to have photo taken in front of it. We were warmly greeted by Anne at Reception who is so friendly it gets the hol off to a great start. Just when you think that the staff can't get any friendlier then the star prize has to be awarded to Merche in the restaurant who is funny, warm, crazy and a delight to encounter. The food is fabulous with chef prepared fish and meat dishes prepared at lunch time and dinner time. The rooms are clean and bright, english tv channels in room .. you just pay 10 euro deposit which you get back when remote is returned. Rooms above waterfall get the sun on the balcony from early morning up to about 4:30. Maids clean the rooms daily and cant fault the hotel. Stunning bar area with dance floor and altho ballroom dancing isnt my cup of tea,,it is still a pleasure to admire the dancing and music that takes place nightly. Drinks 2 for 1 offer at the bar make the euro stretch further. Servisgroup chain hotels offering free night out at Benidorm Palace. Maggie hotel rep very knowledgeable and friendly ..Morgan's tavern across the rd has great entertainment so does Talk of the Town (lots of bars close down until xmas after the fiesta)
Shops in levante side are not as good value as those in the old town so well worth holding onto your euros until you've looked there first. Cheap to travel by bus as its 1 euro 45 cents regardless of how many bus stops you travel too. Benidorm is not everyones cup of tea and yes there are some tacky shows and plenty of sportsbars and broken pavements however dont let this put you off as the old town is very spanish, lots of lovely tapas bars, shops, picturesque views, entertainment galore in new town and beach is the cleanest in Spain i've seen. Beware of the mobility scooters that now come in limo size ,, but hey Benidorm wouldnt be the same without the golden age members. Good acts in my opinion are Shoewaddywaddy, Joyful Joyful, The Fantastics, Rikki Stevens, Elvis tribute act Dave Keegan..
Few final tips ,, avoid money exchange kiosk between Calypso and Sol Pelicanos as it offers high rates but rips you off, best money exchange is in the indoor market at top of street. Also dont pay for tobacco with english money as the shops will gladly accept english money but give you poor exchange rate i.e. 112 when it was 121.50 at money exchange bar.

Room Tip: request room on front of hotel higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denise e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Calypso is a good hotel situated in the Levante area of Benidorm close to bars and entertainment. Good Food with a varied menu which I felt offered something to suit all tastes. Clean rooms and friendly staff. The 2 for 1 deal on most drinks in the bar which is on offer at all the servigroup hotels was an added bonus. The only downside as far as I was concerned was the entertainment which was mainly devoted to sequence dancing and did not allow too much time for any normal type dancing. There were also a few cabaret acts. Overall this did not detract from my holidayas there is lots of entertainment close by. I was holidaying as part of a mature group and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have sunny balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graysave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just back from 10 days at this hotel. Second time here and it's as good as ever. Staff welcoming, friendly, helpful from top to bottom, especially Elaine and Merche. Hotel clean, good facilities and a good location. Pool clean, spacious, plenty sunbeds.Rooms comfortable, well-equiped, towels changed every day. Food very good with a great choice. Entertainment is mainly ballroom dancing. Not everyone's choice, but the hotel is still a great base for good entertainment in the surrounding area. This hotel is probably best suited to older couples.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of the hotel get the sun all day, and have the view, but as they face onto the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougie_f_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Awful beds. Air con didnt work. We also had a flood when after pulling the plug in the bath we had dirty water coming up from drain under sink- this flooded as far as the corridor outside the room, this was dealt with with within an hour after reporting it twice, we struggled to explain to the guy on reception as he didnt seem to believe us at first. Awfull entertainment, if you dont like ballroom dont stay here. Sometimes difficult to get a table at meal times. Alot further than 300 metres to beach. More like 1000 metres. Had to use the steps as lifts were always full and main lift out of order the whole week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dissap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments as our clients opinion is very important to us in order to make changes where necessary, rectify any error and continually monitor our services.

We apologize for inconvenience caused due to the lift being out of order, unfortunately as we depend on an independent company to supply the parts this took longer than anticipated.

Regarding the nightly entertainment we can only apologize that on this occasion you did not enjoy it as we do try and please all of our guests and this type of entertainment is popular amongst the majority. However, we do understand that this is note to tall guests taste but it is difficult to please everyone at the same time.

Also, we would like to inform you that during the month of October the air-conditioning was operating in the hotel as we did not put the heating function on until the beginning of November. At present we are still using the air-conditioning in the bar and restaurant areas.

We hope that our comments have been of help to you in clarifying these matters.

Kind regards.
Customer Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rojales, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel was very welcoming, first room we had was a room with a view of nothing really except a roof, I had emailed hotel to ask for a room at the front as had stayed at hotel previously and knew this would suit me best, Ane at reception explained this wasn't possible but I could be moved the next day which I was to the 11th floor and views were great. The staff in the Dining Room were wonderful as was the food they couldn't do enough for you. If there was a downside I would say it was the entertainment, mostly Ballroom Dancing, not for me !!!! Having said that Hotel is in a central location so easy to get to alternatives. Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Rooms at front have view of town rooms at back have view of swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just back from a week at the Calypso, we found the hotel to be very pleasant and clean, all staff were very polite, food was OK good selection of vegetables and salads. Our room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom needed refurbishing but all very clean towels changed every day and linens changed more that once in our week there.
Word of warning to unsuspecting guests please hold onto your handbags when entering the revolving door, I had my purse lifted which held several hundred Euros, think I was followed in by what I can only describe as 3 gypsy women who caused a distraction by dropping some coins to enable them to carry out the theft but I tried not to let that episode spoil our break, the weather did that on it's own it rained for most of the time , better luck next time.

Room Tip: We requested a front facing room to take advantage of the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#20 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#15 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Calypso

Property: Servigroup Calypso
Address: Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Servigroup Calypso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Servigroup Calypso is located 300 m. From Levante Beach in Benidorm.Facilities and services:Modern building with an elegant and attractive entrance.Large sun terrace with swimming pool for adults and children, sunbeds and parasols. Bar-terrace and garden area. Spacious and comfortable bar-lounge in the main building and lounge-bar "Gaudi" in the swimming pool area. Games room.Entertainment programme and disco music at night. Children's playground.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet area at reception area (supplement).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 105Rooms296 rooms with every comfort: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, bathroom, balcony, direct dial telephone, LCD TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Servigroup Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Calypso Hotel Benidorm
Servigroup Calypso Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing