We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Servigroup Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Servigroup Calypso
Ranked #13 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Awful beds. Air con didnt work. We also had a flood when after pulling the plug in the bath we had dirty water coming up from drain under sink- this flooded as far as the corridor outside the room, this was dealt with with within an hour after reporting it twice, we struggled to explain to the guy on reception as he didnt seem to believe us at first. Awfull entertainment, if you dont like ballroom dont stay here. Sometimes difficult to get a table at meal times. Alot further than 300 metres to beach. More like 1000 metres. Had to use the steps as lifts were always full and main lift out of order the whole week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dissap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments as our clients opinion is very important to us in order to make changes where necessary, rectify any error and continually monitor our services.

We apologize for inconvenience caused due to the lift being out of order, unfortunately as we depend on an independent company to supply the parts this took longer than anticipated.

Regarding the nightly entertainment we can only apologize that on this occasion you did not enjoy it as we do try and please all of our guests and this type of entertainment is popular amongst the majority. However, we do understand that this is note to tall guests taste but it is difficult to please everyone at the same time.

Also, we would like to inform you that during the month of October the air-conditioning was operating in the hotel as we did not put the heating function on until the beginning of November. At present we are still using the air-conditioning in the bar and restaurant areas.

We hope that our comments have been of help to you in clarifying these matters.

Kind regards.
Customer Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    433
    117
    16
    16
See reviews for
274
679
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rojales, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel was very welcoming, first room we had was a room with a view of nothing really except a roof, I had emailed hotel to ask for a room at the front as had stayed at hotel previously and knew this would suit me best, Ane at reception explained this wasn't possible but I could be moved the next day which I was to the 11th floor and views were great. The staff in the Dining Room were wonderful as was the food they couldn't do enough for you. If there was a downside I would say it was the entertainment, mostly Ballroom Dancing, not for me !!!! Having said that Hotel is in a central location so easy to get to alternatives. Will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Rooms at front have view of town rooms at back have view of swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just back from a week at the Calypso, we found the hotel to be very pleasant and clean, all staff were very polite, food was OK good selection of vegetables and salads. Our room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom needed refurbishing but all very clean towels changed every day and linens changed more that once in our week there.
Word of warning to unsuspecting guests please hold onto your handbags when entering the revolving door, I had my purse lifted which held several hundred Euros, think I was followed in by what I can only describe as 3 gypsy women who caused a distraction by dropping some coins to enable them to carry out the theft but I tried not to let that episode spoil our break, the weather did that on it's own it rained for most of the time , better luck next time.

Room Tip: We requested a front facing room to take advantage of the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

soon as we arrived staff were very friendly, our room was ready on arrival really clean. food really good plenty of choice. everyone very polite from cleaners too management cant wait too go back next year

Room Tip: only thing is i would ask for a room facing the front because you dont get the sun around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 192madgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second visit to the calypso, and it is still a great hotel.
We were on the 8th floor overlooking the pool,it was a family room with two double beds so had loads of room.
The food can't be faulted we were on full board and there was always loads of choice ,mind you could get pushed out of the way by the pensioners (there were LOADS ) of them.
The staff were really good especially the restaurant staff who were very friendly, WELL DONE. Our room was cleaned every day.
The only downside is the entertainment, ok if you are over 70 and like ballroom dancing, however there are that many bars outside and very near it doesn't matter.
Try the Western bar just along from Neptunes it's great entertainment , and try Sandra's a lovely little bar with good entertainment must see Asa Elliott there BRILLIANT !! (from benidorm )
Now just a little mention about the disabled scooters there were Hundreds of them,even double ones,I have never seen them before, one comedian said it was the only place where they would need a hard shoulder on the paths for them.(I didn't have a problem with them ,just never seen so many in one place.) all in all we had a great holiday ,good hotel good food,great entertainment, plenty of booze, can't wait to go back xxxxx

Room Tip: I have faced both ways and had good rooms however didn't get the sun overlooking the pool on our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foxtrot1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to the Calypso hotel for 10 days and found it to be pleasant and clean with good food. As we were going for 10 days we decided to go to a Servigroup hotel as we were told the food was good, we were not dissapointed it was good with a good selection daily. Our room was quite small and we enquired about changing and the staff were very nice and said that we could change on the Friday, we actually decided that as we had unpacked and we weren't in the room that much that we would stay put, but the offer to chagne was there.

The only problem for this hotel was the evening entertainment or lack of.... Every night it was ballroom dancing and people came from outside to do this, unfortunately people actually staying in the hotel did not participate and had to go out each night for entertainment. If the dancing was on say 3 or 4 nights a week and other entertainment on the other nights it would have been much better. For this reason alone we would not go back to the Calypso.

Room Tip: Apparently if you ask for a room either above the foyer or in the Annex they are bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We've just got back from a weeks stay at the Calypso. It was our third visit and, again we had a great time. My husband and I booked direct with the Servigroup hotels website, It was very easy to book and there are added extras, eg, a free transfer from the airport, a free drink, a late check-out and a little gift in the room when you arrive. Also, you don't pay for the room until you arrive at the hotel.
The hotel is spotless and the rooms are cleaned every day. The staff are all hard working and cannot do enough to help you. From the reception to restaurant, bar waiters and room maids. Theres always a smile and a greeting. I cannot praise them enough.
I nearly forgot to mention, you also get a free night at the Benidorm Palace for booking direct with Servigroup Hotels. This was a great show and the price of drinks was cheaper than in some of the cabaret pubs. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front on higher floors get more sun at this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annentony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#20 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#15 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Calypso

Property: Servigroup Calypso
Address: Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Servigroup Calypso 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Servigroup Calypso is located 300 m. From Levante Beach in Benidorm.Facilities and services:Modern building with an elegant and attractive entrance.Large sun terrace with swimming pool for adults and children, sunbeds and parasols. Bar-terrace and garden area. Spacious and comfortable bar-lounge in the main building and lounge-bar "Gaudi" in the swimming pool area. Games room.Entertainment programme and disco music at night. Children's playground.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet area at reception area (supplement).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 105Rooms296 rooms with every comfort: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, bathroom, balcony, direct dial telephone, LCD TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Servigroup Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Calypso Hotel Benidorm
Servigroup Calypso Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing