We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,181)
Filter reviews
3,181 results
Traveler rating
2,240
660
194
48
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,240
660
194
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewjacuzzi roomrooftop barbranded drinksold townglass of sangriaon arrivalopposite the beachfantastic hotelspa areapremium brandsentertainment roombar staffother hotelssea frontsun terraceall inclusive package
Filter
Updating list...
1,249 - 1,254 of 3,181 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Small, pokey little place, two single beds pushed together which weren't at all comfy. Lovely views bathroom cleanish but difficult to see as black and brown.
Lots of choice in restaurant but nothing special in terms of taste and quality.
Outside area was dirty and gave no feeling of wanting to sit and relax.
Staff were very friendly and polite which offered some measure of making up for what didn't appear to be a 4 star hotel. Sorry but very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetravellin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank from the heart for putting your confidence in us when choosing us for your holiday and we are pleased to read that although some aspects of the hotel did not reach your expectations many of them did.

We receive many positive comments about the food and service in the restaurant; we offer varied menus every day with products from leading brands, we understand that this is often down to personal taste.

We appreciate you taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers, and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one.

Looking forward to welcome you in a close future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

we recently stayed at this hotel to celebrate our son's 18th Birthday. We researched our holiday prior to booking as being my son's 18th he wanted to celebrate. We picked Benidorm for the great April weather it offered & that it was also a new destination for us. The hotel appealed to us due to the all inclusive option, close vicinity to the beach & that the rooms we opted for also included Jacuzzi's which we greatly enjoyed after a day out taking in the sites. The hotel staff from reception to the maintenance man were all very friendly & polite whenever you had need to talk to them or in just passing.
The restaurant offered a buffet style option which we were very happy with , you would have to be a fussy eater not to happy with what was available - the chefs served up a wide range of dishes and tried to include a mix of Spanish as well as English options.
I have read that some people have complained as to the standard of the swimming pool & entertainment on offer, however as I never used those facility's I can't comment.
The hotel also were excellent in that when we appproached them re a cake for my son's 18th they stright away advised that would not be a problem & they only needed to know when we needed it by - they also refused to take any payment from us.
All in I was very happy with my choice & if was to return to Benidorm I would certainly have no qualms as to booking with this hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view , the view from the bedroom windows was fantastic & it was great to be able to relax in the jacuzzi watching the sun go down.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear MarkB:

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfilment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Villa Del Mar, I was very disappointed, the entertainment, was a insult to a adult, if I had wanted to see owls and snakes, and reptiles performing , I would have gone to a zoo, the pool, is the poorest I have ever seen, its cased in by glass, not inviting, the hotel is very clean, food average, this hotel is very much like a city hotel, with no atmosphere, will not be returning

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glynis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Glynis S:

At the Villa del Mar **** we take the opinions of our clients and amigos seriously, they are our main source of information for the continual improvement of our programme.
In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Do NOT book this hotel if you are a same sex group as there is a very high likelihood that you will be moved to a sister hotel of a much lower standard upon your arrival. We were devastated when this happened to us when we arrived on Thursday 10th April 2014. We were a group of 7 ladies who came to Benidorm as a treat for my mother's 60th birthday. We had booked 3 rooms under 2 different names and when we arrived we were met with a beautiful hotel and offered a glass of cava ( so far so good and we were all really happy). Unfortunately that it's where the happiness was cut short...we were told at reception that our booking had been cancelled ans we had been transferred to their sister hotel the Magic Cristal Park. When asked why - the man on reception informed us that they had had "a bad experience with a hen party recently and had cancelled/changed our booking and had sent us an email weeks ago". First of all no email had been received by either myself or my aunt who had booked the three rooms. Second of all the majority of our party were of pensionable age and by no means a hen party. Although even if ladies WERE on a hen party it would be hugely unfair to discriminate in this way but that is a whole different argument that is irrelevant to us and our situation. Anyhow...our protests fell on deaf ears and we were shipped off to the Magic Cristal Park with the promise that the taxi fares for the cabs would be paid by the hotel (they were not...). Upon our arrival to the Magic Cristal Park I honestly could have cried. Don't get me wrong - the hotel was clean and if it had been what I had chosen for my mums birthday then I would've been okay but it wasn't - we had paid a fair bit of money for the VIlla Del Mar and all that it brings, had been looking forward to it and had been downgraded to this sister hotel simply because we were a group booking of females. However, the staff at Cristal Park were hugely helpful and could see our disappointment and the fact that we were NOT a hen party looking for a drunken weekend and pulled out all the stops to get us moved back to Villa Del Mar. Cue lots of phone calls and wasted time but eventually Leanna at Cristal park was successful and taxis were ordered to take us back. Upon our arrival we were met with different staff, full of apologies and shown to our rooms which had a bottle of cava in each by way of an apology. However by this time the damage had already been done, our early flight to make the most of the short time away had been fruitless as we had spent our whole day toing and froing between hotels, packing and unpacking suitcases and waiting and complaining. I was devastated that my mums first break abroad in 20 years had been started this way.
The hotel itself is lovely. Very clean, nice food, the majority of the staff are helpful with the exception of the young male manager who dealt with us on our first check in and also with the exception of one blonde female who worked the restaurant bar during the day. Beautiful location right on the beach and wonderful views if you have a sea view room ( which some of our party did).

However, the manner in which we were addressed on our arrival was unsympathetic, discriminatory, abrupt and completely unacceptable and I'm afraid that this took the shine off our ability to enjoy what could have been an amazing stay in a beautiful hotel for our mum's 60th birthday.

Please consider carefully if you are planning to book this hotel as a same sex booking as I would not want our experience to be repeated to other people.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
10  Thank Bernie1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Bernie1099:

At the Villa del Mar **** we take the opinions of our clients and amigos seriously, they are our main source of information for the continual improvement of our programme
In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.

We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great hotel stayed here first week in April food was fabulous staff were excellent you can't fault this hotel. The cleaners never stop it is spotless. Bar and restaurant staff are really friendly will do anything for you hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnT8919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear AdamJohn1989,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our establishment is, None other than your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays special.

We look forward to welcome you back in a close future.

King regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews