We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a Childrens Playground”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More like a Childrens Playground”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from a week from hell at this hotel, arrived 29/1/2013 and on the 1/2/2013 around 50 Spanish couples arrived along with around 30 children, (The hotel offers free children stays for Spanish residents during Feb & March),The hotel staff could not cope with these people who lacked any social skills what so ever..We could not get in to the dinning room as they pulled all the tables together and children were running wild around the room, they were picking up food and then putting it back and,shouting to each other across the room.Children were riding scooters around the hotel and food was left in all the public areas including the lifts.
All the parents wanted to do was drink the all inclusive alcohol and leave the children to run wild.We had booked with Thomas Cook on a Style holiday but there was nothing stylish ABOUT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CheshireNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Cheshire,

We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.


We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    574
    174
    45
    37
See reviews for
832
1,284
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Came back from this hotel last week, spent two weeks there. The hotel is quite modern, after being refurbished. Our room, although at the back, was acceptable. The hotel was kept very clean, The food could not be faulted. So why was I dissapointed, you say. Well being January, and the weather not as warm as expected, there was no possibility of using the beach. Where did we go to relax? we didn't, we found it better to venture out every day, even in gale force winds. The reason being, there is no lounge, with comfy seating, and the bar area is limited to high stools and about three tables to accompany them. There is one settee and two chairs in the reception area, and you had to be very lucky to get these. There is a roof terrace, but alas it was open rarely, and even then not enough room to accomodate all guests. It is such a shame they did not allow the space for a lounge, perhaps the front open area, directly onto the pavement could have been used for this, a hotel down the road has done this. Of course there are also no balconies, so you could't even escape to your room, when the sun did show.
Added to this they cater for a lot of short breaks 3 to 4 days. So at weekends you are inundated with stag paties, girlie week-ends, and lots of Spanish couples with children. This adds to the shortage of space. I did ask if the roof terrace could be opened one fine day, and was asked what do you want to do? I answered, I would like a little peace to relax and read, the answer was there is a lounge on the first floor, ( This is two bedrooms opened up to make a lounge) At that time there were about 12 to 16 visiting Spanish, very noisy. They had decided to use this small salon, had bar staff taking up glasses, champagne, and snacks. When I went in there were no seats left, (only about 10 to start with) I turned round and walked out ( the noise was horendous) they then locked the doors, so no other guest could go in. It was not much use complaining. We did enjoy the holiday and got out and about on local train, and buses. If you are taking a holiday in the summer I can't see a problem, as you probably use the fantastic beach. The hotel is in a great position across the road from beach. I am not easily put off, and will make the best of every holiday, but I would not return here.

Room Tip: Pay extra and you will see some sunshine, and have a good view. Don't forget there are no baconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NAKELLIS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Janncox
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.

In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.

We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alva
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

i have stayed at this hotel the last two years in january with a group of twelve last year and a group of fourteen this year its a first class hotel with great food and drinks with an amazing roof terrace and we hope to return next jan a big thank you to all the staff at the villa del mar

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinceheugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear viceheugh,


Thank you very much for your kind words, we are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfillment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives, plus the added fact it is your second time. We encourage you to ask for our "all exclusive club card" and visiting us with all it's benefits.

Looking forward to welcome you back in a close future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

just returned from a short break at this hotel and can,t wait to go again. The position is great opposite the beach and a short walk to the old town.our room was clean modern and very comfortable.the staff are all so friendly and efficient

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Amy J,


Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We in Hotel Villa del Mar work very hard every day to acquire your maximum satisfaction and fulfill all your expectations, and opinions like yours help us understand we are doing it right,

We look forward to accomodate you again in a close future and make your stay a really enjoyable one.

KInd regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

What can I say cannot fault this beautiful hotel, stayed for 3 nights for a short break with hubby and friends. The rooms were spotless clean and very tasteful with lovely big shower. Nightclub on lower ground floor therefore no noise disturbance. We stayed all inclusive and all drinks were branded and bars served from breakfast until 12.30 which was quiet enough. The food was bob on and you would have to be a real fuss pot not to find something to eat at any meal time, snacks are also served I between meals till midnight so you will never go hungry. All staff from cleaners to reception to bar staff and restaurant staff friendly and helpful nothing ever too much trouble. I will return to this hotel as we were made to feel very welcome and so relaxed felt as though we were there longer than we actually was and the weather was fab 25 degrees on loungers on hotel roof chill out area. Please go and try this lovely hotel for yourselves.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank nette1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Nette1311,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of the travellers. We work really hard to accomplish no other goal but your complete satisfaction, and comments like yours really help us in this endeavour, to realise we are doing it correctly.
We look forward to accomodate you back in a close future and perhaps this time we will be even better and manage that fifth star, we did not win the first time.

KInd regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Del Mar for Christmas and New Year and would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is on the quieter Poniente beach promenade quite near to the centre of Benidorms Old town.
Villa Del Mar is a small hotel which has recently undergone a total refurbishment to a high standard. Rooms are decorated and furnished beautifully with everything that's required to make your holiday comfortable. There is a spa and chill out area on the roof with panoramic views towards the Old town centre and La Cala.
The dining room is on the ground floor and has a really good selection of quality, well presented dishes to suit most peoples taste. Meals are buffet style. Special Christmas and New Years Gala dinners were served waiter service and most enjoyable.
A special big thanks to Veronica on reception. I would also like to thank all members of staff at the Villa Del Mar for making my visit enjoyable and truly memorable. All of the staff work very hard and nothing is too much trouble. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear jenny5

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our establishment is, None other than your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

And obviously we hope to see you back soon.

KInd regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed well sort of stayed here for Christmas
We booked a week at this hotel for Christmas as we have stayed here before it is a really good hotel. You cannot fault the food or the service the staff are really great.
On this holiday we were asked if we would like an upgrade to their sister hotel Vila Venecia which we accepted the only problem is we were ai and venecia did not do ai at during Christmas so we had bb at venecia and used del mar for main meals and bars. It was ok going between hotels but information for Christmas / del mar was not given. We were lead to believe 2nd sitting would be better for Christmas Day dinner but this was not the case it was a over flow sitting we were not impressed with the Christmas meal for this reason but the food was good. With doing 2nd sitting we missed most of the Christmas entertainment. Note we were compensated for upgrading to venecia with a number of free drinks every day and a great room looking out to see please read separate review of villa venecia.
Spa at del mar only one hour during visit and you need to pay €3 and book

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear David B,


Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Magic Costablanca, be it our hotel or at our sister.
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. You liked the food of Christmas dinner, but happened to miss part of the entertainment, we eagerly recommend you to visit us in a close future to demonstrate you that we work really hard to make your stay a wonderful one, and we believe yours would be too.

Looking forward to accomodate you in a close future,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
1,455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#65 of 192 in Benidorm
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Property: Villa Del Mar Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing