We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on top of a steep hill !!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Lido

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lido
Ranked #89 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just had a lovely three night break at the hotel . I must say read reviews and really did not know what to expect ........it's really not good being dropped of at the burger king and you have to drag your cases up the hill, really feel for the elderly that have to do this.........we did see coaches go up the hill ??????so really not sure why Thomson packages do not accommodate this ???hotel was basic , clean , we had a lovely sea view ........food we only sampled breakfast and in all honesty we agreed we would rather go pay at another but it may be suitable for some people. Cereal and toast plus fruit were plentiful and there was a buffet if that's your thing but we wanted freshly cooked ......the lady on reception was lovely and always smiling .......we did laugh though with her as she was reading fifty shades ....for what we paid it was more than acceptable.... My advice is book 2 star, and expect 2 star, you'll never go wrong!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricardoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I really don't know what some people are looking for when they go abroad.Do you get full cooked breakfast with greasy bacon and sausages...... no,do you get roast beef and yorkshire puddings with gravy..... no. Do you get lots of drunken stag/hen parties at this hotel..... no.If that's what your looking for go to Blackpool.What you do get is a basic Spanish hotel that has everything you would expect for the price you pay.Rooms basic but clean,towels changed daily and room cleaned daily.Food yes aimed more at the Spanish,but heres a strange thing it's a Spanish hotel in Spain no they don't eat cats/dogs/donkeys.Lots of choice of hot food and salads.Yes the hotel is half way up a hill on the cliffs at levante beach so yes the bus drops you at the bottom as there is no where for a coach to turn to get back down,not as some people have tried to make out that they just cant be bothered to take you to the door,book you in and unpack your case (lazy Spanish).As for the hill this reason i would not recommend for anyone with walking difficulties.It's only 5 mins down to the resort but far enough away that you get no noise.The pool area,not great but you don't go to Benidorm to lie at the pool.The highlight of this hotel is the view,when you book most websites ask for any special requests put down seaview we did and got it and were'nt charged extra that some others have said,have included a picture of the view from our hotel room.so to end cheap cheerful,great location,fantastc views,Blackpool it aint.If you want honest and realistic reviews don't be afraid to get in touch.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jambo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very nice hotel but unfortunately we were not advised by our tour operator that we would be dropped at Burger King and have to walk up two quite steep hills carrying our luggage. We were quite disappointed that there was no transport to the hotel as we are all over 60 and were exhausted by the time we reached the hotel.
The hotel itself is very nice, friendly staff, clean rooms and good food. Great views from the sea side rooms but no balconies. Entertainment is limited and caters mostly for Spanish who love to dance.
For anyone with walking difficulties it would not be advisable to book this hotel. We found that we needed taxis every night as it is a bit far from the popular venues in the new town and we were struggling with the hills.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welltravelled071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we arrived at 10pm dropped off by coach at the bottom of the hill so had to drag cases up to the Lido, not a good start, we got a lovely room with a view of the sea (107) breakfast the next day was in my opinion very poor for us english it was all ham n hard boiled eggs great if your spanish, so we only went for breakfast the one day and ate out the rest of the time. The evening meal was a little better although again all for the spanish guests but we made every effort to try and enjoy the food, well lets put it this way it filled a hole, thank god there were food restaurants close by for late night food.
The staff were ok some friendly some quite rude again i believe it was because we were English and the couldnt be bothered with us, on our last day i asked for a late check out not possible, I also asked for help with our luggage to go down the hill to collect the bus and again was told not possible, we were allowed to store our cases in the luggage room and that was all, not even a courtesty room for us to use to freshen up.
The pool is awful and in the shade most of the day so be prepared to use the beach to bathe during the day, although sunbeds on the beach are 4 euros each.
I would go back to Benidorm again but wouldnt use the lido hotel ever again and dont think this should be sold to English guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poucherlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Dont go here you will waist your money and time, this is the worst hotel i have ever been in, the coach transfare dont take you outside the hotel they drop you off at burgerking and you have to walk up a very steep hill a quarter of a mile with all your baggage or get a taxi.
The pool is so tiny my gold fish bowl is bigger, the rooms are tired looking stained tiled carpets, showers are a joke crackes in the ceiling tiles hole in the wall , the lift takes 10 mins every time you use them, if you dont have sea veiw you cant open your window because of the noise of traffic and want 9 euros a night extra if you do, there is about 60 steps from the pool to the lift in the lobby back to room think of Rocky training running up those steps and you will get the picture.
The food is not fit for a dog example breakfast raw hotdog sassages and spam like bacon undercut and thats it for cooked food for breakie rest is toast or hard boiled black eggs, next day green boiled eggs with that spam bacon again this is there everydasy, dinner and tea same discusting food i ended up going to burgerking evereyday i think the coach driver was trying to tell me something.
Anyway IF YOU GO HERE its your loss DONT GO THERE.
The rooms are terrible 4 single beds all in a line all pushed right up to the windows no balcony and had to close curtiains all the time with lights on because of all the over looking falts its a travel lodge size room with no fridge in room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank epc_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just got back today from the lido hotel benidorm were the rooms are basic but very clean and the view from the room was amassing of the sea front. The hotel was mostly Spanish and served Spanish food wich I enjoyed but I am not fussy what I eat. The staff where very helpful and very friendly and could speak good English. It's only a small hotel but i would recommend it. I also think it is not over priced and will definitely be returning soon.There is a small hill up to the hotel which I didnt think it was to bad just like to say a big thank you all the staff at the lido hotel for making my stay pleasurable. Christine Liverpool uk

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milnthorpe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

i can only echo KimBSouthWales.We went for 7 nights end of May 2012.The price was excellent but we wanted to ensure a sea view so to avoid pot luck we rang the hotel and secured one at a price of 9 euros a night,payable on arrival.The view overlooks the waterski,paragliding and banana boat site and at night fab views of the lit up promenade.The meals were great for us as we are not fussy but the choice always included a choice of fish,meat and pasta dish,plus some form of paella dish,a soup,salads galore and a great deal of pastries.The chiller was stocked with 3 types of ice cream tubs.Free wine and water!!!
We found the staff fantastic,even tipping them on last day,very rare for us!
I can add that 3 girls from England,who had been before,were allocated one of the 5 rooms that has balconies.The actual balcony rooms are underneath the dining room and they said the noise from above ruined their holiday.So book a sea view,not a balcony!!WILL RETURN ASAP

Room Tip: ring direct to guarantee your room choice,pay a little bit more to avoid any chance of disappointmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benidorm
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tropic Relax
Hotel Tropic Relax
#81 of 192 in Benidorm
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Benikaktus
Hotel Benikaktus
#88 of 192 in Benidorm
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nadal
Hotel Nadal
#27 of 192 in Benidorm
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Rialto
Servigroup Rialto
#19 of 192 in Benidorm
1,233 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Vista Oro
Port Vista Oro
#33 of 192 in Benidorm
567 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alone
Hotel Alone
#4 of 6 in Finestrat
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido

Address: Calle Alcalde Manuel Catalan Chana 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: $47 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing