We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food disgusting”
Review of Poseidon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poseidon Resort
Ranked #75 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at the posiedon palace 26 nov 2013 for a week are restaurant wasn't open so had too walk over to the playa in bad weather for food that was disgusting never hot and catered for the Spanish people who filled both hotels with a hand full of English who where also disgusted with the food wish id took more notice of past reviews about the food!!!! we where all inc spent all are money eating out after 3 days off trying and hoping the food would get better but alas it got worse

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Gerente at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear mick b :

We regret your comments about our food. I would like to inform you that during your stay the hotel was not full, and there were a high percentage of clients of other nationalities apart from Spain: English, Dutch, Norwegian, French etc..

The Poseidon Resort consists of two buildings separated by a pool. It takes about 20 seconds to go from where you were allocated to the restaurant and there is a roof, so that in case of rain, the customers do not get wet.

Regarding the meals, we have more than 15 different dishes to choose from, our menus are composed of salads, soups, hot dishes, meats, including English food like roast beef, vegetables, etc. There is also a show cooking where you can get freshly made meat or fish. Desserts include fresh fruit, assorted pastries and also, caramel pudding, mousse, custard, etc.

Regards
Ezequiel De Paz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

we were recommended to go to this hotel , and it was a fantastic decision, the rooms were clean and the receptionist polite, the food was ok i enjoyed it so much.
my kids loved the swimming pool , the weather was fantastic! benidorm is alway a good option to go , i recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Johanna q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April and gave it rave reviews. We liked it so much we returned there the week beginning the 26th November, however this time I have to give it only one star for the disgusting food on offer. In April our hotel's restaurant, the Poseidon Palace was open but this time it was closed and we needed to eat in the sister hotel. We had breakfast only once as the sausage were like rubber and more sawdust than anything else. There was shell in the very dry salty scrambled egg and the coffee was like dishwater. The previous reviewer was right, the food was cold and staff were heating it in the microwave. Some foods were not replaced. The very limited veg was mushy, carrot crush stems to mind. One night there was some sort of fried escalope when I tried to cut it, it flew across the room!Cold meat consisted of spam or chopped pork. Cheese was sliced processed tasteless rubber. The mainstay of the food was cheap pasta, chips, bread and for desert again mainly cheap rice or custard. We tried the restaurant each evening hoping the food would improve but it didn't so we needed to eat out every day thus adding to the expense of the holiday. In all other respects we can't fault the hotel for it's service, position and cleanliness but I'm sorry to say we will not be staying in this hotel in the winter again. I have complained to Thomsons holiday for the first time in all of my years of travelling as I have never had food as bad as this.Were we just unlucky?

Room Tip: Pool view gets the sun all day and the balcony is very protected from the elements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Director en Hotel Poseidón Resort at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

First, I want to tell you that due to operational issues, the Poseidon Palace restaurant is closed for a certain period during the months of November and December.
We regret your comments about the food, but the menu and the food is the same as when you were in April, and we have also a new show cooking as improvement.
I apologize if the food has not been to your liking this time, but we believe that there is a great variety of dishes to choose something at every meal

Thank you for your comments and do not hesitate to contact me for any questions

Kind regards

Ezequiel de Paz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel was clean but the food was terrible, never hot. Soup was like dishwater, nothing ever seasoned just tasteless. Staff were ignorant, even if you were first at bar, if there were six spaniards there they got served first. English were not welcomed at this hotel. Will not even consider returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

First time in Benidorm and so glad we chose this hotel. The food was absolutely superb with so much to choose from, staff friendly and rooms a good size and very clean. A majority of the guests were Spanish and this reflected on the entertainment which to me was no problem, if the locals stay there, it must be good. The hotel was located in a very central area which gave easy access to both the old and the new towns. Did not need to use any of the local transport as we prefer to walk, but buses appeared to be plentiful and taxis were so everywhere! We hope to return again soon!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank KevPamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having stayed there last year for a month in January half board have booked all inclusive this year
We found the hotel really nice and the staff were all great Also found no problem with other guest at the hotel looking forward to returning on 14th December We dont usually go back to the same place but were really happy there

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy_angell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we were very impressed with this hotel would reccommend to anyone was well situated the staff are very friendly and helpful. meals were really good my hubby fussy eater but was very well catered for everywhere was very clean and well maintained. we went half board but wasnt much more to upgrade to aic we will be going again. on arrival we were disappointed not to have pool view room but realised ours was even better we could see the sea we were on level nine. we have visited spain for many years and never seen a fiesta this was our lucky year we saw first 2 nights of the fiesta of the moors and christians was amazing hotel is near the old town whichis well worth a visit some amazing things to see

Room Tip: corner suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crisnrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Hotel Poseidon Playa
#56 of 191 in Benidorm
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 191 in Benidorm
927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#51 of 191 in Benidorm
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 191 in Benidorm
1,476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 191 in Benidorm
2,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Resort

Address: Calle del Esperanto 9, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $64 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 350 metres from Levante Beach in Benidorm and 300 metres from Benidorm commercial area. The Poseidon Complex*** comprises 2 neighbouring hotels, the Poseidon and Poseidon Palace united by an extensive garden and pools area. Modern, wel-equipped and tastefully decorated throughout, guests will dine in the restaurant of their particular building but otherwise are free to use all the facilities of both hotels.The Poseidon Complex*** has the following services:4 lifts in P.Palace - 14 floors, 3 lifts in Poseidon - 6 floors.2 Reception halls.24Hr. Receptions.WI-FI connection in public rooms and bedrooms for hire.Internet access for hire.Sun teraces.Sunloungers & parasols.2 Bars. 2 Lounges.Conference rooms.Summer only: Entertainment and dancing outside at the open-air stage.Winter only: Heated indoor pool (incl. Hydraulic seat for discaps) whirlpool and gym open 01.10 / 31.05 Each year.Activities:Table tennis.Pool table.Short mat bowls.Card.Playing facilities in lounge areas.Daily sports activities & evening entertainment programme.2 Freshwater swimming pools.The heated indoor pool is now equipped with 2 water jets also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Poseidon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Complex Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing