We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning guests”
Review of Poseidon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Poseidon Resort
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Benidorm since 1984, usually every year - sometimes twice a year. We have a 15 year old son - he has been to Benidorm every year since he was 7 months old. As far as possible we always stay at the Poseidon Complex and love either of the 2 hotels that share it.

As far as the resort is concerned and for those who have never been but may still feel that they have the right to comment on its suitability as a holiday destination, I would say that we have seen it develope as a resort over the years we have been coming. The fantastic promenade's on both the Levante and Poniente sides of the old town have been largely pedestrianised with kerbs removed to aid buggy pushing and mobility scooters for those who need them. Elsewhere in resort every pavement has a slope that enables easier road crossing.

Of course you will find a huge amount of "English bars", largely within the "new town" area where you can have a pint with your full English at 8.00am. A lot of these have been established for years and are owned by ex-pats who try to make a living from us holiday makers who won't ever go outside of the hotel if we have All Inclusive for fear of being forced to spend some money !

If you stay at the Poseidon Palace you will certainly have the best opportunity to have the best of both old and new town experiences as the hotel sits towards the old town end of the Levante Bay. It's almost as easy as turning left (new town) or right (old town) once you get to the main Avenida Med. We prefer the old town experience where boutiques and shops such as Mango and Zara sit alongside the more traditional souvenier shops. This is also the side of town where the Spanish dress up every night to walk before dinner and where the choice of eateries and bars is endless and caters for every taste.

Back to the hotel. The staff have never been anything other than friendly to us as English guests even if the majority of the other holiday makers are Spanish. Our son had been going to the hotel run "mini club" every year until he was 12. As we are lucky enough to have his school break-up early in July - up to 2 weeks before most other schools - he was often the only English speaking child there. Never once was he made to feel unwelcome and the Entertainment Team staff would always ensure that they spoke to him in English when explaining games/activities. As many Spanish families tend to holiday for the same weeks every year we now have many faces that we see every year and the staff remember us as well.

I would say to those who may have felt treated like 2nd class citizens that the hotel is very popular with the Spanish. They can be very vocal and sometimes come across as being unpolite especially when you are waiting at reception to ask a question and there are a lot of people milling around. Unfortunately as in most situations abroad we will not get anywhere with our timid English ploiteness and may need to consider edging in there a bit more.

Look at it from a different angle - I think its like a Chinese Restaurant in the UK where Chinese people actually go to eat too - it must be good. If the Spanish use the hotel en-masse year after year some only coming from Barcelona or Valencia - it must be good.

The entertainment team put on shows throughout the week and the nights when the evening entertainment might not be as good is often when its a visiting professional act.

The newly available All Inclusive option, which we first used last Summer is the most economical and will provide you unlimited access to drinks with meals. Generally though we have always found the bar prices to be favourable.

There will always be times when we need assistance or help and we too have had travel reps who have known less about the hotel/resort that I have but the staff have always been able to help, free maps of resort, which number bus to get, calling a taxi etc.

All in all the Poseidon Palace is a great hotel in an excellent position within resort and which provides a great pool scene and entertainment with food options that are geared more towards a Spanish clientele but for which there is always a good choice. We had family friend stay one year one of whom is a chef in the UK. He had no complaints on the food front.

It possibly will not suit an elderly couple in July or a young family in November but we love it. Oh and just to say - we went into Thomson today and booked to go to the Poseidon Palace again in July.

Room Tip: Regardless of which hotel in - Poseidon or Poseidon Palace ask for a room overlooking the pools. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Jose D., Customer Service Department at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Paul G,

Many thanks for your positive comments on the Poseidon Complex. It is always nice to get good reviews, as very often our satisfied guests do not put their opinion in writing, they just come back again and again with which we are delighted!

But the effort of publicly stating your opinion is very gratifying for all of us here at the Poseidon where we will await you with open arms in July!

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Poseidon Palace in Benidorm between the 12th and 26th of Feb. 2013. We booked it with Thomson Holidays and it was reasonably priced.
The hotel is very well positioned, about a 10 minute walk from the old town and similarly a 10 min. walk to the beach. Our room was on the 8th floor and was of average size with a balcony.
The room was well maintained, cleaned daily.
We arrived at 1pm but residents are not given their room keys before 2pm.
Our first evening meal was pretty poor, with a lower than average selection from a buffet display. We left and had a meal elsewhere.
Breakfast in the morning was adequate with fried eggs, bacon, beans, sausage, cold meats yogurts etc, the normal buffet food. The evening meal was again poor with meats undercooked, a vegetable paella with prawns and ham and quite honestly food that was just unacceptable. The following morning the breakfast was again adequate and remained so for the duration of the holiday.
On the other hand the evening meal remained unacceptable for the remainder of the holiday.
It meritted a complaint to the rep and it transpired that the hotel was already on an "improvement plan for food" and had been prior to our arrival....such is life, I wish we had known that prior to booking the holiday.
Anyway on a brighter note the weather was good with plenty to do outside of the hotel.
6 days into the holiday and the outdoor swimming pool was cordoned off with tape and remained closed for maintenance, again, for the duration of the holiday. I think that little things like those mentioned should be made aware to the holiday maker, prior to making a booking and if they are not,then the integrity of the holiday company is questionable. I rec,d £85. in total compensation for the inconveniece of having poor quality food put in front of me........gee thanks.
It really is a pity because as I say the location was very good.

Room Tip: I found that the rooms on the east side were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joeeggGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

just had another lovely week at this hotel for our anniversary it is still as good as last year ,the food was excellent ,waiter service was very good ,there was always a full english breakfast or continental ,evening meal was good always a choice of meats and fish plenty of salads deserts where wonderful ,the rooms where always clean fresh towels every day ,you have to put towels in bath if youwant them changing which is a good idea ,weather was perfect .

Room Tip: we stayed on eleventh floor we could see the sea and looked over pool very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally190734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear sally190734,

Many thanks for your positive appraisal of our Hotel, congratulations on your anniversary ( a bit late sorry ) and we hope to have you back again next year.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recommend this hotel for families. We had a lovely time and will go again next year. Nice people, food , weather and loads of things for the children. This hotel is in the center so close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Jose D., Customer Service Department at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear wendy_angell,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at the Poseidon Palace for 2 weeks full board, what a mistake. The rooms were clean and just what you would expect from any 3* hotel in Benidorm. The entertainment was appauling and on one occasion after setting up his equipment in the afternoon the artist failed to turn up which was a blessing in disguise. The food was dreadful, very little choice, no consistency and very boring, when there was a type of roast meat on offer with limp veg there was never any gravy. The scrambled eggs always had ham mixed in and the desserts were either a cake or stewed apples or yogurt. will avoid at all costs in future advise you do the same

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELH1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Ezequiel De Paz, Manager Poseidon Complex at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear ELH 1803

Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness.

Refering to your complaint about the food, our menus are composed of salads, soups, hot dishes, meats, included English food like roast beef, vegetables,etc. Desserts include fresh fruit, assorted pastries and also, caramel pudding, mousse, custard etc. We apologize if you didn't find a choice of your likes

We regret you did not like scrambled eggs with ham, because it was a recommendation from other English customers. We take note for not doing in the future.

We would like to inform you that the level of satisfaction among our clients it’s near 80% in our suveys.

Regarding to the entertainment program, we offer a wide variety of entertainment and activities every day included British singers, games, live music , flamenco shows etc. Entertainment in winter time, is in both hotels and can use the one you like.

 
Ezequiel De Paz
Manager Poseidon Complex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

nice hotel ,location for old town was just a few minutes walk,the rooms were large and clean ,the food however left a lot to be desired ,i was h/b breakfast was ok if you like baked beans (nothing special) but evening meals well i for one do not eat spinach pie or tuna and vegetable pie ,most nights i had salads /chips.
overall the hotel was good but food was a no go area,am i fussy??????????

Room Tip: i had a room in main building had a lot of sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Ezequiel De Paz, Manager Poseidon Complex at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Janet a:

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope that we can fully satisfy you during your next visit as with most of our customers, whose opinion about food exceeds 80 points out of 100.

Yours faithfully,

Ezequiel de Paz
Manager Poseidon Complex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Last minute holiday booked with Thomson on AL break for 1 week.
We emailed the hotel asking for a room on a high floor so we could see the sea.
And when we arrived they were happy to give us a room on the 11th floor which was great nice room with a sea view perfect.
The room was nice 2 x 4ft beds flat scene TV, balcony and heating as it was wintertime.
The room looked like it had been updated as well as the bathroom which was nicely tiled and very clean.
The food was basic but we all ways found something to eat. so we were happy. We found the food to be hot and tasty with a choice of fish and meat dishes and a Spanish dish each lunch and evening meal times.
The drinks on the all inclusive package were cheap locally produced brands, but the larger and soft drinks, coffees etc were good. You can also use the sister hotel next door for food and drinks.
There is a small indoor pool and a small gym.
The hotel is in a ideal position for the beach, bars, bus stop and shops
we would choose to stay at this hotel again.
We enjoyed our winter break at this hotel but the weather was cold and wet for the end of February and early March.
Only a 5 minute walk to the sea front with lots of bars and restaurants beach looked lovely and clean just to cold to stay around for long in the summer must be very busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as there are lots of tall buildings down towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellaHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Hotel Poseidon Playa
#57 of 192 in Benidorm
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Diplomatic
Servigroup Diplomatic
#59 of 192 in Benidorm
566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Resort

Address: Calle del Esperanto 9, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $48 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 350 metres from Levante Beach in Benidorm and 300 metres from Benidorm commercial area. The Poseidon Complex*** comprises 2 neighbouring hotels, the Poseidon and Poseidon Palace united by an extensive garden and pools area. Modern, wel-equipped and tastefully decorated throughout, guests will dine in the restaurant of their particular building but otherwise are free to use all the facilities of both hotels.The Poseidon Complex*** has the following services:4 lifts in P.Palace - 14 floors, 3 lifts in Poseidon - 6 floors.2 Reception halls.24Hr. Receptions.WI-FI connection in public rooms and bedrooms for hire.Internet access for hire.Sun teraces.Sunloungers & parasols.2 Bars. 2 Lounges.Conference rooms.Summer only: Entertainment and dancing outside at the open-air stage.Winter only: Heated indoor pool (incl. Hydraulic seat for discaps) whirlpool and gym open 01.10 / 31.05 Each year.Activities:Table tennis.Pool table.Short mat bowls.Card.Playing facilities in lounge areas.Daily sports activities & evening entertainment programme.2 Freshwater swimming pools.The heated indoor pool is now equipped with 2 water jets also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Poseidon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Complex Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing