We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION”
Review of Poseidon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poseidon Resort
Ranked #78 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just had three weeks all inclusive Jan/Feb 2013. Was very pleased with this hotel, it is in a good position close to beach and old town. The hotel is in the same complex with its sister hotel Poseidon giving you the choice to use both venues for entertainment. It has 14 floors, 4 lifts, the rooms facing the pool have two large double beds, the rooms on both sides have two single beds.TV in all rooms but only sky news, BBC world, and true entertainment channels. Rooms ok with bath and shower, balcony. Staff very helpfull and pleasant. All inclusive the norm local drinks, coffee and tea.Wi Fi chargable, expensive. Good activity team, archery, rifle shooting, bowls etc. Entertainment each night in both hotels, you have the choice. Food good plenty to choose from. This is a lovely hotel in a great position and we will use again, my only complaint is the lack of English tv channels, with freesat boxes this could be installed at very little cost and would encourage a lot more British customers.Hope this comment is a help.

Room Tip: If you want single beds ask for rooms on the side of the hotel.Quieter rooms on the top floor, good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ROBCHRIS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Jose D., Atención al Cliente de Hoteles Poseidón at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear ROBCHRIS1969,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel and making the effort to make your comments.

We will take your suggestions into account and study them accordingly, again thank you for the coments

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

a good alround hotel. good location for both old and new towns,very helpfull staff,
good food for a 3 star hotel ,if you want 5star food go to a 5 star hotel and pay a lot more for it.
went as a single traveller and always felt safe and comfortable.room was good for a single.
spanish pensioners a pain at times but you are in spain .
ovarall would highly recommend this hotel really enjoyed my holiday here for 3 weeks

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

have just returned from this hotel,no problems at all,was all-inc the b/fast was good,lunch altough not a massive choice still enough,dinner lots of choice and good quality,deserts maybe not the greatest,all-inc beer was draught amstel which was not watered down in my opinion altough a little flat,shorts i had mainly gin which seemed fine,wine was also fine in restaurant and bar,soft drinks were proper coke and fanta,good cofffee also,entertainment a couple of singers and magic shows.flamengo dancers,The room was very nice and modern and clean,small indoor pool and gym were fine,also has darts/shooting/bowls etc in the daytime.Have give 4 stars but would be 5 if had free wi-fi in lobby.

Room Tip: high floors have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank safcUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Jose D., Atención al Cliente de Hoteles Poseidón at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear safcUK,

Thank you very much for your comments. We have taken a note about your suggest.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a typical budget hotel offering good value for money. My room was clean and comfortable and had an obstructed sea view. THe range of food on our All Inclusive deal was pretty good and the waiting staff efficient and friendly. The receptionist was very helpful and the whole place was well kept. The Old Town was a 10 minute walk as was the beach. The hotel and resort cater's for the elderly, so if you are young or young at heart this may not be a good choice during the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my boyfriend traveled to the Poseidon in November 2012, this was a wonderful priced holiday, and we was looking forward to the nice break away from work and home before the manic of Christmas.
Upon arrival it was a lovely first impression, reception staff were really polite and helpful. There was only us and another couple checking in, so the process was quite quick, what we though was silly was the you were given a piece of paper for your all inclusive, rather than a card or wristband, which would of been easier to look after.
When we got to our room, 1208 we were really impressed, carpeted, 2 double beds pushed together making a super size bed! And a gorgeous view of Benidorm from our 12th floor balcony.
It was when we went to dinner, we noticed that we seemed to be the only younger couple around, thus resulting in dirty looks from other guests, which I found really disgusting. We are entitled to a holiday just as much as the elderly guests who seem to relocate to Benidorm over the winter months!! The restaurant staff seem equally as rude towards us, we would notice in the queue, the main guy would greet everyone else, and kind of scoff at us when we passed through. Few of the waitresses were friendly enough though, the food was great, always a nice selection, and kept clean & tidy.
The bar staff seemed pleasant, although there was one older barman who was constantly rude to my boyfriend. The drink choice on the all inclusive was okay, I am not much of a big drinker though, so I stuck to cokes and tea, we purchased a bottle of Malibu which I drunk in the room. The measures of alcohol are ridiculous, one night I was drinking vodka and coke, basically just vodka the first glass, so I asked the bar man to pour just a small measure, and he laughed telling me I was not British, found this rather insulting.
The pool area was lovely, shaded by the towers that Benidorm is built up by, me and my boyfriend had a couple of dips, I was absolutely freezing! But we had food fun, once again this was frowned upon by the older guests who would tut at us! So we spent most of our days at the beach. About a 10 minute walk, much lovelier and more sunshine! We was also close to the old town and the other beach, can't remember the name, but I know the main beach is Levante. We went on a wicked jet ski excursion for 80€.
The nightly entertainment, oh my goodness! It was some kind of joke, in our hotel it was some guy playing a keyboard, and the other night it was a cockney guy singing songs from the 60s, 70s etc. he was singing over a tape! I think that everyone was too decrepit to notice. I really don't mean to sound horrible, I'm sure this hotel is great once you've retired.. But for me and my boyfriend who were both 20 at the time, we have never felt so out of place in all our life! The other hotel entertainment (because there are 2 hotels together) was ballroom dancing! There was a cute parrot show on, that played a couple of modern songs whilst they went around taking pictures of people with the birds, but, still the old dears managed to line dance to Rihanna's disturbia!
I guess the time of year we traveled was not really season, hence the amount of elderly people there. And Benidorm is almost notoriously known for in the winter months many people flocking there. But there was no need for so many people to be rude towards us, especially staff. We were on holiday just like the rest of the guests, despite our age, we should all of been treated equally. Also there was a lot of locals, they too seemed very rude towards us, but the seemed rude towards anyone who wasn't spanish, I am fluent in the language, and heard a few very rude insults they would make in the restaurant, when someone would walk in front of them, took to long etc etc. We would not return to this hotel again, but it didn't put us off Benidorm. We would return in the future with our twin sons, but we would do a lot more research into what orientation the hotel is, as it would be more family based the next time.
Happy holidays nonetheless :)

Room Tip: High floors ensure for a great view. Apparently you are not allowed lilos in the pool, so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Typical average Spanish Hotel, main advantage is location, handy for beach and old town,Food was very ordinary , except for New Years eve, but then we paid a lot more for that one meal,Friendly staff, good service, Cold draughty bar/lounge area, no Tv, Basic music/duo for dancing otherwise no entertainment.Snoring all night in next room was not good.We would not re book this hotel...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank applefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Average hotel in good location. Service was adequate though hardly friendly. Staff polite but not willing go a step further than their assigned duties. Food was ample but quality average. As good as Spanish cuisine tends to be here it is uninspired and bland. If you are on half board plan don't expect to be given plain water unless you pay for it. Good housekeeping, clean rooms and public areas. Even in public areas WIFI is not free and cost is pricey if contracted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestl985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Director General at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Netolin 7,

I apologize if you think staff could have been friendlier, but also let me say it is very unusual as they do their best to please all customers.

We thank you for your comments but, regarding the food, I think "unispired and bland" its not what our guests think of our food as we get 87 out 100% on meals satisfaction questionaires.

As in nearly all hotels in our area, drinks are not included when purchasing half/full board, they are only included when booking All Inclusive.

Wifi prices are also within the price range in the area.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Hotel Poseidon Playa
#57 of 192 in Benidorm
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Diplomatic
Servigroup Diplomatic
#60 of 192 in Benidorm
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#63 of 192 in Benidorm
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Resort

Address: Calle del Esperanto 9, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $61 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 350 metres from Levante Beach in Benidorm and 300 metres from Benidorm commercial area. The Poseidon Complex*** comprises 2 neighbouring hotels, the Poseidon and Poseidon Palace united by an extensive garden and pools area. Modern, wel-equipped and tastefully decorated throughout, guests will dine in the restaurant of their particular building but otherwise are free to use all the facilities of both hotels.The Poseidon Complex*** has the following services:4 lifts in P.Palace - 14 floors, 3 lifts in Poseidon - 6 floors.2 Reception halls.24Hr. Receptions.WI-FI connection in public rooms and bedrooms for hire.Internet access for hire.Sun teraces.Sunloungers & parasols.2 Bars. 2 Lounges.Conference rooms.Summer only: Entertainment and dancing outside at the open-air stage.Winter only: Heated indoor pool (incl. Hydraulic seat for discaps) whirlpool and gym open 01.10 / 31.05 Each year.Activities:Table tennis.Pool table.Short mat bowls.Card.Playing facilities in lounge areas.Daily sports activities & evening entertainment programme.2 Freshwater swimming pools.The heated indoor pool is now equipped with 2 water jets also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poseidon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Complex Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing