We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poseidon Resort
Ranked #77 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Average hotel in good location. Service was adequate though hardly friendly. Staff polite but not willing go a step further than their assigned duties. Food was ample but quality average. As good as Spanish cuisine tends to be here it is uninspired and bland. If you are on half board plan don't expect to be given plain water unless you pay for it. Good housekeeping, clean rooms and public areas. Even in public areas WIFI is not free and cost is pricey if contracted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernestl985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Director General at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Netolin 7,

I apologize if you think staff could have been friendlier, but also let me say it is very unusual as they do their best to please all customers.

We thank you for your comments but, regarding the food, I think "unispired and bland" its not what our guests think of our food as we get 87 out 100% on meals satisfaction questionaires.

As in nearly all hotels in our area, drinks are not included when purchasing half/full board, they are only included when booking All Inclusive.

Wifi prices are also within the price range in the area.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

just got back from a christmas and new year trip away to this hotel. The hotel itself is a true 3 star very spanish i found, but for what we paid for the time of year i thought it was a real bargain, We found the food a little cold at times and the beds where very hard but appart from that a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoddy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Director General at Poseidon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear stoddy1972,

Thank you for your comments.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at Poseidon last January.. Hace stayed at Poseidon Playa before too.
I have no complaints about staff, service or facilities.
Food always excellent and staff friendly, but there again, I'm always polite to the staff. So maybe you get what you give.
Am booked in for a few days this December and expect to thoroughly enjoy my stay, Spanish pensioners do not bother me..
I will log a fresh review when I return home...
M

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank levenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Me and the wife arrived tue's 13th nov, midday for 7 day's.
Found our room was lower level and asked for an upper. No problem was the reply,but might have to wait 1 hr, Was invited to put the case's in the luggage room and use the facilitie's.
Proceeded to the bar area (hic).1 beer and bacadi coke was about £7 (we were halfe board)
Went to reception to ask how much to upgraid to all abusive. It cost approx £102 for both of us
Not rocket science so we took it, didn't look back, this included wine with dinner ,cava with b/fast,Ended up on 14th floor,great veiw's, good lift's,quiet,This hotel was an eye opener it was mainly spanish people and the food was great,daily entertainment,archery, pistol and rifle shooting, very safe and freindly staff. the overal staff could'nt be nicer very helpfull .
It took about 5 min's walk to the old town ten min's walk to the new town.(go thru the sister hotel across the pool it's quicker.
We went to benidorm for the fiesta and fancy dress (see u tube)
It was a fantastic time it rained the day we arrived but dried up and warmed up after.
Good transfer's about 45 min's from airport.
This is a 3*** hotel but because of the service, indoor heated pool and gyme,It should be a 4****

Room Tip: top floor ish give's you great veiw's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crazygolfer142312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

i returned from this hotel at the end of september, a previous review has stated that i hated this hotel (the hotel is quite small and i was the only solo geordie traveler at that time) i prefer to write my own reviews not have someone who does not have as high standards as me to write them for me

the good ponts about this hotel for me was the location, i was in the middle of benidorm but located nearer he old part of town which was perfect for me, it was a short walk to the beach (about 5 minutes)

the hotel itself was spotless from the lobby to the bedrooms, the pool area was washed every day, there was never a spot of dirt anywhere

the staff at the hotel were fab, they would do anything to try and help you and were always very polite and friendly

this is where my standards change from the previous review, then you book an all inclusive holiday you should be treated the same as other hotel guests, at this hotel you were not allowed to have table service, his was reserved for customers that were paying for their drinks (i had paid for my drinks before the holiday being all inclusive) all inclusive guests had to go inside the hotel to get a drink even during the day when they had been in the pool and they were wet, so they were geting water on the marble floor making it very slippy.

the food was different, i cant comment on breakfast as i am not a breakfast person, the Thompson rep told me that it was catering for the spanish guests as September was the month that they all went on holiday, there was always something for me to eat as i like most things, the food was never hot enough for me but i have the same problem everywhere that i go, so i know that it is me eating my food too hot and not the hotel. All inclusive hotels are supposed to have snacks during the day so that if you dont want to go into the restaurant you dont have to, at this hotel they put ham sandwiches out on the bar at 10 oclock in the morning and they are there until 12 oclock in the evening, no one gets food poisoning as no one will eat them.

now i will get to the 1 thing that i did hate about the hotel, the organ music every night, at 9 every night hundreds of spanish pensioners arrive at the hotel, you cant go to the bathroom as they will take your seat (no mater what you have left on the table to show that someone is sitting there) and the organist will play the same music every night, he even plays it in the same order, at the end of 2 weeks the music drives you mad

All in all i had a great holiday, it was my 3rd all inclusive holiday this year so i do know what i am talking about, i just goes to show that some people have higher standards than others

so this is MY review that i have wrote myself, i always write my own reviews i dont need anyone to write my views for me xxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sharonlovesdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

MISS SOLD THIS PLACE - Ideally you need to be in yuor very later years and feel it .. oh and NOT english
Its not the a seasonal thing its all the time , look at other reviews and see the management even reply to some about the nationalities that stay

Where should I start !
SERVICE :- On the whole the service was polite however if your "All inclusive" your not prioritised and feel second class, If your "Full board" dont even expect a glass of water with a meal - I complained as I expected "Full board" to allow at least water with -a meal. The manager conceeded and allowed me to have un-chilled tap water. (Hmmm Are we told to not drink that ?) , I asked the staff would they drink it NO they replied. - By sticking to the letter of the restaurants demands (no drinks to be brought in) I squeezed loads of Oranges in a glass and a few days later I was granted a Jug of Chilled water at meal times - (Yeah i'm stubborn but then again im the Guest)
VALUE : - Maybe if we and the other english guests I spoke to were not made to feel second class things would have been acceptable but really there was nothing special about this place.
SLEEP QUALITY :- If you fought your corner enough and were one of the lucky few (despite being sold a DOUBLE and NOT a twin with double requested) you might end up with a Double , we got the disabled room and felt like we were sleeping on the floor. Some rooms had TWO doubles where only one was needed - Perhaps a little bed moving should be thought out by the mngagement. A night consists of either being woken by stiletos from the rooms above or by the early morning cleaning of starways ect. We could also hear sounds through the ventilation system coming from the bar area.
CLEANLINESS :- In general credit where credit is due . The domestic staff keep the place to a fairly good standard (at least below eye level- Check the top of the wall light for example).
The restaurant has a Hygeine certificate of 5 (out of 5) and even encourages hand gel upon entry. We were more than content to accept this until one morning the beans had an human hair in it / From then onward we seemed unwanting of the hotels breakfast but found plenty of alternatives in the new town.
LOCATION :- To be fair the location geographically was well placed to be within easy walking distance of the Beach, the old Town and the New Town (The latter being the night life). The let down as is probably a common problem with many benidorm hotels is the high rise buildings obscure a large amount of the sun from the poolside. (Look at the photos posted by others , rarely does it look sunny.)
ROOMS :- Refererred to above under "Sleep Quality"
FITNESS CENTRE :- LOL What a joke its got about two maybe three items and would fit in a bedroom.
ROOM SERVICE :- Other than housekeeping , nothing experienced nor commentable
ENTERTAINMENT ;- Z zzz zzzzz zzzzz Yawn

NOW THE WORST PART !!
The Thomsom Rep didnt care about anything anyone had to say to her and was a VERY poor representation of Thomson FORTUNATELY during our stay she was replaced by someone who at first impression seems maybe more human UNFORTUNATELY for others the old rep has moved to another complex - GOD HELP THOSE GUESTS

Room Tip: Make sure you have what you purchsed BEFORE you pay in full , especially with Thomson
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itzzzmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 29th sept - 9th oct. I found no problems with the hotel whatsoever.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, and whats more they remembered me so i felt i had an extra personal service by going to the designated all inc side of the bar and having my drink waiting before i even ordered it!
the food was ok, not fantastic just regular buffet style... do you people forget its only a 3 star complex so obviously you wont be served 5 star meals.
Yes there were mainly spanish guests, but your in spain for christ sakes! if you only want to holiday with brits stay in bloody england! also if you do your homework before booking you would find out about the spanish monopoly throughout sept! and benedorm has an english side it's called new town!
Yes there were only 6 channels on the t.v, i had the sense to retune and got 30 channels! but hey, who goes on holiday to watch telly!!!
admittedly the entertainment was mainly for the spanish, but again it had mostly spanish guests so in my view its understandable.
all in all i had a great stay so THANKYOU to all the poseidon palace team
Regards
Ian Fellows

Room Tip: ask when booking in for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ianfellows42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Hotel Poseidon Playa
#57 of 192 in Benidorm
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Diplomatic
Servigroup Diplomatic
#59 of 192 in Benidorm
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Resort

Address: Calle del Esperanto 9, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: $48 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 350 metres from Levante Beach in Benidorm and 300 metres from Benidorm commercial area. The Poseidon Complex*** comprises 2 neighbouring hotels, the Poseidon and Poseidon Palace united by an extensive garden and pools area. Modern, wel-equipped and tastefully decorated throughout, guests will dine in the restaurant of their particular building but otherwise are free to use all the facilities of both hotels.The Poseidon Complex*** has the following services:4 lifts in P.Palace - 14 floors, 3 lifts in Poseidon - 6 floors.2 Reception halls.24Hr. Receptions.WI-FI connection in public rooms and bedrooms for hire.Internet access for hire.Sun teraces.Sunloungers & parasols.2 Bars. 2 Lounges.Conference rooms.Summer only: Entertainment and dancing outside at the open-air stage.Winter only: Heated indoor pool (incl. Hydraulic seat for discaps) whirlpool and gym open 01.10 / 31.05 Each year.Activities:Table tennis.Pool table.Short mat bowls.Card.Playing facilities in lounge areas.Daily sports activities & evening entertainment programme.2 Freshwater swimming pools.The heated indoor pool is now equipped with 2 water jets also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Poseidon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Complex Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing