We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,352)
Filter reviews
1,352 results
Traveler rating
809
402
101
25
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
809
402
101
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews benidorm palace servigroup hotels slight incline small hotel show cooking pool view small fridge plenty of sunbeds english bacon white horse lovely hotel plenty of choice indoor market great week quiet area flat screen tv full board basis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,352 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here half board for 11 nights fortunately ‘apres la deluge’. We have had a great time in Benidorm and this hotel made the holiday. Checked it out on Trip Advisor then I emailed ahead and asked for a top floor room and that is exactly what we got. Small but clean and adequate for our needs. Comfortable Twin beds. Telephone TV with English channels balcony hairdryer free safe and either heating or air con depending on season. Immaculate dining room. Show cooking with at least 2 choices every night plus the usual buffet. No matter what time we arrived we always got a table and friendly staff were on hand for drinks order. Breakfast is excellent with choice of griddled, poached or scrambled eggs. Back bacon cooked as you like it on request. Even black pudding!! Hotel itself is quiet and although a few crazies nearby we always got a good nights sleep. No hen or stag allowed and very few children. Seems to be a hotel of choice for the Spanish but we felt completely at home here. Rooms cleaned every day. The hotel is right at the Levante end of the resort but only minutes from the beach down a sloping ‘hill’. There is a swimming pool bar and lounge. Plenty of sun beds. All in all an excellent non rowdy hotel in Benidorm catering to more mature adults and not the crazies of which there are many in Benidorm. We regularly used the sun terrace of the Presidente Hotel from 4pm onwards for evening sun and very reasonably priced drinks and snacks. The one night it rained we stayed in at the bar again reasonably priced and good entertainment. Well done Rialto. You tick all our boxes. We will return.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank emeraldcassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

I have just come home from this Hotel and I hope to write an infromative review with a view to tell you everything about it.

THE ROOMS

We had a double/twin room, and being a married couple preferred a double bed, so we moved things about a bit, none of the staff complained in fact they made up the bed as a double (the secret is tiewraps lol). That said I am sure they would have swapped the rooms if we had asked..

The bathroom is lovely and has an easy access shower, none slip mat (which is brand new), we chose not to use it ourselves as we had brought extra towels. The hotel supply you with ample towels as well. There is a hairdryer too (added bonus).

The rooms themselves are light and airy and the beds very comfy, and ample pillows which we were very grateful for as my husband needs them following a historical back problem.

There is a TV, and I noticed on a previous review that some people said it does not work. It does however what we found was sometimes due to the thorough and exceptional cleaning of the staff, it can accidently get kncoked from the wall, and literally needs the aerial plugged in. TV had plently of channels but we were on holidays so did not watch very much TV.

There is a fridge which is very handy if you like to eat on balcony at lunchtimes indulging in a bit of cheese, bread and of course wine.

There is a safe and its FREE, I have travelled in many hotels and this was a lovely surprise. The rooms benefit air conditioning as well.

Nice balcony with a clothes horse/airer so you can dry towels and swimming gear.

It has a built in wardrobe with enough room on top for your cases, and plenty of space for clothes.

THE FOOD

We were half board. At breakfast go to the lovely chef first for freshy cooked bacon and eggs, poached or fried (but not dripping in oil as its on a griddle). You can also have freshly cooked omelettes with your favourite fillings and pancakes.

There are the usual beans, tomatoes, fried bread, scrambled eggs on hotplates nearby.

You can have rolls and toast as well if you wish (and yes my diet restarts today). There is also a continental breakfast with loads of pastries, cheases and meats too. And if you do not want any of that there is good old fashioned cereals and a selection of fruit too.

To drink you can have coffee, orange juice and others or even bucks fizz at every breakfast if you wish, after all you are on holidays.

Evening meal was always very varied, with always amazing home cooked soups. Again you can go to the lovely chefs and ask for meat or fish to be cooked fresh for you. However if you like meat cooked well done you need to ask the chef to make sure of this.

Desserts are way way too nice and small enough to have a varied dessert, and also there was always a hot option for example bread and butter pudding.

THE STAFF

I mostly interacted with the staff in the dining areas who were excellent, the most efficient of these had to be Celia, she is the ultimate professional, being friendly and she was always busy, but will always speak and smile no matter how busy.

The Chefs take pride in their skills and if they do not understand our various accents from UK Celia and others are there to help.

The cleaning staff are the unsung heroes in my opinion, they always clean the room spotlessly and will work around you for example if you want a lie in they will come back later and as long as your 'do not disturb' sign is on the room will be immaculate when you return.

Reception staff were always polite and ready to help. Always say hello when you return from a bar in the early hours.

Pool area is clean and well kept with plently of sunbeads and its a bit of a suntrap so make sure you have suncream. If you want to take a drink out to the sunbeds, obviously for safety reasons the bar will give you it in a plastic cup, for me this is common sense but the bar staff said sometimes people complain about this (I for one do not want glass in my foot).

I would say there are not a lot of facilities for children, but what hotel can have everything and walk down the hill and there is a family bar with family entertainment including musical chairs.

I cannot thank the staff enough and if I were to return to Benidorm, this would be a great choice of hotel, its apporximately 10-15 minute walk to the strip, which means on a night when you return exhausted from partying the night away, you get a quiet nights sleep.

This hotel does not allow mobility scooters in the hotel, however wheelchairs are allowed, as far as I know. It is on a slight hill so I would say if you struggle with mobility you need to take this into consideration.

Room tip: We were on the East side of the hotel which offered welcome shade in the afternoon.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank dfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

We visited this hotel on the 12th April and were completely appalled by the manner in which my elderly father was spoken to by the front desk member of staff Carlos. He was rude and disrespectful and it was so upsetting to see. My father is almost 80 and was quite rightly complaint about the size of his room as he was booked into this hotel for 3 weeks. Carlos refuses to engage in conversation saying it didn’t matter that he had visited this hotel revive a year for 15 years is he wanted a different room he would need to pay for it like the Spanish do. I have never witnessed such appalling behaviour and hope never to do so again. We will be putting a formal complaint in with Jet 2 on our return

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Starfish1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Starfish1975,

Firstly, we appreciate the time you took to share your comment on Trip Advisor.

Secondly, we are sincerely sorry that you felt that your father had not been treated correctly by a member of our staff. With regards to the room, we would like to inform you that you had booked a room for two people and you had noted several requests in your reservation. We did our best to provide you with most of your requests. However, regarding the room type request, we would like to clarify that you booked a room for two people and as our receptionist tried to explain, the room you had requested was for four people, is only assigned for families and has a different cost.

Unfortunately, due to the language barrier, our receptionist tried to explain this information the best he could. We apologize if this caused some time of misinterpretations.

We hope that despite this incident your father enjoyed his stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Customer Service Department.
Hotel Servigroup Rialto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

After leaving home at 4.am, we arrived at reception around 2 in the afternoon to be told that our room was not ready and to go back in 1 hour. Not the best start. Good points were 1. English bacon and eggs available for breakfast. 2. Lovely pool and pool area (sunbeds always available) 3. Free safe in room. 4 Free fridge in room. 5. Good shower. 6. Very good cleaners. Not so good points 1. Location, we were told that Rialto was up a slight incline, hmmm, It's up a HILL!!! (not for anybody with mobility issues as scooters are STRICTLY PROHIBITED!!! 2. Rooms were dated with plaster coming off the window and door surrounds (refurb was due after we left). 3. Worst beds I have ever slept in, far too hot and I'm pretty sure that most of my bites came from there. 4. Evening meals had limited choice and were quite repetitive (ate out for at least half of the 14 day holiday). All in all The Rialto is not for us. Going back to our usual hotel next year. Good luck with the refurbishment and no hard feelings...

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DarloDaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Dear DarloDaveH,

Firstly, we really appreciate that you took the time and put your views on TripAdvisor. Besides, we are glad to know you did enjoy our breakfast, facilities, and cleaning.

We are sorry to hear that there were certain issues that stopped you from enjoying your stay completely. We would like to clarify that as stated in all brochures and in Spanish hotels, check-in can be up to 4 pm, as many guests leave the room at midday and, obviously, the house-keeping staff then try to get the rooms ready as soon as possible. As we have high standards, the rooms are cleaned thoroughly for our new arrivals.

Regarding the room, it is a shame you did not bring the plaster coming off the window to our attention, while you were still on holiday as we would have taken action straight away, as usual.On the other hand, we would like to mention that all of our mattresses are new. As for the bites, we have a strict quality control. Furthermore, they are checked with every sheet-changing, and thoroughly supervised after each departure. We are happy to announce that no case has been registered at all.

Regarding our meals, in the Summer months our menus are on a 7 day rotation, which means you do not have the same meal in a week. While on the Winter months, it is a 14 day rotation. We have many nationalities to cater for, and our buffet is fully varied, though we do understand that even trying our best every day, to please every taste is not an easy task. As we previously said, it is a shame these thing had not been mentioned to reception, as all of these issues (minus the outside road) could have been addressed.

Kind regards,
Customer Service Department.
Hotel Servigroup Rialto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

Just had Xmas and new year in the Rialto ,hotel spot on staff excellent Jakie and the girls at reception are a pleasure,food at Xmas and new year spot on except new year meal was not till 9,0clock which sooted the Spanish people but it was a bit late for us,we liked to go out all in all a good holiday second time we have been and would return.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews