We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great company = great night”
Review of British Larder Suffolk - CLOSED

British Larder Suffolk
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In a picturesque setting on a quiet rural lane, British Larder offers traditional British cuisine with a contemporary edge, and a passion for sourcing superb produce from the Suffolk region. There is outside seating for al fresco dining. Rustic yet modern, the cosy interior at The British Larder restaurant in Suffolk features exposed brickwork, an open fire, wooden beams and an impressive bar. The seasonal British Larder menu uses locally sourced produce wherever possible, and changes on a daily basis, making best use of the fine, fresh ingredients. Sample dishes include sea bass carpaccio with coriander, lime and fennel salad, Orford-Ness lobster and Loch Duart salmon macaroni or Riverside beef with Aspall Cyder roasted shallots, Yorkshire pudding and duck fat roasted potatoes. There is a good selection of wines by the glass and an indulgent dessert menu. Near Woodbridge, The British Larder Suffolk is a fine gastro pub, open 7 days a week.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great company = great night”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived after 20 minute walk from Melton Station. Warmly greeted by very accommodating and knowledgeable staff. Great menu with enough choice but not over done. Starter and dessert were out of this world, both included beautiful items i had not eaten before. Pea bavarois and dandelion and burdock jelly respectively. Coupled with an excellent main, the time flew by and we were only just on time for our return train. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PT1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    90
    47
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious locally-sourced food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to celebrate my Mum's 88th birthday and it was worth every penny. Crab salad with crab two ways and fresh young salad of broad beans, peas and pea shoots was followed by Gressingham duck or Sutton Hoo chicken - both very well-flavoured and accompanied by plenty of veg in season. Rhubarb Eton Mess was a new idea and very well-executed. An excellent wide-ranging wine list offers plenty of choice of glass sizes, carafes or bottles. Could not fault it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandonneurLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked here for Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday. There were four of us plus a baby in her carry seat. I had telephoned ahead to make sure babies were welcome & had been reassured that was fine. We had made a late booking at 2.15 & was a little worried that we would be rushed as last orders for lunch as I was told were 2.30. I need not have worried it was all very relaxed & the service from start to finish was second to none.

Reading the menu we were spoilt for choice & I could honestly have eaten any dish. I had a delicious crab starter served with wasabi & a pea shoot & avocado salad - delicious. The beetroot soup served with a horseradish cream was also yummy. Two of us had roast beef which was served with the usual accompliments but stood way above the usual Sunday roast served in a pub restaurant. Home cooked goose fat roasted potatoes & a huge yorkshire pudding with delicious gravy served on the side. My husband had lamb, two ways, cutlets & slow cooked shoulder which was also delicious, the duck that my daughter in law was served was obviously just as delicious and there were clean plates all round.

Desert was equally delicious with plenty of choice between hot & cold, sticky & sweet & a cheese plate to be proud of.

The menu here is very definitely contemporary British cuisine, very fresh local produce lovingly prepared to display a taste of Suffolk on a plate which is their ethos.

It is a shame we can't keep this place a secret as I can imagine when it is more widely known booking a table may well be difficult.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
2 reviews
“Outstanding lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently had lunch here and both agreed that it was one of the best meals we had eaten in many years. The food was absolutely delicious, and beautifully presented. The service by the pleasant and efficient staff was exemplary. What an wonderful find. By chance, we met the two chefs on our way out and the reason for the excellent food was clear. They are both passionate about what they do. Go there, you won't regret it. Joy and Pete.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Cramped and uncomfortable”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited for my birthday. The food was good but very pricey considering we had to share the restaurant with a very loud hen party. We were sitting very close to other tables they seen to have packed out the seating area with as many tables as they could which I found uncomfortable as you had no privacy in your conversation. The chairs are so uncomfortable that by the end of the evening I had chronic back ache. I will not be back very disappointed considering the hype around this restaurant. To sum up good food uncomfortable and cramped surroundings not worth the money

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Larder Suffolk also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing